Does the Thief rogue’s Use Magic Device feature let them ignore class, race, and level requirements on attuning to magic items?


The Artificer’s Magic Item Savant feature states (E:RftLW p. 58, WGtE p. 180; emphasis mine):

[…] You ignore all class, race, spell, and level requirements on attuning to or using magic items.

In contrast, the Thief rogue’s Use Magic Device feature merely states:

[…] You ignore all class, race, and level requirements on the use of magic items.

The Use Magic Device feature doesn’t mention ignoring requirements on attuning to magic items, only on using them. It seems like that would mean a Thief rogue can not attune to a magic item if it has a specific requirement on who can attune to it (e.g. the holy avenger).

Does the Use Magic Device feature let a Thief rogue ignore class, race, and level requirements on attuning to magic items?