Does the “use magic device” feature of the thief subclass allow you to attune to items requiring you to be a spellcaster?


Use Magic Device

By 13th level, you have learned enough about the workings of magic that you can improvise the use of items even when they are not intended for you. You ignore all class, race and level requirements on the use of magic items.

This allows the rogue to attune to “sorcerer/wizard/warlock only” items. But is the restriction “requires attunement by a spellcaster” also covered by the trait?

The official “spellcaster restriction” is explained as follows:

If the prerequisite is to be a spellcaster, a creature qualifies if fit can cast at least one spell using its traits or features, not using magic items or the like.

The problem I have with that is, that I think RAW use magic device does not let you use an item restricted to “spellcasters”, but generally those items are supposed to be less restricted than other items which might be class exclusive. Did I overlook something?