Hand crossbows, shortswords, and artificers


Ok, so here is my question. Let’s say you have an artificer that is a battle smith, so he has the extra attack ability. Now let’s say he has a shortsword in one hand, and a hand crossbow which is given the repeating shot infusion; Which specifically ignores the reloading property, and causes it to magically generate ammo to fire. Now, let’s say the artificer takes the attack action, would the artificer be allowed to swing with the shortsword with the first attack, and fire the hand crossbow with the second attack against another enemy? Or must both attacks granted from Extra Attack be made with the same weapon?