help with readied action

we play on fantasy grounds and each round we roll a new initiative each turn to make it more random. my question is the fighter readys to attack the creature when it moves into his range. the creature moves but doesnt reach the fighter. next turn we roll initiative and the creature goes first. he moves into range and the fighter uses his action from the last round for his readied action, which is a reaction, now the creature goes and attacks the fighter. now its the fighter turn to go again? since the first attack was a reaction from the previous round. Does the fight go as normal and attack twice in the round and get his reaction back since he now had his turn?