How do I disable the add friend button for mutual friends on Facebook?

I have seen on Facebook that it is explicitly possible for a user who shares mutual friends with another user to somehow disable the ability to become added as a friend. This is regardless of recent blocking or unblockings, or even recent friend requests. and a clearly visible group of mutual friends on their profile. I would like to know how to apply this privacy setting on my Facebook page, so that certain users who I share friends with cannot send me requests.

In Facebook’s privacy settings, it seems that I can either set my “Add Friend” possibilities to “Everyone” or “Friends of Friends”. How do I make it so some mutual friends cannot add me?

To be clear I do not want to block these people.