How does an NPC standing in the line of sight affect the attackability of a target by a ranged single-target attack?

Assuming in a battle in Savage Worlds (Adventure Edition) there are three Characters A, B, C standing in line: A — B — C

Can A hit C with a ranged single-target attack? (E.g. Bolt, Bow, Pistol)

If yes, does it also depend on whether B is moving or standing still?

If that’s also a yes, does only a motionless B provide cover?

I always assumed A cannot hit C, but recently read up on the Innocent Bystander rule, which states “hits a random victim […] directly in the line of fire to the original target”. If the answer is really “no”, how can there be a victim in the line of fire?