How does “Sympathetic Magic” mecurial work with area of affect spells

I have a wizard who rolled 22 "Sympathetic Magic" on the Mecurial Magic table for an area of affect spell. Is there any ruling documented how that works?

For those without the book:

22 Sympathetic Magic. The Spell requires that the caster have a personal belonging or a physical piece of its target in order to function normally. The spell can be cast without this sympathetic connection, but the wizard suffers a -4 penalty to his spell check.

I envision it’s:

  1. You need a piece of 1 person in the area or you’re at -4, rest are just affected.
  2. You need a piece of all people in the area or you’re at -4.
  3. You need a piece of 1 person in the area or you’re at -4 x affected targets (e.g. if 3 in the aoe it’s -12).
  4. You need a piece of all people in the area or you’re at -4 x affected targets (e.g. if 3 in the aoe it’s -12).

1 seems too gentle to me, 4 too severe. My guess is 2 but I’d appreciate if anyone has citations, quotes or things maybe I haven’t thought of (related affects, spells with better definition, etc). I can ask my judge (and will) so that as an answer isn’t helpful to me 🙂