iCloud deletion

If I delete photos which are stored in iCloud from my phone. (Which is also linked to my iPad)

I know the data is then made ‘free space’ but is still on the phone In some format.

If I delete it from my phone, it’ll also delete from my iPad, but will it stay in my iPad as ‘free space’ even though it was originally deleted from my iPhone?

Also, if I did a backup on my iphone after deleting files, would the backup recognise those deleted files as free space and include them in a restore on a new phone? (Hopefully that makes sense)