If I’m blinded, can I cast a spell that doesn’t require that the target be “a creature you can see”?

I’m playing a Wild Magic Sorcerer who obtained a Wand of Wonders — randomness ftw! Anyway, I accidentally blinded myself by using the wand.

On my next turn, still being blind, I want to cast Acid Splash on a target — can I do this?

I attacked the target before, and they haven’t moved, I chose Acid Splash because the spell doesn’t need “a target you can see” (unlike Hold Person, for instance). I did have line of effect, not line of sight, but I don’t think I need it for this spell.

The DM wouldn’t let me cast it unless I rolled to see if I targeted the enemy or an ally standing next to it.

We couldn’t really find an answer to this, so I switched to Ray of Frost and rolled with disadvantage, as that is all Blindness does to your attacks.

Can someone point me to the right page in the PHB, or just tell me who is right? (I know the DM can always make his own rulings.)