If the initial target of the Hex spell is reduced to 0 HP, can the curse be moved to an unseen target or one out of range?


To originally cast the spell hex, you must target “a creature you can see within range”. The spell says that if the target drops to 0 hit points before the spell ends, the caster can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn to move the curse to a new creature. However, it does not say that the new creature being cursed has to be seen or within range.

If the initial target of hex is reduced to 0 HP, can the curse be moved to an unseen target or one out of range?

Rules as Written, it seems possible to do so, but that seems a bit overpowered.