In AL, due to PHB+1, can a player be barred from XGtE spells? [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • Do I have to count a book as my single DDAL-legal additional source to use a spell from it? 1 answer

In AL, if I understand correctly, you can only build your character with 2 books, a PHB and another. If you picked VGM to choose, say, a Firbolg race, then you can’t take subclasses from XGtE.

Does that mean that you also can’t take spells from that book? You’d only have access to PHB spells?