Leomund’s Tiny Hut and Conjuration


(Leomund’s) Tiny Hut says

The spell ends if you leave its area…The spell fails if its area includes a larger [then Medium] creature or more than nine creatures. Creatures and objects within the dome when you cast this spell can move through it freely. All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it. Spells and other magical effects can’t extend through the dome or be cast through it.

Interactions between the Hut, a caster capable of conjuration (eg, Summon Monster, Find Steed, Find Familiar), and a creature conjured after the creation of the hut include:

The same person casts the hut as conjures the creature:

The caster has to remain inside the hut (or else the hut is dispelled).

Creatures may not be conjured outside the hut (since the ranged casting would count as casting "though" the hut).

Creatures may be conjured inside the hut (since reaching out to the plane from which they are summoned does not count as casting through the hut?)

Creatures may be conjured inside the hut (but will dispel the hut upon arrival if they are larger than Medium or bring the total of creatures inside to more than nine)

Creatures successfully conjured inside the hut cannot leave (since they were not present at the time of casting)

A different person casts the hut as conjures the creature:

The hut-caster has to remain inside the hut (or else the hut is dispelled), but the creature-summoner (present at the time the hut was cast) can come and go.

Creatures may be summoned to the same "side" of the hut (inside or out) as the summoner, but not the other side (if summoned inside, they could dispel the hut as above). Once summoned, creatures cannot move to the other side of the hut, even if their summoner does so.

Questions

  1. Is my understanding of all this correct?
  2. What support exists for my assumption that summoning creatures to the inside of the hut while you are inside it does not count as casting through the hut? I have looked for this but not found any explicitly. I have found a lot about the Ethereal Plane mapping to locations on the Prime, but I don’t think most things are conjured from the Ether. I have seen the distinction between spells like Dimension Door not allowing travel through the hut (because of its range) while Misty Step and Teleport do. But I haven’t found any explicit support saying that drawing a creature from another plane does not count as casting through the hut.

Related: Can Dimension Door be cast into Leomund's Tiny Hut?

Leomund's Tiny Hut and familiars