So the question is as follows:
Can a Cavalier declare a Ride-by attack and then use their mount to overrun the target (thus continuing the movement through the enemies square)?
- Is it enough for the Cavalier to have the Ride-by Attack? Would the mount need Charge Through?
- Who makes the overrun attempt (check)? The Cavalier (with his own stats), or the mount?
- What happens if the overrun attempt fails? Does movement end in front of the target, and does the target get an AoO since Ride-by failed?
Ride-by Attack states:
When you are mounted and use the charge action, you may move and attack as if with a standard charge and then move again (continuing the straight line of the charge). Your total movement for the round can’t exceed double your mounted speed. You and your mount do not provoke an attack of opportunity from the opponent that you attack.
As a standard action, taken during your move or as part of a charge, you can attempt to overrun your target, moving through its square. You can only overrun an opponent who is no more than one size category larger than you. If you do not have the Improved Overrun feat, or a similar ability, initiating an overrun provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver. If your overrun attempt fails, you stop in the space directly in front of the opponent, or the nearest open space in front of the creature if there are other creatures occupying that space.
Charge Through states:
When making a charge, you can attempt to overrun one creature in the path of the charge as a free action. If you successfully overrun that creature, you can complete the charge. If the overrun is unsuccessful, the charge ends in the space directly in front of that creature.
My interpretation so far was:
- Declare Ride-by attack
- Attack when in range (10 feet with lance)
- Continue movement (Ride-by Attack)
- Attempt overrun as part of mount’s charge action (or free with Charge Through)
So as follows (C = Cavalier, T = Target, x = empty square)
x x x x T x x x x x C x
x x x x T x x C x x x x
When overrun succeeds, continue moving through enemy square as per Ride-by attack (not taking any AoO). When overrun fails, stop movement in front of enemy, and take 1 AoO (as Ride-by failed) if AoO is applicable.
As Ride-by Attack is worded, nothing stops the Cavalier from doing a Charge, attacking with a lance (reach), and then using the Ride-by Attack to continue the movement for 1 more square (thus being adjacent to the enemy). The mount is then in melee range and should be able to make an overrun attempt and thus continuing the movement through the enemy square, if successful?
Am I missing some ruling, FAQ or errata here?
Am I correct in my understanding that, with Ride-by Attack, I can:
Charge -> Attack with Lance -> Move 1 more square -> Have mount make 1 attack?