Moved files from shared folder and they disappeared

I just suffered a catastrophic data loss and I’m hoping that someone here knows how to recover lost Google docs.

I have two Google accounts: one personal, one for work. I created several files for a work-related report on my personal account, then shared the folder with my work account. Using my work account, I then moved the files to a parent directory. I received a pop-up that said that this might “cause some users to lose access.” I naively clicked OK.

The result seems to be that the files no longer exist on either account.

Ctrl + Z yields a “Nothing to Undo” message.

I realize now what I should have done, but I really need to recover these files. Can anyone here help?