Must a monk’s Flurry of Blows attacks occur after the initial (and extra) attack from the Attack action?


Looking at the wording of Flurry of Blows, I may be overthinking it, but the description of the feature (PHB, p. 78) says:

Immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action.

Does this imply that a 5th-level (or higher) monk must finish the Attack action (initial attack + extra attack) and only afterward can optionally use the Flurry of Blows bonus action immediately?

Or does “take” mean that a monk must start/commit to doing an Attack action, and before finishing the Attack action (or even make any attack rolls), they can initiate Flurry of Blows to make two more unarmed strikes? Can the Flurry of Blows attacks be before (or be interspersed in any order with) the two attacks from the Attack action?

Somewhat relevant is Mike Mearls’ October 2014 tweet that movement can occur in-between/during Flurry of Blows attacks.


My thought is to gain the benefits of the Open Hand monk’s knockdown ability tied to Flurry of Blows, and benefit from the prone status on the two attacks from the Attack action.

Example:

  1. First Flurry of Blows attack; target fails Dex save and is knocked prone
  2. First attack from the Attack action – target dies
  3. Move to new target and use second Flurry of Blows attack; target fails Dex save and becomes prone
  4. Second attack from the Attack action

(Alternatively using the Flurry benefits to remove reactions, etc.)