Pact of the Chain, Sprite Familiar. What does it mean that a “saving throw result is 5 or lower”?

I’ve been looking into the warlocks Pact of the Chain, which states that your allowed to pick from the normal familiars as well as a select few Warlock-Only familiars, including the Sprite.

When you cast the spell, you can choose one of the normal forms for your familiar or one of the following special forms: imp, pseudodragon, quasit, or sprite.

Then invocation Investment of the Chain Master states that:

If the familiar forces a creature to make a saving throw, it uses your spell save DC.

And the Sprite has a Shortbow attack that forces a creature to make a saving throw:

Shortbow. Ranged Weapon Attack: +6 to hit, range 40/160 ft., one target. Hit: 1 piercing damage, and the target must succeed on a DC 10 Constitution saving throw or become poisoned for 1 minute. If its saving throw result is 5 or lower, the poisoned target falls unconscious for the same duration, or until it takes damage or another creature takes an action to shake it awake.

From what I gather that means that the initial save for the poison should use the players save DC? So for a lvl 7 character with 20 charisma, that would be a save of 16?

Spell save DC = 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Spellcasting modifier

However the second part of the Shortbow attack states that:

If its saving throw result is 5 or lower, the poisoned target falls unconscious for the same duration

What does "saving throw result is 5 or lower" mean? Would that be the rolled number for the save + the save modifier?

saving throw result = save dice roll + save score modifier

Or would it be the resulting rest from removing the spell save DC from the rolled total?

saving throw result = Spell save DC – (save dice roll + save score modifier)

I haven’t seen the phrase "saving throw result" referring to a number before, usually it just refers to "did the creature roll over or under the spell save DC? Yes or No."