Peace Cleric’s Emboldening Bond: can the 1d4 be rolled more than once per turn, if it’s only used once?

The Peace Cleric’s Emboldening Bond feature can temporary bond creatures together. The effect is as follow

While any bonded creature is within 30 feet of another, the creature can roll a d4 and add the number rolled to an attack roll, an ability check, or a saving throw it makes. Each creature can add the d4 no more than once per turn.

The text specifies that the 1d4 can be added once per turn.

However, can it be rolled more than once?

For example, suppose I have extra attack, miss, and roll 1 on the 1d4. Could I choose not to add the result of the 1d4 for the first attack, and instead roll it again and add it to the second attack?