Reincarnation effects on feats and ability scores



How does reincarnation affect feats and ability score increases?

I’m running a campaign with a group of fairly high (16th-18th) level characters and the only "bring back the dead" option they currently have (or are likely to have for a while) is Reincarnate.

The Reincarnate Spell states:

The magic fashions a new body for the creature to inhabit, which likely causes the creature’s race to change. The DM rolls a d100 and consults the following table to determine what form the creature takes when restored to life, or the DM chooses a form .

The reincarnated creature recalls its former life and experiences. It retains the capabilities it had in its original form (emphasis mine), except it exchanges its original race for the new one and changes its Racial Traits accordingly.

More than one player has used the various feats they’ve gained to either max out an ability score and/or they’ve taken some racial feats.

So what then happens to the racial feats if the character comes back as a race that doesn’t have them?

Additionally, a new (better) racial bonus to an ability stat could conceivably make an ability score over 20, unless I mandate the starting score is lowered so the final result isn’t greater than 20.

(And yes, I could also Deus-Ex this by having them come back as the same race, but I honestly think the random race-change would make for good storytelling and make the effect of being reincarnated more profound )

As the DM, I’d just be tempted to simplify everything and let the player re-spec their feats, along with their ability scores, but is there an official ruling on this?