Role added by plugin remains even after deactivating plugins

I deactivated a theme and its plugins which adds a lot of roles, but the roles are still there. I then deactivated all plugins and changed the theme to the 2021 wordpress theme. The roles still won’t go. I am aware that there are some plugins that can help you restore the default roles or even directly edit them. My questions is, isn’t it a design flaw that you can’t completely wipe out what a plugin does by deactivating them?