Steel Wind Strike, do you have to end your action casting the spell within 5ft of an enemy?

Steel Wind Strike says:

You can then teleport to an unoccupied space you can see within 5 ft of one of the targets you hit or missed.

The way I read this follows as such. Emphasis on can, therefore suggestion versus a requirement. However I know the intent of the spell is to be essentially teleporting after every strike.

The intent was derived from a tweet from Jeremy Crawford, which may change my interpretation to RAW vs RAI.

Please let me know how I can determine in the future the emphasis for cases such as with a citation from a book if possible.