3rd-level homebrew wizard spell

I am creating a new arcane tradition for the wizard in dnd 5e. This arcane tradition is focused on spells that summons Hands, like Mage Hand and Bigby’s Hand. Since there are not many "hand" spells, I am designing new ones.

This is a 3rd level spell that I designed.

Cloud of Mage Hands

3rd-level abjuration


  • Casting Time: 1 action
  • Range: 60 feet (30-foot radius)
  • Components: V, S
  • Duration: 1 minute

Choose a nonhostile creature that you can see within range. A cloud of mage hands appears around the target. The hands try to block attacks aimed at your allies. Each non-hostile creature in a range of 30 feet from your target (target included) gains +2 AC for the duration of the spell.

At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 4th level or higher, the radius of the cloud increases by 10 feet for each slot level above 3rd.


I would like to know if the level of the spell is correct. I took as a comparison the spell Haste, which also gives +2 AC and a lot of other bonuses. Compared to Haste, this spell does not require concentration and follows the target giving protection to more allies. However, this effect is also similar to aura spells of the paladin, which require concentration. I would like for this spell to be without concentration since most of the other spells I am designing require it. I could, for example, reduce the area of the spell, lowering the bonus to +1 AC or making it level 4th. What are your suggestions?

Does a 3rd-level Wolf Totem barbarian get advantage against enemies when an ally is within 5 feet of the enemy?

The Path of the Totem Warrior barbarian’s 3rd-level Wolf Totem Spirit feature (PHB, p. 50) says:

While you’re raging, your friends have advantage on melee attack rolls against any creature within 5 feet of you that is hostile to you.

Does this benefit apply to the Barbarian as well, if an ally is within 5 feet of an enemy?

What happens if a wizard reaches level 20 but has no 3rd-level spells that they can use with the Signature Spells feature?

At level 20, a wizard gains the Signature Spells feature. This allows them to choose two 3rd-level spells, and from then on they always have those spells prepared and can cast them once each without using a spell slot between rests.

What happens though, if a wizard reaches level 20 and does not have two 3rd-level spells in their spellbook for some reason? Is the ability suspended until they scribe two such spells in their spellbook?