Does Enhance Ability spell help with saving throws?

Background: I was hoping to use Enhance Ability and its Bear’s Endurance option to speed up our travelling a bit. But now I am not sure if it will work, hence this question.

Enhance Ability – Bear’s Endurance lasts for 1 hour with concentration, and gives advantage on constitution checks (also 2d6 temp HP, but that’s not relevant here). It does not specify "ability check", just "check".

Things like forced march, spell concentration and holding your breath actually call for constitution saving throws (see this related queston).

Does Enhance Ability help with saving throws?

In other words, is Bear’s Endurance useful for the above, or does it only help with constitution ability checks (of which there are precious few, it’s almost always a saving throw)?

If a creature dies when under the effect of a polymorph ability, does it ever revert to its true form?

Say a creature has polymorphed itself. For instance, a dandasuka using its Change Shape ability. If it dies, will it naturally revert to its true form? If so, when? I don’t see any info about this in the Polymorph trait’s rules.

If there aren’t any cut-and-dry rules about this, does any official literature suggest one way or another?

What exactly constitutes “using” an ability for an attack?

I was having trouble finding a clarification on what exactly an ability needs to apply to to be "used" in an attack. Just for example, would a magic longsword that lets you add your wisdom modifier to your attack and damage on top of your strength mod "use" both wisdom and strength? Or what if the bonus is to only one of attack or damage but not both, is that still "using" the ability for that attack? The ranger’s Foe Slayer feature might be an example of the latter case, I think.

When The Undead warlock (UA) uses their Spirit Projection ability, do their spirit and body share a single pool of hitpoints?

The Undead warlock patron can be found here at DnDBeyond or here direct from Wizards of the Coast.

The subclass is freely available playtest content, so I will reproduce the feature here:

Spirit Projection

14th-level Undead feature

Your body is now simply a vessel for your spirit. As an action, you can project your spirit from your body. The body you leave behind is unconscious and in a state of suspended animation.

Your spirit can remain outside your body for up to 1 hour or until your concentration is broken (as if concentrating on a spell). When your projection ends, your spirit returns to your body or your body magically teleports to your spirit’s space (your choice).

While projecting your spirit, you gain the following benefits:

  • Your spirit and body gain resistance to bludgeoning, piercing, and slashing damage.
  • When you cast a spell of the conjuration or necromancy school, the spell doesn’t require verbal, somatic, or material components that lack a gold cost.
  • You have a flying speed equal to your walking speed and can hover. You can move through creatures and objects as if they were difficult terrain, but you take 1d10 force damage if you end your turn inside a creature or an object.
  • While you are using your Form of Dread, once during each of your turns when you deal necrotic damage to a creature, you regain hit points equal to half the amount of necrotic damage dealt.

Once you use this feature, you can’t do so again until you finish a long rest.

This class feature speaks of you and your body as though they are distinct entities in some sense. It seems clear that when the feature says "you" it is referring to "your spirit", and refers to your body as "your body" or "the body".

In this answer, Ben Barden briefly analyzes this feature and makes the assertion:

Nothing is said about funny things happening with HP, so presumably it’s all coming out of the same HP pool. Nothing is said about effects, so, by default, anything that hit either the person or the spirit would affect the whole. So… basically, they’re both a creature, but they’re both the same creature, who now happens to have two locations they can be targeted from.

I’d like to see a more detailed analysis of this feature so that we do not have to say "presumably" as Ben says in their analysis.

Do your spirit and your body share a single pool of hitpoints while using the Spirit Projection feature?

Could a Paladin use the Divine Smite ability on a disarm attack?

The Oath of Redemption Paladin that I DM for has asked me for clarification on disarming rules. I’ve decided to use the optional rules from page 271 of the DMG, which state:

Disarm
A creature can use a weapon attack to knock a weapon or another item from a target’s grasp. The attacker makes an attack roll contested by the target’s Athletics or Acrobatics check. If the attacker wins the contest the attack causes no damage or other ill effect, but the defender drops the item.

However, I am wondering if he would be able to activate his Divine Smite on that disarm.

Divine Smite
When you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack, you can expend one spell slot to deal radiant damage to the target, in addition to the weapon’s damage.

Technically the Paladin has hit the target with a melee weapon attack which leads me to want to rule yes. The disarm rules do state that the attack causes no damage or other ill effects, but the Divine Smite wouldn’t be strictly part of that attack. I feel like I am leaning towards allowing Divine Smite to work after a successful Disarm, but wanted to see if there is any precedent for something like this as I have found no specific rulings to this question anywhere.

Does the “Step of the Wind” ability allows you to take the extra jump without using Dash or Disengage Bonus Action

I was playing a game of 5e DnD the other day and got into a disagreement with the DM. I have a monk character that made a long jump off a wall using Step of the Wind. The plan was to do Flurry of Blows after landing, but the DM said that I couldn’t use Flurry of Blows because I had burned my Bonus Action on Step of the Wind. This is the ability:

Flurry of Blows: After you take the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action.

My DM said that I have to take a Bonus Action before getting the jump bonus. I believe that taking a Bonus Action is optional and you can get double-jump without using a Bonus Action. It does not explicitly say you have to take the bonus action like Flurry of Blows and Shadow Step do:

Shadow Step: When you are in dim light or darkness, as a bonus action you can teleport up to 60 feet to an unoccupied space you can see that is also in dim light or darkness. You then have advantage on the first melee attack you make before the end of the turn.

Flurry of Blows: After you take the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action.

You can see that Shadow Step says that "You then" (after teleporting), and Flurry of Blows says that "After you take the Attack action". If you go back to "Step of the Wind" you can see that it doesn’t say anything about after the Bonus Action you get the jump bonus.

I would like your response because we both think differently!

Curse of Strahd – Does NPC ability trump Inspiration rule?

In Curse of Strahd, the players can encounter an NPC with a special ability.

Is the NPC’s use of this ability supposed to be an example of "specific beats general", where their ability as written within the context of the module overrides the PHB limitation that

You either have inspiration or you don’t—you can’t stockpile multiple “inspirations” for later use.

or

are we to understand that the ability comes with the implied clause, "subject to the normal rules of Inspiration" or "as long as that character is not currently Inspired".

Related: How is this character useful as an ally in Curse of Strahd?

When do you use ability checks without a specific skill?

When, if ever, as a DM would you ask players to make an ability check without allowing them to apply a skill proficiency?

The Player’s Handbook (p. 174) says:

The DM calls for an ability check when a character or monster attempts an action (other than an attack) that has a chance of failure. When the outcome is uncertain, the dice determine the results. For every ability check, the DM decides which of the six abilities is relevant to the task at hand

and

Sometimes, the DM might ask for an ability check using a specific skill

The following section on using each ability lists other checks that aren’t named under specific skills. Are these tasks (e.g. Forcing open a stuck, locked, or barred door or breaking free of bonds) ineligible for gaining proficiency?

Can an Artificer’s eldritch cannon work with the use of the Rogue’s sneak attack ability?


Sneak Attack

Beginning at 1st level, you know how to strike subtly and exploit a foe’s distraction. Once per turn, you can deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with an attack if you have advantage on the attack roll. The attack must use a finesse or a ranged weapon.

You don’t need advantage on the attack roll if another enemy of the target is within 5 feet of it, that enemy isn’t incapacitated, and you don’t have disadvantage on the attack roll.

Eldritch Cannon

At 3rd level, you learn how to create a magical cannon. Using woodcarver’s tools or smith’s tools, you can take an action to magically create a Small or Tiny eldritch cannon in an unoccupied space on a horizontal surface within 5 feet of you. A Small eldritch cannon occupies its space, and a Tiny one can be held in one hand.

Once you create a cannon, you can’t do so again until you finish a long rest or until you expend a spell slot of 1st level or higher. You can have only one cannon at a time and can’t create one while your cannon is present.

The cannon is a magical object. Regardless of size, the cannon has an AC of 18 and a number of hit points equal to five times your artificer level. It is immune to poison damage, psychic damage, and all conditions. If it is forced to make an ability check or a saving throw, treat all its ability scores as 10 (+0). If the mending spell is cast on it, it regains 2d6 hit points. It disappears if it is reduced >to 0 hit points or after 1 hour. You can dismiss it early as an action.

Now, my question is, is an eldritch cannon counted as an enemy or not?

In Pathfinder 2e, are ability modifier benefits to things like HP and trained skills retroactive?

In Pathfinder 2e, a character’s Constitution bonus affects HP total. A character’s Intelligence bonus grants training in additional skills and languages.

Are these benefits retroactive?

Examples:

  • If a character’s Constitution modifier increases from +2 to +3 as the result of an ability boost, does HP increase by 1 per character level? So a level 5 character going from +2 to +3 Con mod would gain 5 hit points for the ability score increase?
  • If a character’s Intelligence modifier increases from +1 to +2 as the result of an ability boost, does that character gain another trained skill and learned language?