Does a force field absorb hit point damage from an attack that would only deplete stamina points?

In Starfinder, personal force fields grant temporary hit points to the user and fast heal those temporary hit points every round for a finite number of rounds. My question is whether the force field provides any protection at all from an attack that would only deplete the target’s stamina points?

If the force field itself had a number of hit points that it would absorb before damage was applied to the user (like a ship’s shields), this would be a simple question–damage would be applied first to the force field and extra over that round’s allotment would be applied to the user’s stamina points and then hit points. But the description of the force field states that it grants temporary hit points to the user and if the user is a player character then they do not lose hit points (temporary or otherwise) until their stamina points are depleted. It seems to me that, rules as written, force fields do not protect stamina points, but since attacks that reduce stamina points do in fact hit the character, a force field should protect them. Am I reading the rules right or am I missing something? Has Paizo clarified this at all?

How does absorb elements work with pre-existing resistances

So I’ve looked around and can’t find an answer that quite fits what I’m wondering. For example if I were to already have fire resistance and I get hit with a red dragins fire breath would casting absorb elements halve the damage I take(effectively making it 1/4 damage) or not reduce damage at all because I already have 1 source of resistance

Does Elemental Adept ignore Absorb Elements

Scenario: A sorcerer with Elemental Adept (Fire) casts Fireball at a wizard, who uses their reaction to cast absorb elements. The wizard claims that his spell protects him and he takes half damage (or 1/4 with a successful save) while the sorcerer claims that his fire spells ignore resistance and therefore the wizard only gained an extra 1d6 fire damage on his next melee attack by casting absorb elements.

Elemental adept says

Spells you cast ignore resistance to damage of the chosen type.

While absorb elements says

The spell captures some of the incoming energy, lessening its effect on you and storing it for your next melee attack. You have resistance to the triggering damage type until the start of your next turn.

My initial read says that absorb elements gives the wizard resistance but Elemental Adept ignores resistance and therefore absorb elements would not protect the wizard from the damage of the spell at all. On the other hand, we know there isn’t any fluff text in 5e, and the Absorb Elements spell specifically says "lessening its effect on you". It can’t lessen the effect on the wizard if the wizard still takes the full damage.

So which rule is the more specific rule in this case? I think it would be Elemental Adept specifically ignoring resistance to fire and not Absorb Elements lessening the effect on the caster, but I want to know which ruling is more supported by RAW.

Can a Rod of Absorption absorb cantrips?

A Rod of Absorption enables the user to absorb incoming single-target spells as a reaction and store those spell levels for later use:

While holding this rod, you can use your reaction to absorb a spell that is targeting only you and not with an area of effect. The absorbed spell’s effect is canceled, and the spell’s energy — not the spell itself — is stored in the rod. The energy has the same level as the spell when it was cast. The rod can absorb and store up to 50 levels of energy over the course of its existence. Once the rod absorbs 50 levels of energy, it can’t absorb more. If you are targeted by a spell that the rod can’t store, the rod has no effect on that spell.

Given that cantrips are considered level 0 spells, is it possible to absorb a cantrip using the Rod? Or does a level 0 spell count as "a spell that the rod can’t store"?

(Presumably, if this is possible, doing so would not store any additional levels into the rod, but would negate the cantrip’s effect.)

Does the Order of Scribes Feature Awakened Spellbook also change the damage type of Absorb Elements?

The Order of Scribes from Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything has the "Awakened Spellbook" feature. Part of the feature reads as follows:

When you cast a wizard spell with a spell slot, you can temporarily replace its damage type with a type that appears in another spell in your spellbook, which magically alters the spell’s formula for this casting only. The latter spell must be of the same level as the spell slot you expend.

Can i change the absorbing damage type of the spell "Absorb Elements"?

Absorb Elements is a spell with casting time of Reaction and an asterisk when the Reaction can take place as follows:

which you take when you take acid, cold, fire, lightning, or thunder damage

Can you replace the damage type of the trigger with that feature? That way you could absorb every type of damage with this spell. Absorbing poison, psychic, force or physical damage types.

Can absorb elements be triggered on attacks that require a saving throw or be paralyzed, incapacitated… and elemental damage on a failed save?

Say an enemy is casting a spell or using an ability that forces the player to make a saving throw or be "conditioned and take X elemental damage".

Does absorb elements go off if the save is failed? Or because of the condition effect, does that mean the reaction can’t be used if you fail the save, take damage, and conditioned? Or even can it be cast before the save (and wasted if the save passes)?

What is the interaction between Green-Flame Blade and Absorb elements

Green-Flame Blade States:

…you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature…

…On a hit, the target suffers the attack’s normal effects, and green fire leaps from the target to a different creature of your choice that you can see within 5 feet of it. The second creature takes fire damage equal to your spellcasting ability modifier…

Absorb Elements States:

…the first time you hit with a melee attack on your next turn, the target takes an extra 1d6 damage of the triggering type…

Since Green-Flame Blade is a single attack that affects 2 targets at the same time. Does the Absorb Elements extra damage affect both the 1st and 2ndary targets as per RAW?

How does Absorb Spell (Su) work? [Spellthief class]

Absorb Spell (Su) is a class feature of the Spellthief (Complete Adventurer variant, p. 13) and it reads as follow:

Beginning at 7th level, if a spellthief makes a successful save against a spell that targets him, he can attempt to absorb the spell energy for later use. This ability affects only spells that have the spellthief asa target, not effect or area spells. A spellthief can’t absorb a spell of a higher spell level than he could steal with his steal spell ability (see above).

To absorb a spell that targets him, a spellthief must succeed on a level check (1d20 + spellthief class level) against a DC of 10 + the spell’s caster level. Failure indicates that the spell has its normal effect. Success means that the spellthief suffers no effect from the spell and can cast the spell later (or use its energy to cast one of his own spells known) as if he had stolen the spell with his steal spell ability. His normal limit of total spell levels stolen still applies.

At 20th level or higher, a spellthief can choose to use the stolen spell energy as an immediate action (see page 137), either to recast the original spell or to cast one of his own spells known using the stolen spell energy.

Let me pick these two phrases:

  • if a spellthief makes a successful save against a spell that targets him, he can attempt to absorb the spell energy
  • To absorb a spell that targets him, a spellthief must succeed on a level check

So, in order to absord the spell, you must succeed on a saving throw and then pass the level check.

What I do not understand is this part:

Failure [on the level check] indicates that the spell has its normal effect.

Does it refer to the fact that the spell complitely affects you even after a successful save?

or

Does it mean that if the spell’s descriptor has somithing like “Saving Throw: Reflex half” then this halved damage (or effect) still applies?

Does Absorb Elements give you resistance to damage from the triggering attack?

Absorb Elements says:

Absorb Elements
1st-level abjuration
Casting Time: 1 reaction, which you take when you take acid, cold, fire, lightning, or thunder damage
Range: Self
Components: S
Duration: 1 round

The spell captures some of the incoming energy, lessening its effect on you and storing it for your next melee attack. You have resistance to the triggering damage type until the start of your next turn. Also, the fist time you hit with a melee attack on your next turn, the target takes an extra 1d6 damage of the triggering type, and the spell ends.

This seems to imply that the caster avoids some of the incoming damage, but it isn’t stated as explicitly as similar abilities of other spells, such as the Shield spell which states (in part):

Until the start of your next turn, you have a +5 bonus to AC, including against the triggering attack

Are others reading the Absorb Elements spell as I am, as similarly granting the resistance beginning with the triggering attack?