Can a Werewolf actually hurt another Werewolf?

This came up today in Curse of Strahd. One of the werewolves wanted to aid the party in taking out some of her fellows.

It occurred to me that a Werewolf in hybrid form does piercing (bite) and slashing (claws) damage which werewolves are immune to.

Are werewolves actually immune to other werewolves assuming said werewolf does not have access to a silvered weapon?

Does a clay golem’s haste action actually give it more attacks?

A clay golem has an action called Haste that is thematically similar to the spell of the same name but mechanically rather different:

Haste (Recharge 5–6). Until the end of its next turn, the golem magically gains a +2 bonus to its AC, has advantage on Dexterity saving throws, and can use its slam attack as a bonus action.

At first glance, this appears to grant the golem one additional attack (as a bonus action). However, using the ability costs the golem its action, with which it could otherwise make 2 slam attacks. Since the ability lasts until the end of the golem’s next turn, it can attack with its bonus action on both the turn it uses the ability and the following turn, yielding a total of… 2 additional attacks. Thus, it seems that over the course of these 2 turns, the golem will get 4 attacks, regardless of whether it uses its Haste ability or not. The only difference is that with Haste, one of those attacks comes 1 turn later.

So, am I correct in finding that the net effect of the golem’s Haste action is to delay one of its attacks by one turn in return for improved defenses for 1 round, as opposed to actually granting additional attacks? Obviously there are cases where this is unambiguously a benefit, e.g. when the golem can’t get into melee on the current turn, but I suppose I find it a bit surprising that, if anything, the golem’s Haste action causes it to attack more slowly.

How many spell points does using an Admixture feat actually cost?

When applying the Admixture talent and an Admixture feat to a destructive blast from the Destruction sphere, how many spell points does it actually cost?

For example, if I apply a Morphic Admixture, how many points am I spending? Assuming I do not spend any points to extend the shapeshift’s duration.

It confuses me because both the talent and the feats cost a point, but the feats replace part of the talent’s effects, raising the question whether you spend 1 point or 2 points.

This uses the versions following Ultimate Spheres of Power.

Admixture Talent from Destruction Sphere

Admixture

You may either increase the casting time of your destructive blast by one step or spend an additional spell point to apply two (blast type) talents instead of 1. The resultant blast does half of its damage of each type and any additional effects of the blast types are applied normally. If the die size for the two blasts are d8 and d6, use d8; if d8 and d4 use d6; if d6 and d4, use d4. If two blast types have different caster levels, then use the lower caster level for determining the admixtured blast’s caster level.

Special: You do not increase the casting time or spend an additional spell point when using the Admixture talent with two blast types from the same blast type group.

Admixture Feat Rules

Admixture feats grant new ways to utilize the Admixture talent (from the Destruction sphere), adding abilities from other spheres to your destructive blast. All admixture feats replace the second blast talent you would normally apply, with the resulting destructive blast dealing normal blast damage in addition to the effect outlined in the feat. Any additional costs incurred by the additional effect must be paid as normal. If your caster level is different for the two spheres, the destructive blast is governed by your caster level for the relevant blast type and the additional effect is governed by your caster level for the appropriate ability.

Morphic Admixture Feat

Morphic Admixture (Admixture)

Prerequisites: Alteration sphere, Destruction sphere (Admixture).

Benefit: When using Admixture, you may spend an additional spell point to have a single creature that takes damage save against a hostile shapeshift. If you possess the Mass Alteration talent, you may apply the hostile shapeshift to all targets damaged, up to your maximum targets from Mass Alteration.

Are the monsters in the MM actually following the monster creation rules?

The guidelines for making your own monsters are based around the Monster Statistics by Challenge Rating table on p274. Inspired by this question regarding Animated Armor (MM 19), which is CR1, let’s see where the Armor would be if we made it from scratch…

Defensive CR: The Armor has 33 HP, but step 9 (Damage Vulnerabilities, Resistances and Immunities, DMG 277) has us adjust effective HP based on resistance.

So we start with 33 HP, giving us CR 1/8, which tells us that we’re using the first line of Effective Hit Points Based on Resistances and Immunities, for an x2 multiplier for each Resistance or Immunity.

The Armor has two Immunities, so has 33x2x2 or 132 “effective” hit points. That puts us at CR 5. We then look at its AC of 18, which is 3 higher than the normal 15 for CR 5. That adjusts us up by one, to CR 6.

Offensive CR: It does 10 (2×5) points of damage, for a CR of 1. Its Attack Bonus is +4, which is 1 higher than the normal +3, but doesn’t adjust CR up.

Final CR is the average of the two, or (6+1)/2. That gives us 3.5, which we round against the players, for a final final CR 3.

How is Animated Armor a CR1 challenge? Its only notable disadvantage (from a combat perspective) is its Antimagic Susceptibility, but that has no effect on CR, per DMG 280. What’s knocking it down from CR 3 to CR 1? Or am I horribly misunderstanding how the creation rules work?

How does the receptacle power actually work?

This is actually several questions, but closely related enough I felt they should be asked as one question. If the community disagrees, I’m happy to split them up.

The 2nd Edition Complete Psionics Handbook actually has a number of issues where it seems like the writers failed to consider there might be more people in the world besides a single psionicist and their target, to be honest. But one of the places this is most apparent is the receptacle power – it only indicates that the psionicist who creates the receptacle can then draw the stored PSPs from it, but never specifically indicates whether other psionicists (or even psychically active monsters) can draw those PSPs out as well.

Additionally, it indicates that to create a receptacle from an empowered object, you don’t need to give it powers using empower, but doesn’t indicate you cannot do so. So, my questions about this power:

  1. Can another psionicist use a receptacle that wasn’t created by them? 1a) If so, does that also extend to monsters with "natural psionic ability" or only true psionicists?

  2. Can you use an empowered object that was given powers as a receptacle? 2a) If so, can the object itself access the additional PSPs stored in it by the receptacle power to pay for its own powers, or are they only accessible by others?

What does Psionic Mastery actually do?

This is part of the Psionic Mastery description from the Unearthed Arcana Mystic rules:

Beginning at 11th level, your mastery of psionic energy allows you to push your mind beyond its normal limits. As an action, you gain 9 special psi points that you can spend only on disciplines that require an action or a bonus action to use. You can use all 9 points on one discipline, or you can spread them across multiple disciplines. You can’t also spend your normal psi points on these disciplines; you can spend only the special points gained from this feature.

I think this explanation is lacking, and I didn’t find clarifications around.

When I use my action to activate this new type of psi points, do I also choose the disciplines I want, and they take effect altogether? Or do I need one turn to activate this ability and then another turn to use one discipline, etc. until I finish this pool? Finally, Disciplines are a block of several options, what does it mean when I choose to use these bonus points; is the entire block unaccessible with regular psi points?

Is the Echo of a Echo Knight actually a creature?

I’ve always been certain that the echo created by an Echo Knight fighter using their 3rd-level feature Manifest Echo is not defined in game terms as a creature, since the description of the echo never explicitly tells it is a creature. But the presence of people believing the echo to be a creature in lieu of the fact that it is immune to all conditions and might make saving throws (game characteristics typically associated with creatures only) brought this doubt to my mind.

This tweet from Jeremy Crawford implies it is just an image and not a creature, further confirming that the feature should tell you, but this other tweet implies that the echo is an object whilst the feature doesn’t explicitly say so.
(Included for reference and insight, since tweets are not eligible as official ruling)

Is the echo a creature?

what can actually awake a naturally sleeping creature by RAW?

I had a table discussion about how to handle waking up naturally sleeping creatures. I looked here and found this really good [answer][1] but I feel it is not RAW. I will explain what I mean here and will mark answered the one that will address my concern. thank you.

  1. natural sleep is considered unconscious by XGE p.77

    While a creature sleeps, it is subjected to the unconscious condition

    and as suggested in DMG p.248

    if a character is in a state such as sleep, that lacks consciousness, you can say the character is unconscious.

  2. Unconscious condition states that you incapacitated and you are unaware of your surroundings in the Conditions description of PHB p.292

  3. Incapacitated PHB p.290 states you can’t take actions or reactions

  4. Wisdom (perception) is defined in PHB p.178 by this

    Your Wisdom (Perception) check lets you spot, hear, or otherwise detect the presence of something. It measures your general awareness of your surroundings and the keenness of your senses.

This in itself by the rule means you can’t make a perception check while sleeping (incapacitated) and your passive perception does not work (unaware of your surroundings where perception measures your awareness of it) Now, XGE p.77 adds that you can break the unconscious condition by waking up the sleeping creature through

  1. Sudden loud noise (continual loud noise, like trying to sleep next to a large waterfall, won’t stop you from sleeping nor wake you up)
  2. someone uses an action to shake or slap you
  3. someone speaks at normal volume while the environment is silent (not even crickets sounds) and the passive perception of the sleeping creature is 15 or more
  4. someone whispers (so, speech at low volume but you can adjudicate it as you which since this is not written, as long as the someone says he is whispering) within 10′ of the sleeping creature who has a passive perception of 20
  5. the sleeping creature takes any damage

As the previous answer I linked above suggests, the discussion goes about being able to perceive any sound. The rule as written specifies that only speech or whisper with each their condition would wake up a sleeping creature and that the creature is still unconscious and unaware of its surroundings so can’t use a passive perception skill other than the exception marked by the said rule. Which also would mean that only damaging spells can wake a sleeping creature as PHB of.204 under Targets state the following

Unless a spell has a perceptible effect, a creature might not know it was targeted by a spell at all. An effect like crackling lightning is obvious, but a more subtle effect, such as an attempt to read a creature’s thoughts, typically goes unnoticed, unless a spell says otherwise.

since you are unaware of your surroundings and perception is its measure which allows you to be aware of perceptible things/effects, you can’t ever perceive it. Thus someone casting cure light wounds on you in an environment that is not silent and you don’t have a passive perception of 20 (since the spell is touch and thus within 10′) won’t wake you up.

(emphasis mine for clarity in the argument)

thanks for reading and clarifying what is RAW and if, though a fair ruling of the situation, the linked answer would be RAI. [1]: Perception While Sleeping

Is there any way to actually impose disadvantage (not just cancel advantage) on saving throws against spells for a creature with Magic Resistance?

Many creatures in D&D 5e have a feature called Magic Resistance. One such is the Archmage:

Magic Resistance. The archmage has advantage on saving throws against spells and other magical effects.

So the Archmage has advantage on saving throws against magical effects. Suppose I wanted to weaken the Archmage’s resistance to magic – I use some effect that gives disadvantage on the saving throw for my spell. Normally, this would balance out to a straight roll, as the rules for advantage and disadvantage say:

If circumstances cause a roll to have both advantage and disadvantage, you are considered to have neither of them, and you roll one d20. This is true even if multiple circumstances impose disadvantage and only one grants advantage or vice versa. In such a situation, you have neither advantage nor disadvantage.

This seems to set a baseline for a straight roll on saves against magical effects, that the Archmage can never roll at disadvantage against magical effects.

But is there a way to get around this? Keep in mind, such an ability must respect the specific beats general rule:

That said, many racial traits, class features, spells, magic items, monster abilities, and other game elements break the general rules in some way, creating an exception to how the rest of the game works. Remember this: If a specific rule contradicts a general rule, the specific rule wins.

The general rule here is that advantage and disadvantage balance out to a single die roll, so getting around Magic Resistance must either specifically override the rule for advantage and disadvantage, or eliminate Magic Resistance entirely.

Is there any way (e.g. magic item, class feature, spell, etc.) to force a creature with Magic Resistance to make a save against a magical effect with disadvantage?


While writing this up I did find this closed question which asks generally how to combat creatures with Magical Resistance, I intend this to be a (hopefully) more focused version of that question.