Does Elemental Adept ignore Absorb Elements

Scenario: A sorcerer with Elemental Adept (Fire) casts Fireball at a wizard, who uses their reaction to cast absorb elements. The wizard claims that his spell protects him and he takes half damage (or 1/4 with a successful save) while the sorcerer claims that his fire spells ignore resistance and therefore the wizard only gained an extra 1d6 fire damage on his next melee attack by casting absorb elements.

Elemental adept says

Spells you cast ignore resistance to damage of the chosen type.

While absorb elements says

The spell captures some of the incoming energy, lessening its effect on you and storing it for your next melee attack. You have resistance to the triggering damage type until the start of your next turn.

My initial read says that absorb elements gives the wizard resistance but Elemental Adept ignores resistance and therefore absorb elements would not protect the wizard from the damage of the spell at all. On the other hand, we know there isn’t any fluff text in 5e, and the Absorb Elements spell specifically says "lessening its effect on you". It can’t lessen the effect on the wizard if the wizard still takes the full damage.

So which rule is the more specific rule in this case? I think it would be Elemental Adept specifically ignoring resistance to fire and not Absorb Elements lessening the effect on the caster, but I want to know which ruling is more supported by RAW.

I’m a lvl10 sorcerer: should I plan for Spell Sniper + Eldritch Adept to get a powerful cantrip?

I’m currently a level 10 Tiefling Sorcerer, playing my first game of D&D (5e). I’m mostly selecting spells for boon’ing party members, with a couple of save-or-suck spells in reserve + simple damage output (e.g. Chaos Bolt + Fire Bolt). I’d quite like to have a more chunky Cantrip, e.g. Eldritch Blast, but I’d also like to hit level 20 Sorcerer, too. I already have the Observant and Ritual Caster feats, and 20 Charisma as a luck did have it when we rolled our characters, too.

Draft plan: Level 12 Spell Sniper (Eldritch Blast) + level 16 Eldritch Adept (Agonising Blast)

An artificer in our group is providing me with a Mind Sharpener set of robes, so I don’t think Warcaster is necessary until potentially late game.

Thoughts, comments, shaming, critique?

14th level Artificer (Magic Item Savant) + Metamagic Adept items to regain sorcery points

Considering a 14th level artificer with the Metamagic Adept feat in D&D 5e:

  • I’m assuming that the feat does not grant the ability to restore sorcery points by expending spell slots (since it doesn’t grant the Flexible Casting feature)
  • It seems to me that an artificer could use the Bloodwell Vial to regain the sorcery points when they roll a Hit Dice, but they would only regain 2 (since that’s their maximum amount)
  • Are there other items/ways to regain expended points?

Thanks!

Is my homebrew feat “Healing Adept” balanced?

I’m playing D&D 5e in a group that has many years of experience with older versions of D&D but is new to 5th and our GM is new to being in charge. He has allowed feats (upon approval) and I wanted to make my healing more effective. If there are any official source feats to improve healing, I couldn’t find them. D&DBeyond has a great many published homebrew feats, but between the GM and myself, we declined the majority of them for being either overpowered, underwhelming, or poorly written/exploitable. However, there were several very good ideas buried in the details, so I tried my hand at writing my own: Healing Adept.

Prerequisite: Ability to cast at least one healing spell, WIS score of 14+

After long practice, you have become especially adept at magical healing.

When you cast a healing spell with variable results, first roll a d10. On a roll of 10, your spell heals for the maximum amount.

You may add your Proficiency Bonus to your Spellcasting Modifier for healing spells you cast.

If an ally within 60 feet of you would fall unconscious due to damage, you may use your reaction to cast Healing Word at 1st level without expending a spell slot. This spell must target that ally. You may do this a number of times equal to your wisdom modifier (Minimum of Once).

You recover all expended charges after a long rest.

After working with other members of the group who have experience with GMing and "Rules-Lawyering", I came up with the above. I tried to be both precise and concise in my wording to avoid any potential abuse. On review, our GM was unsure about one specific aspect:

You may add your Proficiency Bonus to your Spellcasting Modifier for healing spells you cast.

We discussed the PB adding 2-6 points (level-dependent) of flat bonus healing, and he wasn’t sure that the amount is balanced. To Be Clear: He deferred judgement on the feat as a whole, stating "I do not want to allow something then realize it is overpowered and have to take it away."

So on to the question
GMs: What would you add, remove, or adjust before allowing this Feat at your table?

D&D5e Warlock Spell slot level with the feat Metamagic Adept from Tasha’s Cauldren of Everything

I have a warlock tiefling for which I am considering to choose the feat Metamagic Adept from Tasha’s Cauldren of Everything. This will get me 2 sorcery points to spend.

  1. Looking at the sorcery point system I believe I could spend these 2 sorcery points to regain one 1st-level spell slot, since a warlock only has a few this. I imagine this would be helpful. However this is not stated in the feat specifically, only to use two Metamagic options. Is there a source that mentions something about the feat that one could exchange the 2 sorcery points into spell slots as well? Or would someone rule it as possible?

  2. If I understand correctly, as a warlock I could only cast spells at a certain level. The reason I am asking is related to the question above. If I am returning 2 sorcery points and get a 1st-level spell back. That would be great at lower levels I think. Since a warlock as of 3rd level could only cast spells from level 2, a warlock starting from level 5 casting level 3 spells, etc. Meaning I (most likely) wouldn’t prepare a 1st level spell at higher levels. Could I exchange 2 sorcery points for a 1st level spell, but then cast it at a higher level spell since I am a warlock, or is that the reason why the answer to question 1 would be no?

Below the information on sorcery points (flexible casting) and the feat metamagic adept.

Feat Metamagic Adept:

You’ve learned how to exert your will on your spells to alter how they function. You gain the following benefits:

  • You learn two Metamagic options of your choice from the sorcerer class. You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when you cast it, unless the option says otherwise. Whenever you gain a level, you can replace one of your Metamagic options with another one from the sorcerer class.
  • You gain 2 sorcery points to spend on Metamagic (these points are added to any sorcery points you have from another source but can be used only on Metamagic). You regain all spent sorcery points when you finish a long rest.

Flexible Casting:

You can use your sorcery points to gain additional Spell Slots, or sacrifice Spell Slots to gain additional sorcery points. Creating Spell Slots. You can transform unexpended sorcery points into one spell slot as a Bonus Action on Your Turn. The created Spell Slots Vanish at the end of a Long Rest. The Creating Spell Slots table shows the cost of Creating a Spell slot of a given level. You can create Spell Slots no higher in level than 5th. Any spell slot you create with this feature vanishes when you finish a Long Rest.

How does metamagic adept interact with flexible casting and the sorcery points cap?


You gain 2 sorcery points to spend on Metamagic (these points are added to any sorcery points you have from another source but can be used only on Metamagic). You regain all spent sorcery points when you finish a long rest.

Assume a level 3 variant human sorcerer has 3 sorcery points from their class and 2 from metamagic adept.

They spend 2 sorcery points from their class to make a 1rst level slot with flexible casting. Now they have 1 from their class and 2 from metamagic adept.

Are they able to convert a spell slot to sorcery points? Or can they not go over 3 sorcery points because they are level 3? In effect forcing them to spend the points from the feat before they can make more.

How does metamagic adept interact with flexible casting and the sorcery points cap?

Would the Eldritch Adept feat be unbalanced for non-spellcasters?

In Tasha’s Cauldron (and the preceding Unearthed Arcana), the feat Eldritch Adept grants one Eldritch Invocation, with a prerequisite of Spellcasting or Pact Magic. Hence, it excludes only non-EK Fighters, non-AT Rogues, Barbarians, and Monks.

I understand the thematic reasons for this prerequisite to exist, but are there game balance reasons for it? Answers should include example class/invocation synergies.

Does the Pyromancer sorcerer’s Fiery Soul feature work with the Elemental Adept feat (fire damage) to effectively ignore immunity as well?

The Pyromancer sorcerous origin from Plane Shift: Kaladesh gains the Fiery Soul feature at 18th level. Part of its description says:

[…] any spell or effect you create ignores resistance to fire damage and treats immunity to fire damage as resistance to fire damage.

The Elemental Adept (Fire) feat says (PHB, p. 166):

Spells you cast ignore resistance to fire damage.

Would these two stack together to allow the user to completely ignore fire immunity (so Fiery Soul treats the immunity as resistance, and then Elemental Adept further allows you to ignore that)?
Or would Elemental Adept be useless to a pyromancer at 18th level, as they can already ignore resistances?