Does the Faerie Fire spell give advantage on attacks against invisible creatures?

The description of the faerie fire spell states:

Any attack roll against an affected creature or object has advantage if the attacker can see it, and the affected creature or object can’t benefit from being invisible.

As I read it, there are two ways to interpret this. The first is that being held unseen is a benefit of being invisible, and therefore the spell removes that benefit. Since the invisible creature is then visible, you have advantage against it.

The other interpretation is that the order of the sentence matters; first, check if you can see them, and you have advantage if you can. Then, strip them of the benefits of invisibility. In this case, you would have a regular attack roll against the creature, without disadvantage from being invisible nor advantage from Faerie Fire.

What interpretation of the rule aligns with the intention of the faerie fire spell?

Damaging inanimate objects in battles to indirectly gain advantage in battles

  1. I was thinking of using Spell damage to knockdown a dead Tree trunk in order for it to land on two/three skeletons and therefore pinning them effectively in place.

  2. Assuming having 1 Torch lit only with an all-human party (and I am Chaotic Evil), I was thinking of aiming my spell on the Torch effectively putting it out and make my quick getaway.

Are these possible scenarios?

This is for the Table Top game Dungeons and Dragons (DnD-e5). (sorry about that)

Monk Level Advancement Combat Competitive Advantage


Question

Is there a fair way to give a character monk an advantage in the monk’s combat to advance a level in AD&D 1st edition? What has worked for you?

Definition

A Fair Competitive Advantage would be some inherently, built-in advantage like more hit points than the opponent. Or it could be an unarmed combat choice of skills per attack. But it does not allow a magic item which would violate the Lawful code of the Monk’s combat.

References

  • Unearthed Arcana (UA) describes Vanquishing as non-lethal combat on p109.
  • Dungeon Master’s Guide (DMG) describes Pummeling Grappling Overbearing on p72-73. It states,

"Monks: Even if grappled, pummeled, or overborne, monks are able to conduct open hand combat normally until stunned or unconscious."

  • The Player’s Handbook (PB) pages 30 to 32 PHB says
    • strictures 6)

    "The monk must find and defeat in single combat, hand-to-hand, without weapons or magic items…" "The loser of these combats loses enough experience points to place him or her at the lowest number possible to attain the level just below the new level."

    • stunning

    "the monk has a chance to stun, or even kill, an opponent. An opponent is stunned by a monk for 1-6 (d6) melee rounds if the score of the monk’s ‘to hit’ die score exceeds the minimum number required by 5 or more."

Combat table

The combat tables show a 15% to 25% chance of stunning from levels 8 through 17. By level 9, a monk attacks twice per round or more. A monk could stun and then attack the stunned opponent up to 12 times at level 9 . This means the winner is effectively decided by the first one to stun.

Options

Things I thought of as a Fair Competitive Advantage so far are:

  1. The character has a 16 CON, but the NPC has <= 14 CON. The character would get 2 extra HP per level. But any NPC that made it through 2 or more combats would likely have a 16 CON anyway.
  2. Module X2 Castle Amber has encounters that reward a chance for permanent +d4 hit points or a permanent bless ( +1 hit +1 damage +1 save ). This is not enough to overcome an unlucky stun or 2 stuns.
  3. Some combination of pummel, grapple, overbear and monk hand to hand. Does a monk get multiple pummel, grapple, overbear attacks per round as the monk advances levels? For example, do you overbear once and then attack hand-to-hand the rest of the combat?
  4. Oriental Adventures (OA) The book contains differentiated martial arts styles, damage and AC. This question is about advantages or style differences not in the OA. It’s fine if that is the best solution, just wanted to know about other alternatives too.
  5. Is there some ability, module, monster, or encounter that provides a permanent Save vs Paralyzation when stunned instead of automatic stun?
  6. Can a monk self-heal (Special Ability E) while stunned?
  7. Something else you have used.

Context

Without an advantage, the monks have the same probability of hit points, same AC, same to-hit, and same damage. The winner is a coin toss, effectively doubling the experience needed for a monk to advance beyond level 8. What have you tried that allowed you to advance a monk through the higher levels?

Can you take advantage of flanking positions with a ranged weapon?

There appears to be some controversy over whether or not a ranged attacker can ever be considered to be flanking his target. Is it true that it is impossible to flank enemies with a ranged weapon? What about the first line of the flanking rules, which state:

When making a melee attack, you get a +2 flanking bonus if your opponent is threatened by another enemy character or creature on its opposite border or opposite corner.

Some people claim that this means you can only be considered flanking an enemy while you are currently making a melee attack, is that true?

In general, are you ever considered to be flanking a target while attacking with a ranged weapon and are there any situations in which this distinction could possibly matter?

Mage Slayer advantage vs. non-Instantaneous spells

The Mage Slayer feat provides the following benefit, amongst others:

You have advantage on saving throws against spells cast by creatures within 5 feet of you.

For spells with a duration of instantaneous, it’s clear when this effect occurs – when the creature is within 5 feet of you, and casts a spell you need to make a saving throw against.

What about spells with longer durations, where the casting and you making the save might not be at the same moment? Examples might be Evard’s Black Tentacles, or Thunderous Smite. Does the creature need to be within 5 feet of you (a) when they cast the spell, or (b) when you make the saving throw (or both)?

Does the duration of the invisibility from the Firbolg’s Hidden Step trait allow me to make an attack roll with advantage on the following turn?

The firbolg’s Hidden Step trait (VGtM, p. 107) is described as being active "until the start of your next turn" at most:

As a bonus action, you can magically turn invisible until the start of your next turn

I’m unclear on the exact mechanics of turn starts. For instance, if I use Hidden Step as a bonus action at the end of my turn, would the invisibility stay active for my next attack?

My initial reading was "no" as the trait would stay active from when I use it, into the next round, and drop as soon as my turn came up in the initiative order. I would then become visible, and take my action. This also gels conceptually: I can use Hidden Step to protect myself from combat for a round, or I can use it to gain advantage on an attack. But I can’t use it for both.

However, I’ve also read that advantage for invisibility is determined at the start of the round, and thus the advantage would in fact carry over to the next round’s attack, as if I was attacking from hiding or something similar.

Which is it, and what source would resolve it?

How does rule 3. Advantage and Disadvantage from Ten Rules to Remeber function?

Ten Rules to Remember in Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything reminds us via rule 3. Advantage and Disadvantage:

Even if more than one factor gives you advantage or disadvantage on a roll, you have it only once, and if you have advantage and disadvantage on the same roll, they cancel each other.

Now that leads to the natural question of in what order these things happen. When you gain "advantage" from multiple sources and "disadvantage" from one source, do you only gain "advantage" once that then is cancelled out by "disadvantage" thus resulting in neither or do you get "advantage" once from one source, that then is cancelled out by "disadvantage" from one other source thus allowing for "advantage" from another source to take place – as there are neither "advantage" nor "disadvantage", at that point, in the chain?