How does the Reloading Weapon Artificer Infusion affect Matt Mercer’s Gunslinger firearms?

I am creating an artificer/fighter with the gunslinger multi-class and a question has been raised. If I infuse a gun with the Repeating Weapon artificer infusion, how does that affect the reloading property of the gun?

Repeating Shot

Item: A simple or martial weapon with the ammunition property (requires attunement)

This magic weapon grants a +1 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with it when it’s used to make a ranged attack, and it ignores the loading property if it has it.

The weapon requires no ammunition; it magically produces one piece of ammunition each time you make a ranged attack with it, unless you manually load it. The ammunition produced by the weapon vanishes the instant after the it hits or misses a target.

And firearms do have the ammunition property.


The weapon can be fired a number of times equal to its Reload score before you must spend 1 attack or 1 action to reload. You must have one free hand to reload a firearm.

I am unsure of the how the rules should be interpreted, but wouldn’t the repeating weapon cause the gun to never need to reload?

How do areas where construction has replaced nature affect the spell Commune with Nature’s ability to give information on buildings?

One of the limitations of Commune With Nature is that

The spell doesn’t function where nature has been replaced by construction, such as in dungeons and towns.

I am uncertain what that entails given that one of the subjects one can divine is buildings.

Can an NPC use the teleport spell to affect an object they can see with the scry spell?

Teleport shows that it has a range of 10ft and uses the following language:

This spell instantly transports you and up to eight willing creatures of your choice that you can see within range, or a single object that you can see within range, to a destination you select. If you target an object, it must be able to fit entirely inside a 10-foot cube, and it can’t be held or carried by an unwilling creature.

I want to have a non-present NPC who is using the scry spell to spy on the Players location to use the Teleport spell on an object in the room the Players are in. Is this possible as long as the object is within 10ft of the sensor created by the scry spell or is it not possible?

TLDR; can I cast the teleport spell through the sensor created with the scry spell, using the sensor’s location as the base for target range?

Should I allow a PC’s spells to affect a very large vehicle?

I’m running a sci-fi campaign using D&D 5e, Ultramodern 5e (an add-on that allows you to run modern and sci-fi settings using D&D 5e), with Esper Genesis space combat rules. I have a player who’s planning to acquire a spacesuit and, when space combat begins, jump out the airlock and start using spells to shoot at spaceships.

My main problem is that the ships are really really big and they’ve been balanced around ship weapons, not player spells. I worry that if I let his spells affect a ship it’ll just instantly vaporize any enemy. I know Starfinder doesn’t let player weapons and spells affect ships and I’m wondering if I should implement this. What should I do?

How does failing a Sense Motive check against a Bluff affect your character’s perception of the world?

There doesn’t seem to be a concrete explanation for what happens to your character if you fail a sense motive check against a bluff. I want to know the limits of failing a sense motive check, as well as the effect it has on your character and their mindset.

The wording of ‘Sense Motive’ is pretty straightforward:

A successful check lets you avoid being bluffed (see the Bluff skill). You can also use this skill to determine when “something is up” (that is, something odd is going on) or to assess someone’s trustworthiness. (Core Rules, p. 104)

The issue I’m having is that failing a sense motive check isn’t outlined in the skill itself. The closest I can find is in the ‘Bluff’ check description:

Bluff is an opposed skill check against your opponent’s Sense Motive skill. If you use Bluff to fool someone, with a successful check you convince your opponent that what you are saying is true. (Core Rules, p. 90)

Due to the way the game I’m in is structured, most of the people that we meet are either hostile to us, or at the very least don’t want us to succeed. Furthermore, most of the people we interact with have absurdly high bluff checks, to the point that I can’t recall any of us successfully detecting a lie with ‘sense motive’ (despite us being lied to nearly constantly).

For instance, we recently had an encounter with a devil who we were sure knew the whereabouts of a MacGuffin. We also knew that this devil had a history of tricking adventurers by giving them bad directions that sent them into ambushes. So, we talked to this devil, and sure enough he gave us directions to the MacGuffin. The interaction then went like this:

Devil – “Oh yes, I know where that is. You just need to take the Winding Road, and make a left at the big gnarled tree. No one uses that path, it’ll get you there safe and sound”

Fighter – “I don’t really believe this guy one bit. I’m rolling sense motive to see if he’s lying to us. I rolled a 29”

GM – “(rolls) You think he’s telling the truth”

Naturally, he wasn’t telling the truth, and we ended up getting ambushed.

The problem is that by deciding to roll a sense motive check, we basically forced ourselves to accept the results of the check instead of our own intuition. Since we know we have a good chance of failing the checks no matter how well we roll, it seems advantageous to us to make as few sense motive checks as possible. That way, at least we can have some chance of recognizing when we’re being lied to. In the example above, if we simply didn’t try to roll a sense motive, all of us would have been almost 100% sure the devil was sending us into an ambush, and we would have planned to go another way. However, since we tried to determine if it was a lie, we ended up failing the check and then believing that it was the truth, which put us in a much worse position than if we just hadn’t attempted to determine if it was a lie in the first place.

The Hunch option of Sense Motive seems like it tries to address situations similar to this:

This use of the skill involves making a gut assessment of the social situation. You can get the feeling from another’s behavior that something is wrong, such as when you’re talking to an impostor. Alternatively, you can get the feeling that someone is trustworthy. (Core Rules, p. 104)

Unfortunately in our game, I know that everyone we meet is not ‘trustworthy’, and that ‘something is up’ at all times. Knowing the devil isn’t trustworthy doesn’t give me anything useful; I know he’s untrustworthy, he’s a devil. However, sometimes you need to work with untrustworthy people, and in those times it’s important to be able to try to suss out what they’re being truthful about, and what they’re lying about. With Sense Motive the way it’s written, it seems like it’s better to not roll unless you’re almost 100% sure you’ll succeed, or else you’re going to be convinced that the lie is actually the truth, instead of just not being sure if you’re being lied to or not.

Is there anything official that deals with the limits of believing a lie? In my example, does failing a sense motive check mean you truly believe the devil is being honest, without a doubt? Does the failed check assuage any feelings of uncertainty you had about the situation? What should characters do when they’re pretty sure they’re being lied to, and they’re also pretty sure they’ll never be able to pass their sense motive checks?

Does a Paladin’s Aura of Protection Affect Allies’ Death Saving Throws?

In D&D 5e, the Paladin feature Aura of Protection allows allies within 10 feet of you to add your charisma modifier as a bonus to their saving throws, as long as you are conscious. Certainly this bonus would not affect the Paladin’s own death saves, as they are unconscious while they make them. However a death saving throw doesn’t use any abilities or proficiencies and is determined as:

Roll a d20: If the roll is 10 or higher, you succeed. Otherwise, you fail.

The question is, would the bonus from Aura of Protection be added to the death saving throws of affected creatures? Or would the nature and specific phrasing of death saves dictating that the roll must be 10 or higher overrule Aura of Protection’s general application to all saves?

If the bonus is added, would it be correct to state that is does not have any bearing on the results associated with rolling a 1 or 20 on a death save, meaning those would remain tied to the number on the die only?

Do potions affect undead?

Do potions affect undead?

Specifically, I am looking at whether a zombie ettin can benefit from Amaranth Elixir (from the Shackled City adventure path), which provides an enhancement bonus to strength and damages wisdom. However, I plan to treat Amaranth Elixir as a potion, so I think this question generalizes.

I can’t quickly find anything suggesting that undead aren’t subject to potions, but I have an unshakable intuition that this shouldn’t work…

How does a changeling’s Divergent Persona affect bard spells cast using musical instruments?

My character is a level 1 Changeling Bard. In my character’s story, his Bard personality is what I’m using for his Divergent Persona racial feature. So it says under the description for divergent persona that I can select “one tool of your choice” for which “the related proficiency bonus is doubled” which I chose as his instrument he uses for his spells.

Does this mean he gets the double proficiency bonus when he casts spells using that instrument? Or is it more in regards to performance checks and such?

It does finish off saying “the related proficiency bonus is doubled for any ability check you make that uses that proficiency”. However I think the proficiency bonus I gain from spells doesn’t come from my instrument and is instead just my natural proficiency bonus. But theoretically I am still using the instrument to make that spell ability check, so how does this work?

Either way I’m stumped, if anyone is able to logically state an answer for me, I’d be ever grateful!