Conquest paladins Fear spell hurts allies until lv10?

So, i noticed an odd detail about Conquest paladins’ ability to use Fear spell regularily. And it seems bizarre, i feel like im missing something/literally cannot read.

The conquest paladin gets their aura at lv7. They get the fear spell at lv9. And they get Aura of Courage at lv10. Basically, until lv10, casting Fear would make any of your allies in 30ft TERRIFIED of you, too (you cant choose, everyone has to save). Granted, if theyre in 10ft of you then their save is boosted -but its still weird. Your main ability and you cant use it the level you get it. You have to wait till 10 for it to be safe?? And even then, if not all your allies are fittable within a 20ft diameter then u cannot cast it -they would be making a STRAIGHT save against you. Also, this spell’s in-character effects are quite cruel. Moreoso than a fireball…. maybe.

Heres the ability descriptions:

Fear 3rd level illusion Casting Time: 1 action Range: Self (30-foot radius) Components: V S M (A white feather or the heart of a hen) Duration: Up to 1 minute Classes: Bard, Sorcerer, Warlock, Wizard You project a phantasmal image of a creature’s worst fears. Each creature in a 30-foot cone must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or drop whatever it is holding and become frightened for the duration. While frightened by this spell, a creature must take the Dash action and move away from you by the safest available route on each of its turns, unless there is nowhere to move. If the creature ends its turn in a location where it doesn’t have line of sight to you, the creature can make a Wisdom saving throw. On a successful save, the spell ends for that creature. 
Aura of Courage Starting at 10th level, you and friendly creatures within 10 feet of you can’t be frightened while you are conscious.  At 18th level, the range of this aura increases to 30 feet. 

What do you think? Is this intentional to, like, balance it or something?? The lv10 aura is part of base paladin, btw. So maybe its sort of just a coincidence?

But if this is how it works, i guess conquest paladin multiclasses will need to bump up to 10 from now on?

Can weapons with Reach be used to attack “through” willing allies?

I’m picturing the Greek Phalanx formation, where soldiers were arranged in rows and the men in Row B or even Row C could attack the enemy by thrusting their spears between the soldiers in Row A.

Can you do that with a Reach weapon in DnD 5e? Attack an enemy even though there’s an ally (or even a row of allies) directly between you and them?

Can a rune knight give runes to allies?

It doesn’t disallow the rune knight from putting runes on ally’s equipment, or giving inscribed equipment to allies, but there’s also the difference of language from Artificer infusions, with infusions, it refers to "the wearer," and rune knight refers to "you." So it seems that it wouldn’t work.

Can a rune knight inscribe allies’ equipment and have them benefit from the runes?

Can Lunging Spell Touch be used on allies?

The Lunging Spell Touch feat lets you extend the reach of touch spells. Can this feat also be used when casting touch spells on willing creatures? For example, can you lunge to cast cure light wounds on an ally?

The intent is clearly for enemy-targeted spells, as the feat description specifies that it’s used to "touch foes" and applies to "touch attacks", but I’m not aware of any actual mechanical distinction that prevents this from being applied to touching an ally. You should certainly be able to lunge and cast CLW offensively on an undead creature, so is it acceptable to do the same on a willing, living creature?

Would a Minimus Imprisoned Paladin still provide aura benefits to nearby allies?

If you cast imprisonment with the option Minimus Containment on a high-level paladin, can you wear the gem as a necklace and continue to gain paladin buffs? This is assuming that the paladin continues to view you as an ally.

I assume that the paladin is considered to be conscious since the spell does not say otherwise and it mentions that it is possible for the creature trapped inside the gem to view what is going on outside.

Allowing Allies to free one from Entangle and Web

SZEGA pointed out an error on my part – I am currently editing this question

Among spells that restrain creatures, most require those restrained to free themselves while others expressly allow allies to free them or to assist.

I suggest that allies be explicitly allowed to free restrained creatures from both entangle and web.

Spells that provide an explicit mechanic for allies to free those restrained: Ensnaring strike (1st), Snare (1st)

Spells that allow one to free oneself on an ability check rather than a save: Entangle (1st), Maximilian’s Earthen Grasp (2nd), Web (2nd)

Spells that require those restrained to free themselves without assistance: Evard’s Black Tentacles (4th), Flesh to Stone (6th), Imprisonment (9th), Mental Prison (6th), Prismatic Spray (7th), Prismatic Wall (9th), Telekinesis (5th), Watery Sphere (4th), Whirlwind (7th level), Wrath of Nature (5th)

The problem I have with the second category, those in which using the Help action is an option, is that it relegates the Help

The webbing of the giant spider monster permits allies to cut free those restrained – this seems like a good model for the web spell.

The net weapon allows allies to either pull one free or cut one free – this seems like a good model for the entangle spell.

Am I missing a balance issue, a design intent, or an errata?
Or am I correct that entangle and web should have been written like other first and second level spells to allow restrained creatures to be freed by allies?

A comment including any spells that restrain that I have missed would be appreciated as well.

Does Tandem Tactician allow helping two specific allies?

The recently released UA includes the feat Tandem Tactition which reads:

Your presence in a scrap tends to elevate your comrades. You gain the following benefits:

  • You can use the Help action as a bonus action.
  • When you use the Help action to aid an ally in attacking a creature, increase the range of the Help action by 10 feet. Additionally, you can help two allies targeting the same creature within range when you use the Help action this way.

My understanding was that when the Help action was used to grant an ally advantage it was the next ally to attack the distracted enemy. The wording of Tandem Tactician clearly runs counter to this but my question is whether you can, using Tandem Tactician, choose the specific allies that get advantage from the help action (bonus action).

For a specific example:

Gerald is a fighter with Tandem Tactician. Gurt is a rogue, Wilhelmina is a wizard, and Sarsaparilla is a monk. They are all fighting Tiamat.

  • Gerald attacks Tiamat and uses Help as a bonus action attempting to aid Gurt and Sarsaparilla in attacking Tiamat.
  • Wilhelmina casts Firebolt to attack Tiamat
  • Gurt fires her longbow to attack Tiamat
  • Sarsaparilla kicks to attack Tiamat

Which characters have advantage on their first attacks assuming no other sources of advantage are applicable?

These questions relate to this issue with the Help action in general:
Do I choose the target or the ally for the Help action?
Can I Specify who the Help Action helps?

Can charmed foes be considered “allies”?

I’m researching specifically the Arcana Domain cleric feature, Spell Breaker (SCAG, p. 126):

Starting at 6th level, when you restore hit points to an ally with a spell of 1st level or higher, you can also end one spell of your choice on that creature. The level of the spell you end must be equal to or lower than the level of the spell slot you use to cast the healing spell.

If I charm an enemy and then cast a healing spell on them, would I be able to remove a beneficial spell on them (like crown of stars or stoneskin)?

There may be a circumstance where I didn’t prepare dispel magic or have a level 3 spell slot to use for it, so I’d like to know what my options are.

If a charmed enemy is considered an ally, please include whether that extends to enemies charmed not by you, but by your allies as well.

What happens when allies occupy the same space?

According to “Moving Around Other Creatures” (PH p. 191 / SRD p. 92):

You can move through a nonhostile creature’s space. […] another creature’s space is difficult terrain for you. Whether a creature is a friend or an enemy, you can’t willingly end your move in its space.

So it’s possible for Alice to move into an ally’s space, attack from there, then move out, the only penalty being that the ally’s space counts as difficult terrain to enter.

If an enemy adjacent to the ally’s space has readied a grapple against Alice and is successful, then Alice (unwillingly) ends her move in her ally’s space.

Do allied characters in the same space suffer any negative effect?

Now the rest of Alice’s allies do the same thing.

Is there a limit to the number of characters that can be stacked on a space?

What if Alice’s ally was the one with the readied grapple?

Can you stack an ally on your space by readying a grapple to prevent them from leaving?