What kind of terrain is allowed for Mirage Arcane?

The spell mirage arcane is problematic in that much is left undefined, or unclear. It is a 7th level spell, so its powers are unexpectedly great. Nonetheless, there must be some limitations to the spell. I’m specifically interested in the type of terrain that the local one can be changed to.

Jeremy Crawford once unofficially tweeted that targets could drown in an imaginary lake, or fall off an imaginary cliff, so we can assume that spawning a lake in the middle of nowhere isn’t too far-fetched.

The mirage arcane spell gives you tremendous latitude in how you make the affected terrain look and feel. The altered terrain can even hurt someone. You could drown in the spell’s illusory lake, for example, or fall off an illusory cliff.

1. Can extraplanar terrain be used? Places like the Elemental Plane of Fire are inherently dangerous to humans. Could you use Mirage Arcane to summon typical terrain from that plane, like a sea of fire (for example)?

2. Do acid lakes, toxic bogs, and active volcano calderas count as terrain? I’m inclined to say that if one can drown in an illusory lake, then surely one can melt in an illusory acid lake. The toxic bog though, it’s more debatable if its terrain components are the deadly ones. And I’m not sure if a big lake of lava is terrain.

3. Does the allowed terrain depend on location? Perhaps summoning a lake of lava in the middle of a calm meadow is a bit extreme (then again, perhaps not for a 7th level spell). However, surely if one were to use this spell in a volcanic landscape, then it would be appropriate?

The DM allowed me to wield two shields, how can I get the most AC and HP, as a Bear Barbarian?

I’m making new character, a level 5 Lizardfolk using two spiked shields. I want to build him as a wall of HP and AC but not sure how best to do this.

So i’m thinking of being a Bear Totem Barbarian until level 5 then maybe going Fighter to level 3 so I can get Battle Master for some battle field control. With more Fighter levels I can get more ASI/feats: Sentinel and Dual Wielding and Tough. The party already has a Wolf Barbarian so some fighter levels may bring something new to the table

At level 5 my stats will be including the lv 4 ASI.

  • STR – 18
  • DEX – 16
  • CON – 20
  • INT – 12
  • WIS – 16
  • CHA – 13

The DM is letting me stack the AC and have proficiency to attack with shields and they count as light weapons.

I’m looking to build out to level 15+, avoiding magical classes, focusing primarily on defense with damage and control as secondary objectives.

Is an Adventurers League DM allowed to adjust an encounter to max out the combat XP reward?

I DM an AL group of four. They agree to create new level 1 characters (they are experienced), but ask me to adjust the combat to give maximum possible XP in an adventure, in case they miss out the non-combat XP reward, so they can advance more quickly.

The easiest to do this is by increasing the number of enemies, especially the less threatening ones, like kobolds, zombies, etc.

I try to search AL DMG and found this part (emphasis mine):

You can also adjust the adventure on the fly, beyond the guidelines given in the adventure, or make other changes as you see fit in order to insure your players have a good time.

AL FAQ (emphasis mine):

Sometimes characters fall behind the adventure’s expected level. In these situations, there are two main methods of supplementing character experience. […]

Random Encounters. You can’t grant players roleplaying experience to make up the deficit; however, they may add random encounters as needed (assuming the adventure provides a list of random encounters). See below for more guidance on random encounters.

[…]

The FAQ states that to give more XP to players, you can only use two methods, one of them is giving random encounter, if the adventure has a list of random of encounter.

This makes me think that adding more enemies (or changing the enemies with more XP ones) for the sole reason of guaranteeing maximum XP for each adventure is not in line with the spirit of AL, and wondering if this is ever within the bounds of AL DM “empowered to alter an encounter”.

Is giving more enemies than the guidelines (for very strong) or changing the types, for the reason to guarantee max XP, allowed for an AL DM?

Relevant: What are Adventurers League DMs empowered to do for encounter scaling purposes?

Is it allowed to store 8-digit BINs outside of CDE

If I store 8-digit BINs and truncated (6/4) PANs separately outside of my CDE, do I remain PCI compliant?

Truncated PANs are no more than the first 6 and last 4 digits of PAN, compliant to the standard’s section 3.4, but it only says:

The intent of truncation is to permanently remove a segment of PAN data so that only a portion of the PAN is stored.

from which I am not sure if it’s still allowed to have the first 8 digits separately, for other purposes, let’s say, to maintain a mapping from BIN to bank name.

Current standard: https://www.pcisecuritystandards.org/documents/PCI_DSS_v3-2-1.pdf

I checked related Q&As, none of which mentions 8-digits:

  • Storing last 6 digits of payment card vs 4 digits
  • Minimum requirements for storing last 4 digits of credit card number?
  • Is PCI-DSS compliance required for non-credit card payment source?
  • Creditcard store first six digits PCI reference
  • PCI Compliance requirement when storing card data on user's device
  • Does transmitting first 6 and last 4 digits of the card number and expire date require PCI DSS compliance?

Is DM allowed to fudge dice in Adventurer League play?


You’re Empowered. Make decisions about how the group interacts with the adventure; adjusting or improvising is encouraged, so long as you maintain the adventure’s spirit. This doesn’t allow you to implement house rules or change those of the D&D Adventurers League, however; they should be consistent in this regard. AL DMG, pg. 5

Does this mean the DM may fudge a success/fail ability check/attack roll/saving throw?

Usually I’d say yes, but then if a PC is failing his death saves three times, and the DM say that he counts that as save/neutral, I feel a little bit uncomfortable.

Are you allowed to stack Divine Smite and Eldritch Smite on the same attack?

The specific example I’m looking at here is: you are a Paladin 2/Warlock 5 and snagged Eldritch Smite from XGTE as your 5th level Warlock Invocation.

This gives you access to both…

Divine Smite

Starting at 2nd level, when you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack, you can expend one spell slot to deal radiant damage to the target, in addition to the weapon’s damage. The extra damage is 2d8 for a 1st-level spell slot, plus 1d8 for each spell level higher than 1st, to a maximum of 5d8. The damage increases by 1d8 if the target is an undead or a fiend.

and

Eldritch Smite

Prerequisite: 5th level, Pact of the Blade feature

Once per turn when you hit a creature with your pact weapon, you can expend a warlock spell slot to deal an extra 1d8 force damage to the target, plus another 1d8 per level of the spell slot, and you can knock the target prone if it is Huge or smaller.

When I hit a target with an attack, can I set them both off at the same time, letting me burn two spell slots to use both features to boost my damage?

As was specified here, Divine Smite is not treated as a spellcasting, so it doesn’t count towards the ‘One Spell Per Round’ rule. Presumably, neither would Eldritch Smite.

As far as I can tell, this appears to be a legal way to burn a ton of resources at once to generate a massive burst of damage. Am I correct? Can these two like-features be used simultaneously?

Are Characters in 5e allowed to buy Items with their Background Gold? [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • Choosing equipment options at character creation 2 answers

Assuming I have a new character that chooses starting equipment instead of rolling for gold and buying items. Can I exchange some of the gold I got from the background for additional gear from the “Adventuring Gear” Table?

What is allowed to be an Arcane focus?

Reading the PHB chapter 5 equipment pg. 151. It describes an arcane focus as such:

Arcane Focus. An arcane focus is a special item — an orb, a crystal, a rod, a specially constructed staff, a wand like length of wood, or some similar item — designed to channel the power of arcane spells. A sorcerer, warlock, or wizard can use such an item as a spellcasting focus, as described in chapter 10.

Now I have been coming up with a dwarven war mage character concept, and was curious to know would it be allowed to have an arcane focus as warhammer?

Why is JavaScript executed manually from the browser console not allowed to access everything?

Why is JavaScripts executed manually from the browser console not allowed to access “everything”? Especially the “visited” status (see this question) of links? What kind of security threat would that pose?

Usually, users have full access to their environment, sometimes with a little bump in the form of entering the root password or similar. Why is this an exception?

(I am not saying that scripts downloaded from a web page should have this access. I understand why that is a threat to the user’s privacy etc.)

[ Renting & Real Estate ] Open Question : Is my landlord allowed to charge me for removing bloodstained bedding that isn’t mine?

Hi guys, I recently moved into a shared accommodation, and I asked the staff showing me around if they could remove the bed as I would rather bring my own. She said no, as that would mean the room would be left ‘part furnished’ instead of fully furnished. After moving in, I noticed the bedbase (not mattress) is covered in urine and bloodstains. I contacted the lettings to ask if they would at least let me swap the bed for another unoccupied room within the household. The landlord agreed under the condition that I dismantle and reassemble both beds. I agreed.  I swapped, but I was unable to fully dismantle the bloodstained bedbase, and another tenant also offered his help, it turns out we need specific screws to remove the wheels which was the part causing problems moving the bed, there wasn’t enough space to work with. I also found a syringe within the base as it’s torn. Point being, without being able to dismantle this very old fashioned and wrecked bedbase, I could only push it into the opposite and closest unoccupied room (but not the room I swapped the bed with). Fast forward, the landlord is now sending contractors out to put this biohazardous bed into the room it now belongs in the floor below. But he is charging me to move the bed to the floor below. Is he allowed to charge me for this? I asked them to remove the bed before I moved in. I did not cause the stains. The bedbase could put me at risk, and future tenants. Can I get some advice please. (UK tenant).