Transmutation, polymorph, wild shape, and alternate form

The Pathfinder rules are quite clear on what happens when you combine polymorph effects with size-changing effects. Namely, the size-changing effects do not function while a character is under the effects of a polymorph effect. But what about other transmutations that change a character’s physical form?

Examples: Brand, Countless Eyes, etc.

I can see this working in two ways:

  1. If a character is targeted by a transmutation effect, then a polymorph effect, the polymorph effect overrides the transmutation effect. But, if the polymorph effect is first, then the transmutation effect functions normally (by transmutation effect, I am referring to non-size-altering effects.)
  2. Both polymorph effects and transmutation effects alter the base creature, so the order in which spells are cast does not matter, as both are affecting the base creature, not the modified creature.

There is also the possibility that the transmutation effect simply does not function at all while a character is under the effects of a polymorph effect, but I have not seen evidence of that in the rules (where size-alterations are the only specifically mentioned effects that do not function).

Examples:

A druid is the target of a Greater Brand. This spell specifically states that it cannot be removed, even temporarily, unless a Mark of Justice could be removed the same way. This spell might be a specific example that says that in this case, the spell functions even under the effects of a polymorph effect. So, when the druid wild shapes, the brand would still be visible.

But, what about a regular brand spell (not greater)? Would that remain during the effects of a wild shape?

What about Countless Eyes? The druid is covered in eyes, and then wild shapes. Are they now an animal that is covered in eyes? Or does the wild shape override that effect? If they are wild shaped, and they (or someone else) casts Countless Eyes on them, does the spell function normally?

Basically, I am wondering if order of spellcasting matters.

Does ‘Wild’ armour work for Alternate Form?

Could a creature that doesn’t have Wild Shape, but -does- have Alternate Form (Such as a Dragon) use armour with the “wild” property to be able to use this armour in all their forms?

In the question Preventing gear loss while using Change Shape?, one of the answers seemed to suggest so. However, Wild Armour specifically mentions Wild Shape, not Alternate Form. Furthermore, while Wild Shape works “like Alternate Form except where mentioned”, the same is not necesarily true the other way around.

If this does not work, then what other way might there be for a creature with Alternate Form to wear their armour in every shape they can take?

Does the effects of a failed save versus disease or poison carry over into an alternate form?

Most diseases (mundane or magical) and poison deal ability damage upon a failed save after the incubation time.

Once the damage takes place, does the negative effects of a failed save versus disease or poison carry over into an alternate form?

This question is only asking about alternate forms, not wildshape or polymorph.

How is the balance on my homebrew Sorcerer Origin (Wild Magic, alternate)?

I’ve made a homebrew on the “Wild Magic” sorcerer, with less focus on “unpredictable” effects and more focus on “sudden floods of raw magic power”. I would appreciate any constructive feedback. Much of the flavor text stayed from the original phb Wild Magic.

Sorcerous Origin

Different sorcerers claim different origins for their innate magic. Although many variations exist, most of these origins fall into two categories: a draconic bloodline and wild magic.

Wild Magic (alternate)

Your innate magic comes from the wild forces of chaos that underlie the order of creation. You might have endured exposure to some form of raw magic, perhaps through a planar portal leading to Limbo, the Elemental Planes, or the mysterious Far Realm. Perhaps you were blessed by a powerful fey creature or marked by a demon. Or your magic could be a fluke of your birth, with no apparent cause or reason. However it came to be, this chaotic magic churns within you, waiting for any outlet.

Wild Magic Surge

Starting when you choose this origin at 1st level, your spellcasting can unleash surges of dangerous untamed magic.

When you cast a sorcerer spell of 1st level or higher, roll an additional d6. You take damage equal to your proficiency bonus unless you spend one sorcery point to prevent it. On a 6, give yourself advantage if you are making a spell attack roll, or disadvantage on the targets’ saving throws. If neither of those can apply, double the duration of the spell’s effects.

Chaotic Synergy

Starting at 6th level, your innate connection to magic itself allows you to sense its chaos in the air when a spell has been cast. The spell’s residue lingers in a 30 foot radius for 1 hour per spell level.

When you are within an area that has this residue, your spell attack rolls can critically hit on both a 19 and 20 and your Spell Save DC is 1 higher than it otherwise would be. This effect can only apply once per turn.

Controlled Chaos

At 14th level, you gain a modicum of control over the surges of your wild magic. Whenever you roll your Wild Magic Surge, you may roll any number of d6 instead of just one. You take damage for each d6 rolled, and may spend one sorcery point to prevent damage from each die separately

When you see another creature within 30 feet of you casting a spell, you may apply your Wild Magic Surge to their spell as a reaction. You still take any relevant damage for this surge.

Spell Bombardment

Beginnning at 18th level, the harmful energy of your spells intensifies. When you roll damage for a spell and roll the highest number possible on any of the dice, choose one of those dice, roll it again and add that roll to the damage. You can use this feature once per turn.

Note that currently I am reaching the conclusion that the damage should only happen and be preventable if a ‘6’ is rolled on a surge, and that the surge should be explicitly stated so that the “duration’ cannot be stacked. Let me know what you think about these changes.

What happens to injuries/etc. if a creature uses alternate form/change shape?

Say you’re in one form and get a haircut and a tattoo, and then you get a scratch, break your femur, and lose your arm.

If you have a specific alternate form or can change shape into a specific appearance, then the detached arm on the ground stays the same, but do you regrow an arm on your shoulder because that’s what your current specified form originally had? But then if after ten years you change back to your previous (younger-looking, maybe?) form, then is the still missing and actively bleeding and hasn’t healed at all? What about the other examples?

Can non-lycanthropes with specific alternate forms appear as hybrids?

Say a succubus from Savage Species chooses to look like a country’s queen as her alternate form. But she also wants to use her demonic claws and wings. Can she just take the queen’s appearance as her alternate form, then assume a “hybrid” appearance (the queen, but with claws; or the queen, but with wings) or would doing so require taking three separate alternate forms?

With a USB Type-C port, can you switch DisplayPort or HDMI Alternate Mode back to USB after using an adapter? [on hold]

USB Type-C itself is just a connector, and it supports DisplayPort Alternate Mode, as well as HDMI Alternate Mode, depending on the manufacturer.

Does this at all mean that if you’re using a DisplayPort or HDMI adapter in your USB Type-C, e.g., on a MacBook Air, then the monitor’s side itself could switch back from the Alternate Mode of DisplayPort or HDMI back to the plain-old USB?

Can an alternate Effect have the Reaction extra?

I’ve been playing around with making a Kung-Fu master for some time in Mutants and Masterminds, and I’m nearly done. However, I’m not sure if I constructed their attacks correctly. The image that I had in my head was that he’d be able to smack people upside the head if they failed to hit him, while also being able to hit with devastating effect if he was able to concentrate on where he hit.

This was what I came up with:

Multi Attack Damage 5 -linked- Weaken(Fighting[Fort Save]) 10 -Linked- Affliction(Fort Save) 5

Alternate

Reaction, Multi Attack Damage 5

Is this correct? If it is, how does the power function?