What is the initiative of the objects animated by the Animate Objects spell?

The Animate Objects spell indicates that the objects act on their turn, but it doesn’t explicitly state what their initiative is. Are they supposed to roll initiative using their Dex modifiers (either individually or with their size class)? This would be as in the Find Familiar spell:

In combat, it rolls its own initiative and acts on its own turn.

Or do they act immediately after the caster? This would be as in the Summon Beast spell:

In combat, the creature shares your initiative count, but it takes its turn immediately after yours.

Or does this simply require a decision by the DM?

How much XP does a monster created by Animate Objects add to an encounter?

I am making a boss fight. The boss can cast animate objects, a spell that can animate statues.

The spell gives information for, eg., 1 Large Construct:

Large – HP: 50, AC: 10, Attack: +6 to hit, 2d10 + 2 damage, Str: 14, Dex: 10

How much XP should I award for this Large construct?

I’m estimating CR1 (200XP) each.

Animate Dead and Skeleton Archers

On the skeleton template page, it lists a "Skeleton Archer" Template. This is a CR+0 template.

Skeleton (Medium Archer): While not as intelligent or skilled as skeletal champions, skeletal archers are nevertheless a welcome addition to any undead army. Skeletal archers gain Point-Blank Shot and Precise Shot as bonus feats. (CR +0)

Assuming that any template could be selected from that list, should a template like this cost extra HD for the purpose of animate dead? If so, how much extra would be appropriate? Would a 2x multiplier be appropriate for this?

Can undead created by Animate Dead use magic wands?

One of my players learned the Animate Dead spell. He asked me if he could equip his zombies and skeletons with weapons (Which is possible) or wands.

I’m pretty sure that undead can’t use any magic item that requires attunement as there is no mentioning of skeletons/zombies being able to attune to magic items, but I’m not sure wether they can use wands or other magic items that don’t require attunement.

In the description of the skeleton in the MM it states

Obedient Servants … A skeleton can fight with weapons and wear armor, can load and fire a catapult or trebuchet, scale a siege ladder, form a shield wall, or dump boiling oil. However, it must receive careful instructions explaining how such tasks are accomplished. …

The description of the zombie states:

Mindless Soldiers … A zombie armed with a weapon uses it, but the zombie won’t retrieve a dropped weapon or other tool until told to do so.

Based on this I’d deduce that those undead can only fight using weapons and not magic wands. On the other hand I didn’t find anything that explicitly states that it’s not possible.

Is there any other source that explicitly states that it’s possible/not possible

Animate Dead in a zone affected by Hallow?

The hallow spell prevents undead from entering a certain area:

First, celestials, elementals, fey, fiends, and undead can’t enter the area, nor can such creatures charm, frighten, or possess creatures within it. Any creature charmed, frightened, or possessed by such a creature is no longer charmed, frightened, or possessed upon entering the area. You can exclude one or more of those types of creatures from this effect.

In addition, it has an optional effect to prevent dead bodies interred within from becoming undead:

Everlasting Rest. Dead bodies interred in the area can’t be turned into undead.

Assuming the caster of hallow did not select the Everlasting Rest option, if a character casts animate dead on a corpse within a hallow zone, what happens to the resulting zombie or skeleton?

What size category are weapons if brought to life with the “Animate Objects” Spell?

A wizard at my table wants to use weapons (greatswords) for his Animate Objects spell. Do i take the weapons base damage and match it with the table of Animate Objects (2D6 making them Medium), or are there any rules i may have missed pertaining to the object-size of weapons?

Any clarification, or your own interpretation (if its up to DM’s) would be most welcome.

EDIT: After all your great informative input, I’m going with the following:

  • Weapons weighing 1 lb. or less as Tiny (daggers, darts and ammunition)
  • Heavy Weapons as Medium (glaive, greataxe, greatsword, halbert, maul, pike and h-crossbow)
  • All other Weapons as Small (unless indicated otherwise, oversized for example)

Petrification and Animate object; Can you animate a petrified person? [duplicate]

I had a friend of mine asked me if someone could animate a creature that a gorgon or basilisk had turned to stone, and I couldn’t answer.

The Petrified status has one of the following as part of its rules.

A petrified creature is transformed, along with any nonmagical object it is wearing or carrying, into a solid inanimate substance (usually stone). Its weight increases by a factor of ten, and it ceases aging.

So, due to petrification, they are transferred into a solid, inanimate substance. Would that mean that a spell like animate object would be able to temporarily animate a petrified individual? Or does Petrification count as a magical condition and thus animate object cannot be used on the petrified individual? RAW, I’m guessing it can’t be used as the Petrified individual is still considered a creature.

Even without animate object, would you still be able to animate a petrified creature without removing the petrified status, or is it just impossible to animate petrified creatures?

Animate ellipse drawing

$ (x/3)^2+(y/5)^2=1$ , $ x=3\sin[t]$ , $ y=5 \cos[t]$

I want to draw a phase trajectory with time-lapse using manipulate or animate.

Manipulate[ParametricPlot[(x/3)^2 + (p/5)^2 == 1, {x, -3, 3}, {p, -5, 5}], {t, 0, 10}] I tried this code. It is not working. What is the proper version?