Planning to use 1 arrow to hit a second target if it misses the first target

I’ve read a lot about “shooting the other enemy” and how enemies don’t occupy the entire 5ft square; however what I can’t find is the following scenario:

two orcs one arrow

I intentionally position my character to have a straight line with two enemies. I’m aiming for the first one but in case it misses I want my arrow to continue and possibly hit the next enemy. My understanding is that I can miss for 2 reasons.

  1. I shoot slightly wrong direction
  2. I shoot correctly but the enemy dodges.

It is the situation (2) that I want to take advantage of and basically roll again fo the second enemy, perhaps even with advantage since it didn’t expect to be shot. Would you allow this? What would you ask to roll?

Would it be better to target a rider or mount with a banishing arrow?

I’ve an arcane archer character who chose the banishing arrow feature.

In our campaign we often come across hobgoblins riding worgs.

If I wanted to really put a thorn in the side of the enemy, when the mount and rider are charging into combat, would it be better to target the rider or the mount with a banishing arrow?

Is one strategy optimal over the other?

What happens if a banishing arrow hits a mounted combatant?

I’ve an arcane archer character who chose the banishing arrow feature.

In our campaign we often come across hobgoblins riding worgs.

I’m having trouble interpreting what will happen if I banish the hobgoblin.

If I wanted to really put a thorn in the side of the enemy, when the mount and rider are charging into combat, would it be better to target the rider or the mount with a banishing arrow?

Is There a way to add an Arrow to Google CSE Refinements via the Mobile Search Layout?

EDIT: This has to do with Google CSE on my WordPress site. If this is not the correct forum, I apologize.

I was just wondering if there was a way to add an arrow or something indicating that mobile users can swipe through the refinement labels via Google CSE? I am not sure how most people know to swipe through them so it could be overlooked.

Thanks and regards,

Josh

What arrow is needed for Curving Shot? [duplicate]

Arcane Archer on XGtE pg. 28

Magic Arrow: At 7th level, you gain the ability to infuse arrows with magic. Whenever you fire a nonmagical arrow from a shortbow or longbow, you can make it magical for the purpose of overcoming resistance and immunity to nonmagical attacks and damage. The magic fades from the arrow immediately after it hits or misses its target.

Curving Shot: At 7th level, you learn to direct an errant arrow toward a new target. When you make an attack roll with a magic arrow and miss, you can use a bonus action to reroll the attack roll against a different target within 60 feet of the original target.

When using Curving Shot do you need an actual permanent magic arrow (such as a +2 arrow) or does it mean an arrow from the Magic Arrow feature or either?

Damage of duration spells (like acid arrow) on critical hits?

During the planning process of a new character I came across the following question.

What is the damage when you get a critical hit with acid arrow?

Lets take a look at acid arrow cast at CL3, and lets assume we confirm the critical hit. This means we have the initial damage, plus one round.

I haven’t found anywhere which disagrees with the damage from the initial hit benefiting from the critical multiplier. Its an attack spell that requires an attack roll after all, and is not precision damage.

What seems to be in question is the damage of the following round. Is it 2d4 or 4d4 each following round?

If we look at other spells that require an attack roll, lets take shocking grasp cast at CL3. On a regular hit it deals 3d6, but when you crit it deals 6d6. At its highest it would be 5d6 to 10d6.

So why would a lower level spell be allowed to out damage a higher level spell? Yes the higher level spell can eventually deal more damage, but that can also be negated, and takes longer to build up.

The critical hit rules are fairly silent about this as they simply state spells can crit and that damage is doubled. Thats fine for instantaneous spells like shocking grasp, but it leaves out duration spells.

A spell that requires an attack roll can score a critical hit. A spell attack that requires no attack roll cannot score a critical hit. If a spell causes ability damage or drain (see Special Abilities), the damage or drain is doubled on a critical hit.

This question is much the same but is for a 5th.

There was a form about this topic but it doesn’t answer the question well.

Does the Arcane Archer’s Piercing Arrow pass through Walls of Force and Forcecages?

The following is within the scope of Dnd Adventurers League play.

The Arcane Archer martial archetype of Xanathar’s Guide to Everything alllows you to select the “Piercing Arrow” Arcane Shot option :

You use transmutation magic to give your arrow an ethereal quality. When you use this option, you don’t make an attack roll for the attack. Instead, the arrow shoots forward in a line, which is 1 foot wide and 30 feet long, before disappearing. The arrow passes harmlessly through objects, ignoring cover. Each creature in that line must make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, a creature takes damage as if it were hit by the arrow, plus an extra 1d6 piercing damage. On a successful save, a target takes half as much damage.

The Forcecage spell (box option) says :

[…] A prison in the shape of a box can be up to 10 feet on a side, creating a solid barrier that prevents any matter from passing through it and blocking any spells cast into or out from the area. […] The cage also extends into the Ethereal Plane, blocking ethereal travel.

The Wall of Force spell says :

Nothing can physically pass through the wall. The wall extends into the Ethereal Plane, blocking ethereal travel through the wall.

Does the Arcane Archer’s Piercing Arrow pass through Walls of Force and Forcecages (box option) ?

It seems to be a situation in the likes of “unstoppable force meeting unmovable obstacle”. It says it ignores cover, which those 2 spells provide, but its flavor text mentions an ethereal quality, which may or may not be relevant (since the spells normally block ethereal travel). I don’t know if the right answer is “it works”, “it doesn’t work”, or “DM Discretion”.

Would I still be able to cast conjure barrage if I was also using flame arrow?

Conjure barrage specifies that the ammunition used to cast it must be non magical but I can’t find anywhere if an arrow under the effect of flame arrow is considered magical or not.

What I mean by that is, is the arrow in and of itself magical or does flame arrow just set it on fire as it’s launched as though it had been warped in cloth soaked in oil and lit (but without those steps)?

Would I still be able to use it as a medium to cast the conjure barrage spell or would I not be able to cast that till I lost concentration on flame arrow/the spell ran its course and if not would the effects stack?