DnD 5e Artificer Armor plus Boots/Gloves/Helmet/Belt/etc

The wording of "Arcane Armor" includes this phrase: "[The armor] also expands to cover your entire body, although you can retract or deploy the helmet […]"

At level 9 you gain "Armor Modifications", which allows you to infuse multiple parts of the armor (chest, boots, helmet, and weapon).

  • So, before I get to level 9, can I wear magical boots and/or gloves? Or does my armor cover my hands and feet in such a way that I can’t? Same for a magical helmet: can I wear one while my Arcane Armor helmet is retracted?

  • After I reach level 9, can I infuse (or find) a pair of gloves and put them on? Gloves aren’t in the list of separate infusable Armor parts. Can I find a pair of boots that aren’t infusions and wear them?

I am assuming that when my armor covers my entire body, that’s just for flavor, rather than a way to prevent me from being too awesome, and that the separate infusable parts are more for convenience … but you never know.

Thanks!

Can an Armorer Artificer wearing Guardian-model Arcane Armor cast a somatic spell without holding tools or having the Warcaster feat?

The Guardian model described in the Arcane Armor feature of the Armorer Artificer includes "Thunder Gauntlets":

Each of the armor’s gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon while you aren’t holding anything in it…

If the Artificer holds tools for a material component of a spell, the description above doesn’t apply. However, if the armor itself is used as the focus (assuming it’s an Infused Item), the Artificer is effectively holding a weapon in each hand.

To deal with this, must the Artificer have taken the Warcaster feat (to allow performing the somatic component of a spell while holding a weapon)? Or can the Thunder Gauntlets be considered "sheathed" when not attacking with them?

(Note: All Artificer spellcasting requires a material component, so performing a somatic-only spell is not an concern.)

Which Artificer Infusions are appropriate for the Armorer’s Arcane Armor’s special weapon?

At 9th level, the Armorer Artificer (from Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything) gains the "Armor Modifications" feature :

You learn how to use your artificer infusions to specially modify your Arcane Armor. That armor now counts as separate items for the purposes of your Infuse Items feature: armor (the chest piece), boots, helmet, and the armor’s special weapon. Each of those items can bear one of your infusions, and the infusions transfer over if you change your armor’s model with the Armor Model feature. In addition, the maximum number of items you can infuse at once increases by 2, but those extra items must be part of your Arcane Armor.

This special weapon is called ‘Thunder Gauntlets’ (a simple melee weapon) for the ‘Guardian’ Armor Model, and ‘Lightning Launcher’ (a simple ranged weapon) for the ‘Infiltrator’ Model.

But I am wondering which Artificer Infusions are appropriate for this special weapon ? Is it only the ‘Enhanced Weapon’ and ‘Radiant Weapon’ infusions, or are there others ?

Artificer Eldritch Cannon Protector temp hit points and Wildshape

I’m trying to understand how wild shape interacts with the temp hit points provided by eldritch cannon’s protector feature.

Here is the scenario:

  1. Artificer puts out eldritch cannon and gives temp hit points to the party
  2. Druid wild shapes
  3. Druid takes damage
  4. Artifcer re-applies temp hit points in the next round

My question is more or less order of operations with hit points. Does the druid wild shape carry those hit points and we remove that damage first? In this scenario every time the artificer applies temp hit points it buffs the wild shape form and allows for the druid to stay in wild shape much longer.

Or do we exhaust the wild shape hit points first and apply the temp hit points to the druid’s form that will be waiting for them after the druid breaks wild shape.

Essentially I need to know if temp hit points provided by the artificer allows for the druid to stay in wild shape longer.

Does the alchemist artificer casting cure wounds through his spell storing feature benefit from the alchemical savant feature? [duplicate]

Related: Does casting a spell from an item allow you to apply class abilities that are used when casting a spell?

Alchemical Savant reads:

You develop masterful command of magical chemicals, enhancing the healing and damage you create through them. Whenever you cast a spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the spellcasting focus, you gain a bonus to one roll of the spell. That roll must restore hit points or be a damage roll that deals acid, fire, necrotic, or poison damage, and the bonus equals your Intelligence modifier (minimum of +1).

Spell-Storing Item reads:

At 11th level, you learn how to store a spell in an object. Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one simple or martial weapon or one item that you can use as a spellcasting focus, and you store a spell in it, choosing a 1st- or 2nd-level spell from the artificer spell list that requires 1 action to cast (you needn’t have it prepared).

While holding the object, a creature can take an action to produce the spell’s effect from it, using your spellcasting ability modifier. If the spell requires concentration, the creature must concentrate. The spell stays in the object until it’s been used a number of times equal to twice your Intelligence modifier (minimum of twice) or until you use this feature again to store a spell in an object.

So does a cure wounds cast using the spell-storing feature, and using the alchemist’s supplies to store the spell, benefit from alchemical savant? I think to answer this question a few sub questions need to be answered:

Does producing the spell’s effect from the spell-storing item count as casting a spell? Because casting the spell is requisite for the alchemical savant feature to take effect.

Another requirement for benefiting from alchemical savant is that you cast the spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the spellcasting focus. In spell-storing item’s case, you would be casting the spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the ‘spellcasting focus used to store the spell’, according to the requirements set forth by the spell-storing item feature. However, does alchemical savant require that you cast the spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the ‘spellcasting focus used in place of material components’? because being cast from an item means that there are no material components.

Some magic items allow you to cast a spell from the item. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell level, doesn’t expend any spell slots, and requires no components, unless the item’s description says otherwise.

When can an Artificer use ‘Infuse Item’?

While exploring Waterdeep: The Dungeon of the Mad Mage, the party has encountered a few monsters that are resistant to non-magical weapons. The Artificer wants to Infuse the Barbarian’s great sword to make them more effective at tanking. It is about two hours since the party finished a long rest, and the Artificer has not used their Infuse an Item ability in several days.

The somewhat ambiguous text in question from the Artificer class is:

Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a non-magical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item.

I see two ways to read this:

  • Whenever means ‘at any time after’ you finish a long rest
  • Whenever means ‘immediately after’

Which would be a correct RAW interpretation, and why?

This question goes over a bunch of information about Artificers and their Infusions, but does not cover the ‘when’ answer I seek.

Assuming all other factors have been met to allow this Infusion, When can an Artificer use ‘Infuse an Item’?

Can an artificer cannon move through a creatures space? [closed]

Okay so a tiny cannon does not occupy a space, so in my eyes it can move through the legs of creatures, right? Given there is actual space there. Like a rat would do. I suppose the cannon is 0.5 – 1 feet?

Last session we ruled that it could move through the legs, I had to move it through the 4 square occupying bear druid. But my GM said it could not attack while being in someones space, so I had to actually move it through the bear, over to me, then pick it up, let it attack while I held it then put it back down again. But what difference does it really make? It would be more fun if it had some creative flexibility, like it could climb the bear druid and attack from it’s shoulders. It got crowded in melee range and it is tiny, so I don’t really see why it has to be in it’s own space or in my had to attack.

Does an artificer require two hands to cast spells with a costly material component?

An artificer must use an appropriate spellcasting focus when casting artificer spells. And they must use costly material components when applicable. Neither can replace the other.

But can they handle their focus and costly material components with the same hand? I know of spells that contain more than one material component, such as Simulacrum involving both snow and powdered rubies. I am not sure whether that applies when there is both a focus and a material component in use.

Does an artificer require two hands to cast spells with a costly material component?

Can an artificer cast spells using a single component from a set of artisan’s tools?

Under Tools Required

You produce your artificer spell effects through your tools. You must have a spellcasting focus – specifically tinker’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool – in hand when you cast any spell with this Spellcasting feature. You must be proficient with the tool to use it in this way.

"Artisan’s tool" is singular. But it can refer to a set of objects.

For example:

Weaver’s tools include thread, needles, and scraps of cloth.

Weaver’s tools are an artisan’s tool but does an artificer proficient with them need to hold the needle, thread, and cloth in one hand to cast spells?

For example, the party has been striped of all their belongings but not their clothes. Can an artificer with proficiency in weaver’s tools tear off a scrap of their clothing and begin casting?

Can an artificer replicate the same magic item more than once?

Artificers can take the "Replace Magic Item" infusion more than once, each time choosing a magic item that they can make with it.

Can an Artificer take the "Replace Magic Item" infusion multiple times and select the same magic item with it, and thus create more than one copy of the same magic item?

For example, could a level 2 Artificer take "Replicate Magic Item: Bag of Holding" for 2 of its 4 known infusions, potentially creating 2 Bags of Holding at the same time?