Can I combine Martial Arts and Horde Breaker?

Can I use the martial arts feature on the second attack granted by horde breaker?

I.e., hit the first target with a weapon, use martial arts to unarmed strike, then use hoard breaker to jump to the second target and repeat?

I know I can’t use Horde Breaker multiple times, perhaps I was unclear in that. My question is, does Horde Breaker give me another full attack round thus allowing me to use Martial Arts again in that attack’s bonus round?

Ki-Fueled Attack Optional Feature Versus Martial Arts Feature

The Martial Arts feature allows for a bonus action unarmed strike after a main attack of an unarmed strike or a monk weapon attack. The Ki Fueled Attack feature allows for either an unarmed strike or a monk weapon attack after spending a ki point (such as on a stunning strike) as part of the action. Am I right in saying that the differences between the two are limited to the following?:

  1. Martial arts has to be an attack, Ki Fueled can provide for something else, such as a subclass feature.
  2. Martial arts only has an unarmed bonus attack, Ki Fueled attack can be a weapon attack.
  3. Both and/or either in any way only allow for 1 additional attack as a bonus action.

Does having natural weapons prevent a wild-shaped monk from using Martial Arts?

The monk’s Martial Arts feature’s benefits all require a monk to be “unarmed or only wielding monk weapons”. Even if you’re a Way of the Kensei monk, that only lets you add a couple of new simple or martial weapons to your monk weapon list.

The druid’s Wild Shape forms all come wielding natural weapon attacks. Natural attacks are not unarmed attacks, nor are they monk weapons, nor are they simple or martial weapons that can possibly be chosen by a kensei.

Therefore, a beast is never “unarmed”, and thus can never use a druid/monk’s martial arts benefits even if it wanted to choose to use unarmed strikes instead of its natural attacks.

Is this accurate? Or, can a beast choose not to “wield” it’s teeth and claws?

This blanket prohibition on Martial Arts when one has natural weapons seems overly-restrictive; it would mean, for example, that a Minotaur can never be a monk, since they are “never unarmed.”

I am explicitly not answering the (already answered and very obvious) question of whether animals can make unarmed attacks. I am asking whether they can ever choose not to “wield” their own natural weapons, so as to be able to use martial arts in the first place.

Does Martial Arts Damage Apply to Ranged Attacks with Monk Weapons?

Inspired by an answer to What is the Attack Roll for Deflect Missile?.

The Monk’s Martial Arts feature states that monk weapons are, “…short swords and any simple melee weapons that don’t have the two-handed or heavy property.” (emphasis mine)

For the purposes of my question, I am assuming a 17th level Monk, so that the Martial Arts damage die is 1d10.

My question is that when making a damage roll with a weapon that can be either melee or ranged, like a dagger, which damage die do I roll on a hit for a ranged attack? I am assuming this uses 1d4 because this isn’t a simple melee weapon anymore, but a simple ranged weapon based on the definitions for melee and ranged weapons as defined on page 146 of the PHB:

“A melee weapon is used to attack a target within 5 feet of you, whereas a ranged weapon is used to attack a target at a distance.” (emphasis from the PHB)

Does a monk get martial arts die damage on improvised thrown monk weapons?

The monk’s martial arts ability states:

Your practice of Martial Arts gives you mastery of Combat styles that use unarmed strikes and monk Weapons, which are shortswords and any simple Melee Weapons that don’t have the Two-Handed or heavy property.

I am specifically asking about a shortsword, which is a monk weapon by definition, but this question could apply to any monk weapon that does not have the thrown property.

The monk’s martial arts ability also states:

You gain the following benefits while you are unarmed or wielding only monk Weapons and you aren’t wearing armor or wielding a Shield… • You can roll a d4 in place of the normal damage of your Unarmed Strike or monk weapon.

I would be more comfortable if this said "You can roll the Martial Arts Damage Die shown in the Monk Level / Ability Progression Table" rather than "you can roll a d4", but the other questions I looked at in researching this took that as an assumption and no one challenged them, so…

The rules for using an improvised weapon state…

If a character uses a ranged weapon to make a melee Attack, or throws a melee weapon that does not have the thrown property, it also deals 1d4 damage.

Consider a monk wielding a shortsword and fitting all other requirements for using the martial arts ability.

The shortsword is a melee weapon that does not have the thrown property and has a base damage of d6.

If the monk throws the shortsword it would become an improvised weapon, and thus normally would deal d4 damage. However, in this case does specific beat general and allow the monk to replace the "normal damage" of an improvised weapon with the martial arts die damage, which would be d6 at 5th level?

Or, does the fact that the monk is throwing the shortsword as an improvised weapon disqualify it from being considered a monk weapon, in the same way that one cannot use proficiency for an improvised weapon attack because throwing a melee weapon without the thrown property is no longer a weapon with which one is proficient?

This question: Does Martial Arts Damage Apply to Ranged Attacks with Monk Weapons? affirms that monks get their martial arts die damage on ranged weapons, but the question only considers melee weapons that already possess the ranged property, not improvised weapons.

This question: Does using versatile weapons with 2 hands disqualify them as Monk weapons? affirms that monks get to use their martial arts feature on all monk weapons, even when they use them in ways that would disqualify them from being monk weapons (in this case, using a versatile weapon two-handed).

Somewhat related: Does a Monk's Martial Arts die replace all of a magic weapon's damage, or only the die portion of it?

In 5E World of Warcraft, does the Monk’s Superior Martial Arts allow one attack vs every enemy in the area of effect?

The Windwalker Monk’s ‘Superior Martial Arts’ states:

“As an action, you may spend 2 Ki and deal your unarmed damage as an area of effect (expending any number of attacks). You may choose to make it a 5-foot-burst around you (Hurricane Kick), a 10-foot cone (Fists of Fury), or a 15-foot line (Flying Serpent Kick).”

Does this mean the Monk makes a separate attack roll vs every target in the area of effect?

It also goes on to say:

“This action counts as if you made an unarmed attack strike for the purposes of your Martial Arts feature and Flurry of Blows ability.”

Does that mean no matter how many attack rolls you make during the Superior Martial Arts attack, it still counts as having made one attack (out of however many you might be entitled to as part of an Attack action) and you still get to make an Extra Attack (if you have it) plus the bonus unarmed strike from Martial Arts?

Will a Kensei’s martial arts die apply to a fighter’s dueling style longsword?

To be specific, I’m planning on taking the XGtE Kensei to 17 then dipping Battlemaster 3 for dueling and maneuvers. At 17, my martial arts die is a d10, and I can use my martial arts die with my kensei weapons. Does this mean I can get my longsword to a d10 and get the bonus from dueling if I wield it one handed?

Monk’s Martial Arts and Polearm Master

I have a problem with an interpretation of the outcome of a monk with the Polearm Master feat, wielding a quarterstaff.

  1. You can take the Attack action and attack with a quarterstaff using Dex instead of Str and dealing 1d4 (monk), 1d6 (normal) or 1d8 (versatile) damage.
  2. Then you can use a Bonus action and make an unarmed strike using Dex instead of Str, dealing 1d4 (monk) damage.
  3. Or you can use a Bonus action from from Polearm Master and make a weapon attack using Dex instead of Str, dealing 1d4 (polearm master) or 1d4 (monk) damage.

Note: Monk’s Martial Art damage goes higher with levels up to 1d10.

Am I right with my interpretation? Especially the part of using a monk’s damage die instead of the Polearm Master die. I don’t know which “die replacement” is more specific.

How many unarmed strikes can a Monk make between Flurry of Blows and Martial Arts?

The Flurry of Blows class feature allows the character to spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action.

Is this in addition to the bonus unarmed strike that monks get from their Martial Arts training (aka: for a total of 4 attacks – 1 regular attack, 1 bonus action unarmed attack, 2 bonus KI unarmed attacks) … or is it in place of the Martial Arts bonus attack (1 regular attack, 2 bonus unarmed attacks)

Can you apply the Monk’s Martial Arts feature only to your attack roll but not your damage roll?

The Monk’s Martial Arts feature states:

You can use Dexterity instead of Strength for the attack and damage rolls of your unarmed strikes and monk weapons…

Originally I thought this meant you had to either replace use Strength for both rolls or use Dexterity for both rolls. But the section on Finesse weapons states:

When making an attack with a finesse weapon, you use your choice of your Strength or Dexterity modifier for the attack and damage rolls. You must use the same modifier for both rolls.

Both features have the same “for the attack and damage rolls” bit; however, Martial Arts lacks the requirement that you must use the same modifier for both rolls. Does this mean that you are able to replace only the attack roll’s (or only the damage roll’s) modifier?

One reason you might want to mix up your modifiers is any time where you want to damage (and thus hit) a creature, but you don’t want to deal a lot of damage to it.
In a case like that you would want to use your higher modifier for the attack and your lower modifier for the damage.