What happens to a person who is scattered to the astral plane when inside of a destroyed bag of holding

When a bag of holding is destroyed, the contents are scattered in the astral plane. If a person is inside the bag, what happens to their body? According to the accepted answer here: “Will loot you find on the astral plane while using astral projection remain when you leave it?” – you don’t have a physical form in the astral plane. Is their body gone, forever? Or do they get a new body when they enter a physical plane?

Does Astral Projection spell fail if cast while on the Elemental Planes or Material Echo Planes (Shadowfell, Feywild)?

Further to the question: Can there be portals in the Astral Plane that lead to the Elemental Planes , I wanted to ask does Astral Projection spell fail if cast while on the Elemental Planes or Material Echo Planes (Shadowfell, Feywild)?

According to the Etherealness spell (PHB p238) :

This spell has no effect if you cast it while you are on the Ethereal Plane or a plane that doesn’t border it, such as one of the Outer Planes.

According to the Astral Projection spell (PHB 215):

You and up to eight willing creatures within range project your astral bodies into the Astral Plane (the spell fails and casting is wasted if you are already on that plane).

And later in the same spell description:

Your astral form can freely travel through the Astral Plane and can pass through portals there to any other plane.

However, according to DMG in the description of relevant planar travel spells (DMG pg 46) it indicates the following :

And the astral projection spell lets adventurers project themselves into the Astral Plane and from there travel to the Outer Planes.

Accordingly, for both RAW and RAI, does Astral Projection spell fail if cast while on the Elemental Planes or Material Echo Planes (Shadowfell, Feywild)?

Can there be portals in the Astral Plane that lead to the Elemental Planes?

In the spell description of Astral Projection (PHB pg 215) it indicates the following :

Your astral form can freely travel through the Astral Plane and can pass through portals there to any other plane.

However, in the Astral Color Pools table (DMG pg 47) there are no color pools leading to the the Elemental Planes (or the Shadowfell or Feywild). The description of "color pools" refers to them as "gateways".

Finally, in the description of relevant planar travel spells (DMG pg 46) it indicates the following :

And the astral projection spell lets adventurers project themselves into the Astral Plane and from there travel to the Outer Planes.

Accordingly, can there be portals in the Astral Plane that lead to the Elemental Planes?

Can a Way of Astral Self Monk use wisdom related scores for jumping?

I have several questions on the interactions between the Arms of Astral Self and the Jumping mechanics. According to the 3rd level feature, Arms of the Astral Self:

While the spectral arms are present, you gain the following benefits:

  • You can use your Wisdom modifier in place of your Strength modifier when making Strength checks and Strength saving throws.
  • You can use the spectral arms to make unarmed strikes.
  • When you make an unarmed strike with the arms on your turn, your reach for it is 5 feet greater than normal.
  • The unarmed strikes you make with the arms can use your Wisdom modifier in place of your Strength or Dexterity modifier for the attack and damage rolls, and their damage type is force.

The Jumping session of the PHB states:

Long Jump

When you make a long jump, you cover a number of feet up to your Strength score if you move at least 10 feet on foot immediately before the jump. When you make a standing long jump, you can leap only half that distance. Either way, each foot you clear on the jump costs a foot of movement.

This rule assumes that the height of your jump doesn’t matter, such as a jump across a stream or chasm. At your DM’s option, you must succeed on a DC 10 Strength (Athletics) check to clear a low obstacle (no taller than a quarter of the jump’s distance), such as a hedge or low wall. Otherwise, you hit it.

High Jump

When you make a high jump, you leap into the air a number of feet equal to 3 + your Strength modifier (minimum of 0 feet) if you move at least 10 feet on foot immediately before the jump. When you make a standing high jump, you can jump only half that distance. Either way, each foot you clear on the jump costs a foot of movement. In some circumstances, your DM might allow you to make a Strength (Athletics) check to jump higher than you normally can.

You can extend your arms half your height above yourself during the jump. Thus, you can reach above you a distance equal to the height of the jump plus 1½ times your height.

My questions would be, assuming that I have Arms of the Astral Self activated:

  1. Can I use my Wisdom Score instead of my strenght score to determine my long jump distance?
  2. Can I make a Wisdom (Athletics) check instead of a Strenght (Athletics) check?
  3. Can I use my Wisdom modifier instead of my Strenght modifier to determine my high jump’s height?
  4. Can the extra 5 feet range of the Arms of Astral Self be used when accounting for "extending your arms half your height above yourself" on the high jump, making it 1½ your height + 5 feet instead of only 1½ your height?

I am aware that some of the answers to these questions are up to DM discretion, so I would like to know, if possible, what would be the RAW interpretation and also how would you rule it in your games.

In advance, I’m extremely grateful to whoever takes time to answer these 🙂

Can a Way of the Astral Self monk grapple with its Arms of the Astral Self?

In the Unearthed Arcana version of the Way of the Astral Self, the monk’s Astral Arms were treated as monk weapons.

Under that wording, the monk probably couldn’t grapple/shove with them because weapon reach and the reach of the character’s hand that could make the grapple/shove are different things.

That is, it’s hard to see how you could grapple with the end of a polearm, for example (through a lenient DM might allow a shove).

However, in the official release, the wording was changed then from monk weapons to unarmed strikes:

  • You can use the spectral arms to make unarmed strikes.

  • When you make an unarmed strike with the arms on your turn, your reach for it is 5 feet greater than normal.

Under this revised wording, it seems like the monk could grapple/shove with its Astral Arms.

But can it?

Will loot you find on the astral plane while using astral projection remain when you leave it?

While under the effect of astral projection you have an astral body which has the following rules:

Your astral body resembles your mortal form in almost every way, replicating your game statistics and possessions.

I don’t think that you keep stuff if you pick it normally because the following lines (but please correct me if I’m wrong).

Any damage or other effects that apply to it have no effect on your physical body, nor do they persist when you return to it.

It doesn’t specifically say that you cannot pick up loot and take it with you, but it differentiates the astral form from the physical form in a way that they are in no way connected (except the cord).

But, my possessions are being replicated, also my bag of holding. If I pick something up in the astral plane and put it into my bag of holding, will it remain in there when I return to my physical body?

Will the Astral Projection spell end upon entering an Outer Plane?

The astral projection spell states:

If you enter a new plane or return to the plane you were on when casting this spell, your body and possessions are transported along the silver cord, allowing you to re-enter your body as you enter the new plane. Your astral form is a separate incarnation. Any damage or other effects that apply to it have no effect on your physical body, nor do they persist when you return to it.

The highlighted text seems to suggest that, when you enter a new plane via astral projection, your body is transported there as well and you may re-enter your body. This suggests you have lost your astral form and are now physical.

However, DMG 47 implies something different. This section talks about the astral projection spell for the purposes of traveling in the Astral Plane.

Astral Projection

Since the Outer Planes are as much spiritual states of being as they are physical places, this allows a character to manifest in an Outer Plane as if he or she had physically traveled there, but as in a dream.

It further goes on to saying that high level adventurers will often prefer to travel to the Outer Planes via astral projection because dying in this form doesn’t mean “real” death.

So which is the right interpretation? Does astral projection put you back in your real body when entering an Outer Plane, thus ending the spell, or do you remain an astral projection?

Can you avoid the stress penalty of Wish by using Astral Projection?

The wish spell is likely the most powerful and risky spells in Dungeons and Dragons. However, using it to do anything other that duplicate spells carries stress (and potentially losing the spell forever). Below I have quoted the relevant information:

The stress of casting this spell to produce any effect other than duplicating another spell weakens you. After enduring that stress, each time you cast a spell until you finish a long rest, you take 1d10 necrotic damage per level of that spell. This damage can’t be reduced or prevented in any way. In addition, your Strength drops to 3, if it isn’t 3 or lower already, for 2d4 days. For each of those days that you spend resting and doing nothing more than light activity, your remaining recovery time decreases by 2 days. Finally, there is a 33 percent chance that you are unable to cast wish ever again if you suffer this stress.

However, I want do know if these risks carry over to your mortal form, if you were under the effects of astral projection. Below I have quoted the relevant information:

Your astral body resembles your mortal form in almost every way, replicating your game statistics and possessions.

Your astral form is a separate incarnation. Any damage or other effects that apply to it have no effect on your physical body, nor do they persist when you return to it.

So would casting wish while under astral projection subject your body to stress and possibility of losing the spell wish, after astral projection has ended?