What to roll when attacked in KULT: Divinity Lost?

I got a bit confused with the Avoid Harm and Endure Injury moves and when to trigger any of them.

While it is very clear that Engage in Combat is the right move when the PC attacks someone who is aware of the attack, what happens when the PC is attacked?

For example, during a scene, an opponent decides to reveal a knife and attack a PC. Does the player rolls for Avoid Harm or go straight to Endure Injury?

Also, several ocassions (combat or not) may require to roll for Avoid Harm, and in case of failure, the description says the PC could sustein Harm. Does that mean the player annotates the Harm directly or should she roll for Endure Injury before that?

Finaly, failing to Avoid Harm mentions that the PC suffers the full a ammount of Harm, but also the GM makes a Move. Since some of the GMs moves refer to harm/damage (Exchange Harm for Harm and Deals Damage) I want to make clear if harming the PCs is always a GM decision or an automatic effect from a failure.

What happens when a dying abjurer with an Arcane Ward active is attacked?

An abjuration wizard has the Arcane Ward class feature (PHB, p. 115):

Starting at 2nd level, you can weave magic around yourself for protection. When you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or higher, you can simultaneously use a strand of the spell’s magic to create a magical ward on yourself that lasts until you finish a long rest. The ward has hit points equal to twice your wizard level + your Intelligence modifier. Whenever you take damage, the ward takes the damage instead. If this damage reduces the ward to 0 hit points, you take any remaining damage.

If an abjurer is dropped to 0 hit points by means other than damage (such as by failing a saving throw against a Banshee’s Wail), their Arcane Ward remains active (assuming it was active before). What happens if they are attacked whilst dying?

  • They take a step towards death; the rules on Damage at 0 hit points don’t take the Arcane Ward into account;
  • The Arcane Ward continues to "block" damage, so the ward would need to be reduce to 0 hit points/the damage exceed the ward’s hit point before it counts as the wizard taking damage at 0 hit points. Hence if the ward had 10 hit points and a monster dealt 5 hit points, the wizard would not suffer any failed death saving throws;
  • Both of the above; the Arcane Ward would continue to absorb damage, which may be relevant for death by massive damage, but the wizard would still suffer failed saving throws anyway);

Attacked by ransomware that has encrypted and renamed all files with a .makop extension

I’ve spent several hours searching the internet to see if anyone has cracked this encryption yet, but without any luck. I don’t want to reward criminals for their activity, but I do have a few files that I absolutely need. Besides finding a decryptor or paying the ransom, do I have any other options for recovering my files? I have been able to successfully restore a couple of systems from backups, but my personal system wasn’t backed up and has temporarily housed important files.

I’m somewhat familiar with best practices of backing up important files and/or saving to the cloud, but I will definitely be more vigilant in the future. It was mostly due to the ‘it will never happen to me’ mindset.

Relevant information:

  • I’ve identified how they got in, and have reset the password on that account (and all other accounts just in case).
  • I did have malware bytes and sophos installed. Looking at the Event Viewer, there are logs of both of these software being successfully uninstalled.
  • The files are renamed like this: originalFileName.orig.[8-digit-hex].[ruthlessencry@qq.com].makop
  • The ransom note file says to contact them at ruthlessencry@qq.com to pay them in bitcoins.
  • They’ll decrypt a couple of files for free, and then send me a scanner-decoder program after being paid.

Can a Hunter ranger, can the Horde Breaker feature target a creature within 5 feet of any target attacked that turn, or only the most recent target?

I play a Hunter ranger using longbow attacks in a D&D 5e game. I’m trying to understand how the Horde Breaker feature works.

Say there are two targets within 5 feet of each other in one area (Target A&B). Then there are another two targets within 5 feet of each other in another area (Target C&D). I have both the Extra Attack and Horde Breaker features. I attack Target A, then with my Extra Attack I attack Target C.

Now I want to use Horde Breaker. Can I select Target B from the first duo? Or must I select Target D from the second duo because that was my last attack?


In another scenario, there are two targets within 5 feet of each other in one area (Target A&B), then there is another target about 20 feet away by itself (Target C). I attack Target A, then with my Extra Attack, I attack Target C. Do I then forfeit using Horde Breaker because I didn’t use it to attack Target B?

Does Charm Person break if the charmed person’s minions are attacked?

I’m trying to clarify with my players what is the effect of charm person on a very particular situation:

  1. Combat starts, player engage some zombies in battle and kill one of them via arrows.
  2. Fighter goes into the room and discovers a Necromancer and some zombie minions under its control.
  3. Druid wants to cast Charm Person spell on the Necromancer.

Assuming the necromancer fails the save, I’m having doubts about ruling how it will work.

According to answers to this question, charm person would only protect the druid, allies would still be attacked.

But the doubt here is about the part that says:

If it fails the saving throw, it is charmed by you until the spell ends or until you or your companions do anything harmful to it.

If anyone attacks the necromancer’s zombies, would that be regarded as “doing something harmful to” the necromancer? Or would it not break the spell because the attack is directed at one of his minions and not the necromancer himself?

Additionally, since the Druid has already attacked one of the minions, would the charm spell even work?

Can Mage Hand be attacked?

Mage Hand “can’t attack, activate magic items, or carry more than 10 pounds.” (PHB 256). Can Mage Hand be attacked? Part of me says that Mage Hand is simply unable to engage in combat as a combatant but can passively engage in combat as a target (and, thus, damage would be computed as for an ordinary inanimate object), but part of me says that saying that Mage Hand cannot attack is essentially implying that it cannot take part in combat at all in any capacity or that it exists outside of the combat system.

Can Mage Hand be the target of a combat action? E.g. can a creature swing a club at a Mage Hand that it sees pass by or come within range? Obviously, the Mage Hand can’t retaliate.

My Website Got Attacked: Japanese Title and Descriptions. How is this Possible?

Hello everyone, My website (estemex.com) got hacked a while ago. As you can see from the screenshot above there are many spammy URL’s indexed on Google (which doesn’t exist on my website) and the title and descriptions are made up of Japanese characters. It's clear that my website was attacked by a malicious person.

[​IMG]

What I'm wondering is how someone could have done it? And what should I do to protect myself from such attacks in the future?…

My Website Got Attacked: Japanese Title and Descriptions. How is this Possible?

Should the party get XP for a monster they never attacked?

Attempting to keep things vague to avoid possible spoilers for Dragon Heist

During the first session, after the barfight, a couple monsters crawl out of the hole in the middle of the tavern, one big scary dude and three bugs. The ‘Big Scary Dude’ would be worth a ton of XP if killed by the players, but there are two caveats

1) It is at half health when introduced

2) The players are told in no uncertain terms to focus on the little bugs while an NPC takes care of it.

Before the players even have a chance at him, the NPC goes before them in the Initiative and outright kills the big scary dude with a four hit combo on his turn. The big dude goes down literally before they even have a chance to react.

Just the other day, one of my players was asking me if they should have gotten experience for being apart of that battle with the big dude. If they did, they would be undeniably level 2 for the rest of the first chapter, but my thoughts are that they did not actually do anything in that fight and therefore should not get the XP. Am I in the wrong for denying them the XP? Or am I in the right for maintaining continuity?

NTP ddos attacked

Hello,

i have a cloudlinux/cpanel server be NTP ddos attacked,

normally,is it possible i do not close certain service or port and make the… | Read the rest of http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=1767217&goto=newpost

Is there a limit to how many enemies can be attacked using the Hunter ranger’s Volley, Horde Breaker, and the second attack?

From other questions on here, I know that both Horde Breaker and Volley can be used together, as discussed here: Do the Hunter ranger's Horde Breaker and Volley features interact?

Is there any limit to how many enemies you can attack using this combo if they fall into the 10-foot radius of the initial Volley?

Say there is a shield-wall type of formation of enemies, all nicely lined up side by side and multiple rows deep. In theory, based on the phrasing of Volley, you can use Volley to attack every creature in the 10-foot radius, potentially attacking 16 targets – and you can use Horde Breaker on any that are within 5 feet of the point of origin. If the origin is the middle of the group, then possibly 8 additional targets – and then use Volley again for your second attack as a Hunter, making 40 total attack rolls in this situation (assuming they are all lined up nicely). Is this correct?

In my current campaign, we have stumbled into a war-torn region where large armies of Orcs are massing (my preferred enemy), and I’d love to use this loop hole if they end up lining up nicely for me.