Can I use the Wizardly Quill to make a free copy of my actual Awakened Spellbook?

I know the Order of Scribes can already make a copy of the Awakened Spellbook by making the ritual in another blank book, but that leaves the old Awakened Spellbook in blank. I want to have both Spellbooks in hand for pure Roleplay.

Here’s the rules for Wizardly Quill from Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything:

As a bonus action, you can magically create a Tiny quill in your free hand. The magic quill has the following properties:

  • The quill doesn’t require ink. When you write with it, it produces ink in a color of your choice on the writing surface.

  • The time you must spend to copy a spell into your spell book equals 2 minutes per spell level if you use the quill for the transcription.

  • You can erase anything you write with the quill if you wave the feather over the text as a bonus action, provided the text is within 5 feet of you. This quill disappears if you create another one or if you die

Here’s the rules about replacing spellbooks from Player’s Handbook:

Replacing the Book. You can copy a spell from your own spellbook into another book— for example, if you want to make a backup copy of your spellbook. This is just like copying a new spell into your spellbook, but faster and easier, since you understand your own notation and already know how to cast the spell. You need spend only 1 hour and 10 gp for each level of the copied spell.

If I’m not wrong, I don’t need to spend nothing to test the spells I already know. Just need the right amount of ink and time to copy them. The Wizardly Quill is exactly made for this purpose of saving time and ink. That’s my interpretation. Am I wrong?

Can an Order of Scribes Awakened Spellbook communicate in any way?

Can an Order of Scribes Wizard’s Awakened Spellbook communicate in any way? This seems like it would be up to the DM but it’s not clear whether it is a possibility or an expectation.

Arguments against communication

No rules text gives the spellbook any languages or abilities to communicate, either by speech or telepathically.

The spellbook is not given the ability to perform any actions independently from its user.

Arguments for communication

The description of the subclass references the Awakened Spellbook as a companion one can talk to.

And while all wizards value spellbooks, a wizard in the Order of Scribes magically awakens their book, turning it into a trusted companion. All wizards study books, but a wizardly scribe talks to theirs!

The Awakened Spellbook feature states that the book is sentient.

Using specially prepared inks and ancient incantations passed down by your wizardly order, you have awakened an arcane sentience within your spellbook.

Beyond that, the subclass features refer to the Awakened Spellbook’s mind as an entity able to take a person’s spectral form, who is able to help on certain skill checks and which has a soul.

Finally, an ability for a sentient magic item to perform actions independently of its user is not unusual for sentient magic items.

In-game treatment

Given all this, how should the Awakened Spellbook be treated?

  • Using the rules for sentient magic items? (DMG p.214)
  • As a sentient but unintelligent entity which doesn’t communicate, as would be the case of a familiar obtained from Find Familiar without Pact of the Chain?
  • Some other way?

How does the Order of Scribes feature Awakened Spellbook work with multiple damage types?

Awakened Spellbook, a level 3 Order of Scribes feature, says the following:

When you cast a wizard spell with a spell slot, you can temporarily replace its damage type with a type that appears in another spell in your spellbook, which magically alters the spell’s formula for this casting only. The latter spell must be of the same level as the spell slot you expend.

If I cast a spell that deals multiple damage types, for example Ice Knife (https://www.dndbeyond.com/spells/ice-knife), how does this work? Could I change both damage types to a different type (for example force damage on initial hit, fire damage on burst) or only the same damage (force damage on both damage rolls). Also, could I switch the two damage types inside the spell, having cold damage on initial hit, and piercing damage on the burst?

Does the Order of Scribes Feature Awakened Spellbook also change the damage type of Absorb Elements?

The Order of Scribes from Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything has the "Awakened Spellbook" feature. Part of the feature reads as follows:

When you cast a wizard spell with a spell slot, you can temporarily replace its damage type with a type that appears in another spell in your spellbook, which magically alters the spell’s formula for this casting only. The latter spell must be of the same level as the spell slot you expend.

Can i change the absorbing damage type of the spell "Absorb Elements"?

Absorb Elements is a spell with casting time of Reaction and an asterisk when the Reaction can take place as follows:

which you take when you take acid, cold, fire, lightning, or thunder damage

Can you replace the damage type of the trigger with that feature? That way you could absorb every type of damage with this spell. Absorbing poison, psychic, force or physical damage types.

What’s the extent of things that a charmed creature would do for you under the effects of the *awakened* spell?

Unlike other charms, with awaken you can literally transform a beast or plant into higher-intelligence form of life. For example, an awakened tree gets to have intelligence like humans, limbs, ways to communicate and so on. It gives them freedom they never had.

Do they see the caster as their creator or something? If the caster asks the awakened tree to help in combat, or fight monsters as an ally, would they do it?

How does my character’s awakened mount and 2 awakened companions affect what CR the party can handle?

So some things happened and now I have 3 awaken scrolls. The rules say I don’t have to use material components so I can just use them. I also switch with the dm occasionally and run it myself. How would this character + their companion effect how much xp the party can handle? So, for balancing the CR of encounters, how does a lvl 5 optimized hexblade warlock riding an awakened Giant Crocodile with 2 awakened Giant Scorpions to their side effect CR?

Can an Awakened Shrub become an Awakened Tree?

This question is irrelevant to most campaign settings so I’m mostly asking this out of curiosity and to see what others think.

Essentially the primary distinction between a Tree and a Shrub is height (Yes there are some other differences such as the number of perennial stems, but some definitions omit these characteristics as optional. In addition Junipers can be shrubs or trees despite being the same species making the distinction irrelevant) so if a recently planted Awakened Shrub grows to the age of ~30 will it then become an Awakened Tree?

Can an Rogue Assassin 13/GOO Warlock use their Impostor feature and Awakened Mind in conjunction

Rolling up a Warlock Rogue for a new campaign, I found a possible synergy between the Assassin’s Impostor ability and the GOO Warlock’s Awakened mind feature: Could they impersonate someone else in the speech of the Awakened Mind feature?

As an example, can those two features be combined to make one NPC think that someone else was telepathic, or that they hear other people’s thoughts.

Does an Awakened beast count as “created” for the purpose of a Shepherd Druid’s “Mighty Summoner”

At 6th level, a Circle of the Shepherd Druid gains the feature Mighty Summoner, which states:

Starting at 6th level, beasts and fey that you conjure are more resilient than normal. Any beast or fey summoned or created by a spell that you cast gains the following benefits…

The 5th level spell Awaken allows you use an ordinary beast or plant, and grant it intelligence.

The target gains an Intelligence of 10. The target also gains the ability to speak one language you know. If the target is a plant, it gains the ability to move its limbs, roots, vines, creepers, and so forth, and it gains senses similar to a human’s. Your GM chooses statistics appropriate for the awakened plant, such as the statistics for the awakened shrub or the awakened tree.

In the spell description are example of “created” creatures (the shrub and tree).

Do these awakened creatures count as “created” (using the base plant/beast as a material component) or are they just “changed” and therefore do not get the benefit of the Might Summoner?


Related post: Which spells count for a Shepherd Druid’s features affecting creatures “summoned or created” by spells?

Awakened is not listed, but lists like these are not the end-all/be-all as things can be overlooked.