Enemy explosion offSet is displaced away from desired point of origin

In the game, when the enemy is hit and explodes the explosion animation appears offset to the bottom right corner of the dead enemy’s center point.

I ran tests to adjust the explosion positioning with no luck. The debugger says that “this.offSet.y” & “this.offSet.x” are -100. I can’t seem to know how to adjust that as well.

Image example:

enter image description here

Here are the code snippets & CSS for bonus:

Explosion JS

class Explosions {     constructor (assetName) {         this.count = 0;         this.offSet = undefined;         this.setOffSet(assetName);      }      setOffSet(assetName) {         let asset = GameManager.assets[assetName];         this.offSet = new Point ((asset.width/2)*-1, (asset.height/2)*-1);     }  createExplosion(position) {     let div = document.createElement("div");         div.classList.add("explosion");         let divId = 'explosion_' + this.count;         div.id = divId;         console.log(position);         div.style.left = (position.x + this.offSet.x) + 'px';         div.style.top = (position.y  + this.offSet.y) + 'px';         $  (GameSettings.gameAreaDiv).append(div);         setTimeout(function() {             $  ('#' + divId).remove();         }, GameSettings.explosionTimeout);          this.count++; }  } 

Explosion CSS

@keyframes explosion {     0%   {background-image: url("../../assets/explosion/smallexplode1.png");}     10%   {background-image: url("../../assets/explosion/smallexplode2.png"); }     20%   {background-image: url("../../assets/explosion/smallexplode3.png"); }     30%   {background-image: url("../../assets/explosion/smallexplode4.png"); }     40%   {background-image: url("../../assets/explosion/smallexplode5.png");}     60%   {background-image: url("../../assets/explosion/smallexplode6.png");opacity: 0.9;}     80%   {background-image: url("../../assets/explosion/smallexplode7.png");opacity: 0.8;}     90%   {background-image: url("../../assets/explosion/smallexplode8.png");opacity: 0.5;}     100%   {background-image: url("../../assets/explosion/smallexplode9.png");opacity: 0.3;} }  .explosion {   width: 100px;   height: 100px;   position: absolute;   left: 500px;   top: 300px;   animation-name: explosion;   animation-duration: 0.8s;   background-repeat: no-repeat;   z-index: 20; } 

Any indication what the cause is?

Let me know if there are any other snippets that needs adding, and if you can please be patient with me since I’m student programmer that is still learning.

Thank you

Does a reach weapon allow you to threaten squares 10 feet away or not?

In D&D 5e, does a reach weapon allow you to threaten squares up to 10 feet away for the purpose of Opportunity Attacks or does it just allow you to attack squares up to 10 feet away?

There is some confusion because PHB p.147 says that a reach weapon adds 5 feet to your reach when you attack with it, which can be interpreted to mean that, if an enemy is 10 feet away on his turn, he isn’t actually in your reach (since you aren’t attacking with the weapon yet) so you don’t get an Opportunity Attack. Is this interpretation correct and you only threaten 5′ away, or does a reach weapon always increase your reach for the purpose of threatening distance?

How does lodestone lure work if the attacker’s moved away from the target?

The level 3 battlemind discipline lodestone lure, an at-will attack power, has the following entry:

Hit: Constitution modifier damage, and you must pull the target 1 square. Until the end of your next turn, the target can move only to squares that are adjacent to you. (Psionic Power 37 and updated by errata; q.v. here)

I don’t know to what degree that second sentence should limit the target. I use should limit rather than just limits because my research shows that opinions on how the power works are varied, controversial, and sometimes heated. And, as Wizards of the Coast itself is unlikely to clarify or issue further errata for the lodestone lure power at this point, I look to experienced users for help in determining a balanced reading of the power. Here balanced means here that the power’s impact on the game approximately equals the impact of the class’s other powers of the same level.

The Scenario

On her turn a level 3 battlemind takes a standard action to use the at-will discipline lodestone lure on a target 2 squares away. The battlemind pulls the target adjacent to her (as the power’s erratum now says that she must). Then, by whatever means, the battlemind travels 2 or more squares away from the target. On the target’s turn, what’s a balanced way for the target to behave? Here are some options:

  • Essentially immobilized. A typical target is immobilized in all but name. That is, no matter where the target’s movement would take it, its first square of movement won’t move it to a square adjacent to the battlemind so the target is stuck where it is unless either it can move without moving (e.g. by teleporting) or it is moved via forced movement. This reading is mentioned in a Penny Arcade forum thread here that contains strong language. Consensus there seems to be that this reading, while possibly being technically accurate, isn’t balanced (see above). Even as a new 4e player, I tend to agree, but I’m not 100% sure if that thread’s assessment is correct.
  • Like a charge but not. A typical target can move normally except that each square of the target’s movement must bring the target closer to the battlemind, much like a creature making a charge. This reading is mentioned in a RPG.Net thread here that gets heated. Note that a user in that thread says that Wizards of the Coast customer service agrees with this reading. I absolutely believe that that’s what the user was told, but I don’t know how much weight an anonymous Wizards of the Coast customer service representative’s ruling carries in the Dungeons & Dragons, Fourth Edition community. (To be clear, I’m used to the Third Edition community where that weight is 0 lbs.) This seems balanced enough to this new 4e player, but that isn’t what the power actually says that it does, and the disconnect makes me wary.

Those were the options that I found, but I’m certain that other readings of the power are possible. Users should feel free to have their answers address alternatives. In sum, what reading of the lodestone lure power is balanced? Further, how can the lodestone lure power’s Hit entries be rephrased to reflect a new balanced reading?


Note: When assessing that second bullet’s reading, please also consider what happens if a target is affected by multiple characters’ lodestone lure powers simultaneously.

General error: 2006 MySQL server has gone away while adding a thread

error while adding a thread to database showing this errors

Warning: Error while sending QUERY packet. PID=138803 in /home/u758467727/domains/joint2purchase.com/public_html/admin/add-thread.php on line 673  Fatal error: Uncaught PDOException: SQLSTATE[HY000]: General error: 2006 MySQL server has gone away in /home/u758467727/domains/joint2purchase.com/public_html/admin/add-thread.php:673 Stack trace: #0 /home/u758467727/domains/joint2purchase.com/public_html/admin/add-thread.php(673): PDO->exec('CREATE TABLE IF...') #1 {main} thrown in /home/u758467727/domains/joint2purchase.com/public_html/admin/add-thread.php on line 673 

and code where this error is

$  sql = "CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS $  lim (    ID INT(11) UNSIGNED AUTO_INCREMENT PRIMARY KEY,     USERNAME TEXT NULL,    REPLY TEXT NULL,    REPLYNAME TEXT NULL,    MESSAGE TEXT NULL,    DATE TEXT NULL,    IMAGE TEXT NULL,    TYPE TEXT NULL,     LIKES TEXT NULL,    TROPHY INT(11) DEFAULT 0,    MESSAGES INT(11) DEFAULT 0,    JOINED TEXT NULL,    FILES TEXT NULL,    PHOTOS TEXT NULL,    LIKERECEIVED INT(11) DEFAULT 0    )"; $  db->exec($  sql); 

When the Entangle spell ends, do the plants disappear after they “wilt away”?

The description of the entangle spell reads:

Grasping weeds and vines sprout from the ground in a 20-foot square […]

When the spell ends, the conjured plants wilt away.

Does “wilt away” mean they just wither and die like regular plants, and so the ground is covered in dead vegetation to mark where the spell was cast? Or do they fully disappear, as magically as they first appeared?

Can flaming sphere cast at 60ft then be moved 30ft next turn to be 90ft away from you?

I was wondering if the 60ft range on flaming sphere is the max range it can ever be from you or only the max range you can cast it at. Then on subsequent turns you can move it even farther away. Same for Moonbeam and other similar spells. I could not find a clear answer googling it, and asking my friends geoups returned a split decision.

While I’m mostly interested in answering this for D&D 5e, I’d also be curious for Pathfinder 2e if for some reason the rules were different.

https://roll20.net/compendium/dnd5e/Flaming%20Sphere#content

Does moving away from a prone creature trigger an opportunity attack?

I will give you the situation this came up in, but essentially I would like to know whether moving away from a prone creature would trigger an opportunity attack or not.

If you move 20 feet to attack as a Warhorse while in druid Wild Shape, the creature needs to do a DC 14 Strength check or be knocked prone. (PHB p.311)

If the target fails and is knocked prone you can make a bounus attack with your hooves.

If you want to move away to be able to charge again on your next turn, would this normally trigger an opportunity attack?

I am not sure because the creature would have the prone condition, so guidance with this would be helpful.

Must Sentinel stop an opponent from running away due to Dissonant Whispers based movement?

Situation: A bard stands behind a Fighter. The Fighter has the Sentinel feat.
enter image description here The Fighter is battling an enemy in a five-foot-wide corridor.
The Bard casts Dissonant Whispers and the Enemy fails their saving throw.
The Fighter has not yet used a reaction, and executes an Opportunity Attack(OA) as the enemy leaves the adjacent square using the enemy’s own movement.
The OA hits.
Does the Enemy:
a. Stop running away?
b. Keep running away?
c. Run away or stop at the Fighter’s option?

  1. When you hit a creature with an opportunity attack, the creature’s speed becomes 0 for the rest of the turn. (Sentinel , PHB, Ch. 6)

I think that the answer is (a), but are there rulings or errata, or Sage Advice that provides the Fighter the option to not stop the enemy on a hit with that OA?

Notes:
1. Attribution for the three images: they are tokens of a D&D 5e NPC noble, a drow fighter, and an efreet from the roll20 compendium. I think this is fair use. If not, please adivse and I’ll change the images.
2. I was somewhat surprised to not see a question on the interaction of this spell and this feat
.