Why Beat ’em Ups don’t allow players to face toward or away from the screen

Most Beat ’em Ups don’t allow players to face away or towards the screen: example, in Streets of Rage, when you press up, the character moves up but still facing either left or right and same goes when you press down. Even in modern Beat ’em Ups, this is the case. What is the reason for this? I used to think this is because the graphics are 2D so its harder or more work to get characters to face towards or away from the screen. But even in Beat ’em Ups that uses 3D graphics, this is still the case, like Double Dragon Neon.

One more thing, if you know any Beat ’em Ups that does do this, can you post the name of the game here. I am interested on how that behaves.

Bullseye Lantern: does pointing one away from you, keep you in darkness?

Suppose my character is in darkness. I light up a bullseye lantern:

A bullseye lantern casts bright light in a 60-foot cone and dim light for an additional 60 feet

If I point the bullseye lantern away from me, is my character illuminated in any way? Am I included in the cone of light, or am I outside of the cone, like when casting the Cone of Cold spell?

If I remain in darkness when using a Bullseye Lantern, then I can remain invisible to those without dark vision, while illuminating my enemies.

Does Mind whip prevent bonus actions if you take away an action?

The text for mind whip states

You psychically lash out at one creature you can see within range. The target must make an Intelligence saving throw. On a failed save, the target takes 3d6 psychic damage, and it can’t take a reaction until the end of its next turn. Moreover, on its next turn, it must choose whether it gets a move, an action, or a bonus action; it gets only one of the three. On a successful save, the target takes half as much damage and suffers none of the spell’s other effects

Meanwhile, the rules state

[…] anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a bonus action.

If the target chooses a bonus action, it technically shouldn’t be able to do so, as it was deprived of its action. Or is this a case of specific beats general?

What kind of action is it to put away a shield without dropping it?

I am currently playing a sword and board slayer how likes to switch his warhammer to two-handed or back in a pinch.

However, it is not clear to me how I can do this without dropping the shield. He is currently using a heavy shield.

Case 1: Warhammer two-handed, switching to one-handed use and equiping the shield

Case 2: Warhammer and Shield in hand, switching to two-handed use while putting away the shield without dropping it

Case 1 seemed clear at first:

FAQ

Two-Handed Weapons: What kind of action is it to remove your hand from a two-handed weapon or re-grab it with both hands? Both are free actions. For example, a wizard wielding a quarterstaff can let go of the weapon with one hand as a free action, cast a spell as a standard action, and grasp the weapon again with that hand as a free action; this means the wizard is still able to make attacks of opportunity with the weapon (which requires using two hands). As with any free action, the GM may decide a reasonable limit to how many times per round you can release and re-grasp the weapon (one release and re-grasp per round is fair).

So switching from two-handed grip to one-handed grip with a one-handed weapons should also be a free action.

Ready or Drop a Shield

Strapping a shield to your arm to gain its shield bonus to your AC, or unstrapping and dropping a shield so you can use your shield hand for another purpose, requires a move action. If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you can ready or drop a shield as a free action combined with a regular move. Dropping a carried (but not worn) shield is a free action.

So if have my shield on me, say over my shoulder, I take a free action to switch my grip to one-handed, a move action to ready my shield, an I have standard action left to attack.

Is that right?

Case 2: There is no mention of putting away or stowing a shield as far as I can see. So I have to look elsewhere.

Draw or Sheathe a Weapon

Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action. This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands. If your weapon or weapon-like object is stored in a pack or otherwise out of easy reach, treat this action as retrieving a stored item.

Is a shield a weapon-like object? It would be carried in easy reach, over the shoulder or on a hook somewhere I suppose. A shield can be a weapon if using a shield bash. That would make it a move action to put the shield away, free action to switch grips, which leaves a standard action to attack.

Manipulate an Item

Moving or manipulating an item is usually a move action. This includes retrieving or putting away a stored item, picking up an item, moving a heavy object, and opening a door. Examples of this kind of action, along with whether they incur an attack of opportunity, are given in Table: Actions in Combat.

Or do I have to take a move action to unstrap (without the dropping part) and another move action to put away an item? That would mean, that I couldn’t attack. So it would be quite important to know how it’s done right. This might also mean for Case 1, that I first need to retrieve the "stored" shield with a move action, and then ready it with another mode action.

Now I looked at the quickdraw shield:

Quickdraw Shield

If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may don or put away a quickdraw shield as a swift action combined with a regular move. If you have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, you can draw a light or one-handed weapon with one hand and a quickdraw shield with the other in the time it would normally take you to draw one weapon. If you have the Quick Draw feat, you may don or put away a quickdraw shield as a free action.

Finally a mention of putting away a shield, no drop required. However, it talks about donning the shield which takes me to the armor and shield section.

Getting into and out of armor

Don: This column tells how long it takes a character to put the armor on. (One minute is 10 rounds.) Readying (strapping on) a shield is only a move action.

Remove: This column tells how long it takes to get the armor off. Removing a shield from the arm and dropping it is only a move action.

So donning seems to equal readying.

Does this mean, that the only way to put away a shield is to use a quickdraw shield (which might be a good idea anyway), or is there something I missed? Do I need two move actions and cannot attack in the round in which I switch from sword-and-board to two-handed?

Thanks in advance!

Does the Fade Away gnome racial feat require concentration?

Does the invisibility that the Fade Away racial feat (for gnomes) grants require concentration or would using it drop any spells the user is currently concentrating on?

The wording doesn’t specifically say that (you become invisible, you don’t cast the invisibility spell). I am unsure of how it works, and can’t find the answer online. How does Fade Away work?

What happens when you have a creature grappled and use the Bait and Switch to move 5 feet away from the creature?

Does it just break your grapple since the creature is outside your reach? Does this count as "Moving a Grappled Target" and the creature you’re grappling moves 5 feet with you?

Or does this count as the latter, but since your speed is halved, and the maneuver only allows you to move 5 feet, your speed is 2.5 feet, and if playing on a grid, actually cannot move?

As a sword and board Eldritch Knight do I need to put away my sword on my turn if I want to use Shield as a reaction?

Without Warcaster, I can’t cast spells with somatic components if I have both a shield and a sword in my hands. Putting my sword away or dropping it is a free action, however you can’t do free actions outside your turn. So if I want to be able to cast Shield on myself as a reaction, do I need to always put my sword away at the end of my turn? (This also means I won’t be able to capitalize on opportunity of attacks).

Can I use area of effect targetting rules to Entangle a target 105 feet away from me?

Entangle is a spell with a range of 90 feet. But, the wording of it…

Grasping weeds and vines sprout from the ground in a 20-foot square starting from a point within range.

Can I orient the square so it points directly away from me, covering a 20×20 space which can encompass a creature which is 105 feet away from me?

What happens if you give away a Artifact with a Hearthstone?

If a person has an artifact with one or more hearthstones and for some reason decide to give it away to someone else what happens? Can another exalted attune the artifact and keep the hearthstone from the previous owner in the item? Will it work just the same for the new owner?

I would appreciate references to the rules, but that is not strictly necessary. If there is no reference to the rules I want an argument for why it should be this way.

How to Initially Ward Player Away from Key, Story-Driving Item?

I have an item in my DnD-5e story that is intended to have a warding effect, in that the story requires that it have a "magical ability" with the intention of warding or repelling people away from that location. However, this is an item the players must eventually obtain as it is crucial for the story.

My initial thought was to allow this item to use a spell like this Repel spell, if the players attempt to interact with it, but they need some way to overcome this spell and actually obtain this item.

How can I allow this item to ward players players away, while still having a way for the players to circumvent the warding effect and obtain said item?