Bane: multiple saves for same creature?

Jed the cleric is standing next to Gideon, his enemy. Jed casts Bane; Gideon succeeds at his saving throw. On Jed’s next turn, he uses the concentrate action to expand the aura and cause all creatures not yet affected to make a save. From Bane:

Once per turn, starting the turn after you cast bane, you can use a single action, which has the concentrate trait, to increase the emanation’s radius by 5 feet and force enemies in the area that weren’t yet affected to attempt another saving throw. Bane can counteract bless.

Gideon already succeeded once. Does he have to make another saving throw?

Do multiple baldric, bane items stack?

Following up on my question about if baldric, bane would grant early access to bane and greater bane for an inquisitor (it does), now I wonder if two such items stack? If you had a baldric, bane and a slotless baldric, bane, would you be considered 10 levels higher for the purposes of bane?

Baldric, Bane

If the wearer is an inquisitor, she is treated as five levels higher when using her bane and greater bane abilities . If the wearer is not an inquisitor, she gains the bane ability of a 5th-level inquisitor, but must first attune a light or one-handed melee weapon to the baldric by hanging it from the cloth for 24 hours, and can only use the bane ability with the attuned weapon. Attuning a new weapon to the baldric ends the attunement for the previous weapon.

Inquisitor using a baldric, bane

I would like some clarification on exactly how the baldric, bane magic item works when used with an inquisitor.

Baldric, Bane

If the wearer is an inquisitor, she is treated as five levels higher when using her bane and greater bane abilities . If the wearer is not an inquisitor, she gains the bane ability of a 5th-level inquisitor, but must first attune a light or one-handed melee weapon to the baldric by hanging it from the cloth for 24 hours, and can only use the bane ability with the attuned weapon. Attuning a new weapon to the baldric ends the attunement for the previous weapon.

So for non-inquisitor’s its straight forward. A single light or one-handed melee weapon gains a 5th level inquisitors bane ability.

If an inquisitor is under level 5, would it grant the bane ability as if they were 9th level, or because it wasnt unlocked yet would the magic item do nothing for them? Same question for someone between 7-11 level would they unlock the greater bane ability?

So basically, does the item allow them to unlock bane/greater bane up to 5 levels early? Or does it only grant you increased usage once you have unlocked them?

Does the bane magic weapon property work like greater magic weapon or weapon enhancement for DR

The weapon property bane is a wonderful boost to a weapon on the occasions where its the right bane. One effect is that the weapon enhancement is +2 than what the weapon states, so a +1 bane (human) sword is actually a a +3 weapon against humans. But when dealing with creatures that have DR, the difference enhancement levels matter for overcoming DR, and other sources like magic weapon greater while increasing the enhancement, do not affect DR.

from magic weapon greater

This bonus does not allow a weapon to bypass damage reduction aside from magic.

Since the weapon property doesnt have the same wording as the spell, my thoughts are that it would be effective against higher DR types, but I have nothing to stand on for this.

Does Mind Sliver Stack with Bane?

The cantrip Mind Sliver from Tasha’s has a secondary effect applying negative 1D4 to a saving throw.

…subtract 1d4 from the next saving throw it makes before the end of your next turn.

The spell Bane from the Player’s Handbook has a similar effect.

…the target must roll a d4 and subtract the number rolled from the attack roll or saving throw.

Does the effect from Mind Sliver stack with the saving throw effect from Bane making it negative 2D4 to the next saving throw?

Interaction between Bane and critical hits

The first level spell Bane allows you to curse a creature so that each saving throw or attack roll is reduced by 1d4 for the duration:

Whenever a target [..] makes an attack roll or saving throw before the spell ends, the target must roll a d4 and subtract the number rolled from the attack roll or saving throw. (PHB 216)

How does this interact with an attack roll of natural 20?

I can see two possible interpretations:

  • Bane is stronger: A target under the effect of bane cannot make critical attacks, because 20 – 1d4 will always be < 20.

  • Critical is stronger: A target under the effect of bane can make crits, since crits occur on a natural 20, and the bane malus is applied after determining crit.

A good answer would include relevant rules text to show how this should be handled.

What can remove the bane effects of Elder Runes in Dungeon of the Mad Mage?

In the campaign Dungeon of the Mad Mage there are bane effects on Elder Runes that are cast like symbol. One of the runes mentions specifically that it can be dispelled by remove curse or greater restoration and the others with lingering affects say nothing. Am I to infer that these other effects cannot be dispelled and just have to wear off over time?

Capturing a sneaky Bane

Our Kaganmadi just encountered a Bane last round, that is sneaky and tries to influence a BĂȘte by whispering to them sneakily. Now we had stopped at a cliffhanger, having found out the following:

  • A Spirit Ward does silence it and break the influence, possibly for the time the victim remains in it.
  • The Spirit is rather good at dodging Sense Wyrm, having given us wildly conflicting readings at times, but enough evidence to try the ward, confirming it was a Spirit/Bane of sorts.

As other weapons in our Arsenal we have:

  • a bunch of BĂȘte that could get into the Umbra and drag all people there
  • the same bunch could arguably tear the Bane a new one, provided we can force it to get to our claws
  • Rite of Summoning (several)
  • Rite of Binding (one)
  • Rite of Cleansing (several)
  • Spirit Speech (several)
  • Truth of Gaia (several, including a Fetish)
  • Scent of the true Form (one or more)
  • A Bubasti mildly reeking of Wyrm (as Bubasti all do)
  • Maybe 4 to 6 hours time to do what needs to be done till we have to get moving.

While we were hatching plans to try to “leave the bane behind” somehow trying to use the Umbra and the Spirit Ward. But surely we should have more options provided we could… Uhm… Force it bound into a rock?

What rules would apply to bind said unknown power Bane without knowing its Name as of yet to a rock, mayhaps turning it into a Talen, and how could our arsenal make it easier for us to force the result?

Does recovering from knockdown bane prevents resisting other banes?

Knockdown description says:

Standing up from prone requires a move action and costs a character half (round down) of their speed for the round.

While in Combat Section of the core rules it is described that one of the use of move action is to resist banes.

You can use a move action to recover from one or more banes afflicting you. This move action cost is a simplified way of representing any number of different ways you might go about shaking off the wide range of banes you might be afflicted by. Roll 1d20 (with no attribute modifiers). If your roll is a 10 or higher, the bane is removed. Note that some banes have different rules for how they can be resisted.

Since knockdown specifically requires a move action to stand up, which means knockdown have different rules for how they can be resisted, does this mean that the move action is used up only to recover from knockdown, and cannot be used to make a resist roll for all other banes?