Can you wield a Greataxe and Claws with the UA Barbarian Path of the Beast?

The UA Barbarian Path of the Beast has the following option when you rage:

Claws. Your hands transform into claws, which deal 1d6 slashing damage on a hit. When you take the Attack action on your turn and make an attack with your claws, you can make one additional attack using your claws as part of the same action.

Can a level 5 Barbarian attack with a Greataxe or other two-handed weapon then attack twice with their claws?

This would look like this:

—- Take Attack Action —-
attack with Greataxe (1d12+2+STR)
attack with Claw (1d6+2+STR)
attack with Claw (1d6+2+STR)

On one hand it seems that it is allowed by the rules considering nothing is mentioned about only attacking with the claws or that the claws cannot hold a weapon.

On the other hand it seems odd to make two attacks with claws while holding something.

On the third hand (which may or may not be required) the feature makes no mention of the claw attacks needing to be from different hands.

Can a raging barbarian carry live rabbits to kill them, in order to keep his rage going?

One of my players, a human barbarian, came up with the idea of carrying captured rabbits, feeding them and treating them nicely, so that he can rip them apart mid-battle if he knows he will be unable to attack during the round. Does this sound balanced or does this sound like breaking the rules?

Can a barbarian maintain rage by attacking a creature that is not present?

Suppose a raging barbarian does not see any opponents on the battlefield but is attempting to maintain rage by attacking a hostile creature, according to the following:

Your rage lasts for 1 minute. It ends early if you are knocked unconscious or if your turn ends and you haven’t attacked a hostile creature since your last turn or taken damage since then.

If there was a successfully Hidden opponent on the field, the barbarian would be permitted to attack it by guessing its location. Even if they were incorrect, that would be sufficient to maintain their rage.

But how far ‘off’ is the barbarian allowed to be in their guess and still have the attack count?

Suppose the successfully Hidden opponent has actually left the field without the barbarian knowing. Does the fact that the opponent is not actually there prevent the barbarian from making an attack on an unseen opponent?

If yes, and the rage ends, the player then gains information about the fact that the opponent is not present (which seems to go against the spirit of "If the target isn’t in the location you targeted, you automatically miss, but the DM typically just says that the attack missed, not whether you guessed the target’s location correctly.")

If no, and the barbarian is allowed to attack an opponent that is not actually there based on the plausible belief that an opponent is present, then what prevents the barbarian from postulating an opponent who could be there? For example, the barbarian invokes an NPC that has successfully Hidden against the party before – is it enough to maintain rage for the barbarian to say that they believe said NPC is present and Hidden and then attempt to attack them as an Unseen opponent?

Somewhat related: A barbarian’s belief that they are attacking an opponent is not sufficient to maintain rage if what they are attacking is an illusion. So attacking a not-creature that is there is not enough to maintain rage, but is it enough to attack an actual creature that is not there?

Does the Totem Barbarian feature Aspect of the Beast; Eagle overcome Sunlight Sensitivity?

Some races, for instance a kobold, have a disadvantage of Sunlight Sensitivity:

Sunlight Sensitivity. While in sunlight, the kobold has disadvantage on attack rolls, as well as on Wisdom (Perception) checks that rely on sight.

The Totem Barbarian gains a feature called "Aspect of the Beast" at level 6. The player can choose as animal as a totem and gain some aspect of them.

The aspect of "Eagle" states:

You gain the eyesight of an eagle. You can see up to 1 mile away with no difficulty, able to discern even fine details as though looking at something no more than 100 feet away from you. Additionally, dim light doesn’t impose disadvantage on your Wisdom (Perception) checks.

So how would this play out?

By nature, the kobold has disadvantage in sunlight (both being and seeing things within). But the Barbarian feature clearly states they can see "…up to 1 mile away with no difficulty".

Would the "no difficulty" cancel out the issue with seeing something in the sunlight? Specifically, would they be able to perceive (up to a mile) without a disadvantage?

Note: I’m ignoring the factor of the kobold BEING in the sunlight as they can be in a building, under an umbrella, whatever. I’m specifically curious about how well they can see.

Unarmored Defense (Barbarian plus sorcerer plus monk) [duplicate]

If there is a level 3 Draconic Bloodline Sorcerer, with a level in Barbarian for Unarmored Defense, and another level in Monk, for a 5th level character in total, would their total AC be 13 + CON + DEX + WIS? What if this character was also a warforged, with +1 to AC, +2 to Constitution, and +1 to Intelligence, Strength, or Dexterity?

Could a 5th level character do that in the first place? If so, does Unarmored Defense stack in that way?

Can a Wild Magic Barbarian restore a 7th(+) Level Warlock’s spell slots?

In the recently released preview of the Wild Magic Barbarian that will be in Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything (preview here), I noticed the 6th level feature ‘Bolstering Magic’. This feature has two applications. One acts as a Bless-type option, the second one reads:

Roll a d3. The creature [you’re touching] regains one expended spell slot, the level of which equals the number rolled or lower (the creature’s choice). Once a creature receives this benefit, that creature can’t receive it again until after a long rest.

Suppose this effect is used on a Warlock of level 7 or above, and for the sake of argument suppose we rolled a 3 on the d3. All of their spell slots are of spell level 4. What happens?

  • Nothing, the Warlock doesn’t have the right type of spell slot to regain
  • The Warlock has (expended) spell slots of Level 4 and higher, and now has a level 3 spell slot
  • Something else happens, namely …

Can a Path of the Totem Warrior barbarian have different totems chosen for each subclass feature at the same time?

I was creating a goliath Path of the Totem Warrior barbarian (PHB, p. 50), and had chosen the Bear totem for his 3rd-level Totem Spirit feature. The 6th-level Aspect of the Beast feature, however, is redundant for a Bear totem/goliath combination, since they both basically double his carrying capacity. I wondered if I could choose a different totem at 6th level.

I did notice the following language for each subsequent totem choice after the first (at levels 6 and 14):

At ___ level, you gain a magical benefit based on the totem animal of your choice. You can choose the same animal you selected at 3rd level or a different one.

My first assumption was that this is like swapping out spells known when you level in some spell casting classes, such as the bard (i.e. if you choose Wolf at 6th level, your abilities switch over to a Wolf Totem barbarian). After all, in online discussions, people often refer to a Bear Totem barbarian, or a Wolf Totem barbarian, but never do I see reference to a multi-totemed Barbarian. However, I wanted the 6th-level Wolf ability, but didn’t want to give up the 3rd level Bear ability.

Can a Path of the Totem Warrior barbarian have multiple totems? That is, can they have different totems chosen for each subclass feature at the same time?

Most effective way of improving survivability for an Ancestral Guardian Barbarian?

The Path of the Ancestral Guardian Barbarian (Xanathar’s Guide to Everything, p. 9-10) is an extremely powerful barbarian. It pretty much makes your allies invulnerable against an enemy boss.

But it does nothing for your own health. It will greatly incentivize enemies to take you down first to be rid of your annoying Guardian benefits.

Assuming I’m currently level 3 as an Ancestral Guardian, and leveling soon to 4, my stats are average (point buy), and I have no healing from allies, what is the best way to maximize my survivability for fights to come?

  • I’m willing to look into multiclassing, if there’s a valid strategy there.
  • I don’t expect anyone else to grab any healing abilities.
  • I’m not interested in specific magical items. (Potions and other common/uncommon magic items are fine)
  • I expect the campaign to last until about level 10.
  • By character level 10, I would like to have at least 6 levels of Barbarian
  • Emphasis on surviving against bosses, if possible.
  • Expected about 2 combat encounters per day.

If it helps refine your answer, my party consists of:

  • A Champion Fighter (who is very cowardly and selfish, doesn’t tank much)
  • A Fey Warlock (fairly standard, supportive player)
  • An Evocation Wizard (who lives to blow stuff up)
  • A Ranger/Rogue (who uses stealth and long range)

Can a Zealot Barbarian apply Radiant rage damage?

Rage says

When you make a melee weapon attack using Strength, you gain a bonus to the damage roll that increases as you gain levels as a barbarian, as shown in the Rage Damage column of the Barbarian table.

And a Zealot Barbarian can

At 3rd level, while you’re raging, the first creature you hit on each of your turns with a weapon attack takes extra damage equal to 1d6 + half your barbarian level. The extra damage is necrotic or radiant; you choose the type of damage when you gain this feature.

Can the rage damage be radiant/necrotic, or does it have to be part of the weapon’s damage die? Is Divine Fury part of the weapon damage die?

Can a Totem Warrior Barbarian choose a second Totem Spirit in place of an Aspect of the Beast?

Is it possible for a Totem Warrior Barbarian to select another totem from level 3 instead of the Aspect of the Beast at level 6?

At 6th level, you gain a magical benefit based on the totem animal of your choice. You can choose the same animal you selected at 3rd level or a different one. (Player’s Handbook)

This means that it’s possible for a Barbarian who selected the bear on level 3 (resistance) to e.g. select the eagle on level 6 (eyesight).

However, is it possible to select the eagle level 3 upgrade (Dash bonus action) on the Barbarian level 6 upgrade, when the bear was selected on the level 3 upgrade? As the Totem Spirit of level 3 is "lower" in some terms, I wouldn’t mind to allow it. This would create a level 6 Barbarian with resistance and Dash as a bonus action, a pretty fast tank character (for example).

And is this also valid for level 14 Totemic Attunement, thus allowing to select another (not yet selected) totem from the previous levels?