When a bard learns a Magic Secrets, it counts as a bard-spell. Of note, should they abandon any Secret-spell at later level, he can only replace it with one from the BARD list. Lord Crawford actually did rule-rulings on this, so this is clear: replacing one’s Magic Secrets is easily done, it is just somewhat unwise to do so.
Say a bard picks Find Familiar as a spell. Massive boon! For dirt cheap he can print them off as scrolls. Now who can use the scroll? Three possibilities:
This is a wizard spell on the wizard list – designed for wizards. Clearly only a wizard can use a wizard spell on the wizard list designed specifically for wizarding ways, right? So obvious: a wizard buying this spell can transcribe it into their book (with a good roll on a good day) – or simply use it and get themselves a familiar.
Any Magic Secrets spell, no matter which list it once came from, counts as a BARD spell for all intents and purposes (i.e. ‘learning, casting and recording’). Should a bard make such a scroll, any other bard can use it. A ‘secret’ no longer! But to be clear, if it IS a ‘bard’ spell, only bards could use this magic item. A wizard would not ever figure it out. A druid would have no chance. A barbarian would accidentally use this scroll as a fire-starter.
You can use any scroll if the spell is on your class list. So almost anyone can use that Charm Person scroll. Thus, the bard writing such a scroll cannot even use it themselves. Imagine the ignominy with scribing any Magic Secret: ‘I cannot read any of what i just wrote down.’
The third one sounds the least fun and least logical, so probably that one. If this is a repeat of a previous question, please allow me to delete this / i did search before posting.
The College of Creation bard gets Animating Performance at 6th level which allows them to animate an object and control it using a bonus action:
It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action. If you are incapacitated, the item can take any action of its choice, not just Dodge.
My question is, when the bard gets incapacitated, what does it mean for the object to take an action "of its choice?"
Does control of the object pass to the dungeon master?
For comparison, other, similar effects either explicitly state that the DM gains control. For example, Conjure elemental:
If your concentration is broken, the elemental doesn’t disappear. Instead, you lose control of the elemental, it becomes hostile toward you and your companions, and it might attack. An uncontrolled elemental can’t be dismissed by you, and it disappears 1 hour after you summoned it.
…Or simply dictate the conjured creature’s fallback behavior. For example, any of the new Summon spells in Tasha’s Cauldron:
The creature is an ally to you and your companions [and] It obeys your verbal commands […] If you don’t issue any, it takes the Dodge action and uses its move to avoid danger.
Note that the wording of Dancing Item is also used in the Circle of Wildfire Druid’s Wildfire Spirit.
They all just provide boons, right? So aren’t they just the same class?
Why would one pick one over the other and what’s the point of the other if they are all the same class?
So I seen a reactionary curse that basically says you roll your hemocraft die to reduce a attack roll that you can see. Since this and the lore bard’s use of bardic inspiration work mechanically the same via Cutting Words and uses a resource could it or should it be used in the same reaction to reduce a roll.
I’m currently in the process of compiling entry options for the Zhentarim Skymage prestige class. I found a spell that almost certainly allows any divine caster to qualify, but it’s asked more questions than it’s answered. First i should preface this with the actual spell and what it does so the issue is more clear. The spell Olidamara’s Bard Spell (Dragon 342 Pg 42) is a second level spell available to any character that takes the Initiate of Olidamara feat that allows the caster to prepare up to three levels worth of bard spells. This meets my needs because all of the spells required to enter the PrC i mentioned are third level or lower spells on the bard’s list.
However, there’s a problem. The spell is extremely vague as to how it works. It doesn’t specify that you prepare these spells in other slots, and ever other spell with a similar effect, namely Anyspell. prepares them in the slot used to cast the spell. This effectively would allow you to prepare a third level spell in a second level slot if it works this way. I had originally assumed that this spell let you expend a second level spell to prepare a limited number of bard spells in other slots, but I’ve seen enough people claiming that this isn’t how it works that i’m not sure.
Assuming it does work the same way i assumed it does, that still raises questions. Does a cleric need to cast the spell while preparing spells because of how their standard preparation rules work or can you leave slots unfilled and later fill them by casting the spell? Can a Favored Soul or other spontaneous divine caster use the spell to prepare bard spells in their normal slots in a similar way to how Arcane Preparation works?
I have a 9th level bard. Hypothetically, if when I reached 10th level I took a level in cleric and chose the life domain, so I would be bard 9/cleric 1.
The multi-classing rules state "When you gain a new level in a class, you get its features for that level" and then lists a bunch of exceptions, none of which apply to this situation.
In the cleric class, at level 1 you take a domain. The life domain has an ability called disciple of life which reads
Also starting at first level, your healing spells are more effective. Whenever you use a spell of 1st level or higher to restore hit points to a creature, the creature regains additional hit points equal to 2 + the spell’s level."
Note that it says healing spells, not specifically cleric ones.
It would seem the RAW here is that this would apply to my bard spells as well. So my mass cure wounds (which is 5th level and I would not be able to know as a cleric spell but which I do know as a bard spell), would heal everything an additional 7 points.
Is this how multiclassing works? It seems like my best multi-class option if it does (although I’d probably wait until 11th level since level 10 bards get awesome stuff). Am I missing something?
Bard at level 20 gains Superior Inspiration, meaning they get one paltry inspiration back if they roll initiative with none. It seems quite possible this will never come into play in many games, even.
(They also get a second 7th level spell slot, but any multiclass full caster gets that too.)
It seems one is always better off taking a level of any other full caster instead (Sorcerer should at least be always possible assuming amicable DM, but a Bard probably has 13 Int or Wis for Wizard/Cleric/Druid too), or even a level of any class which gives you anything at level 1.
The reason I am asking: I definitely want at least level 17 for actual 9th level spells. Then level 18 Magical Secrets (cough Wish cough) seems to give more value than any level 3 multiclass pick. Level 19 gives ASI/feat, also perhaps worth more than any 2nd level multiclass. But level 20, is that supposed to be a capstone ability?
Is there any reason at all to become a level 20 Bard? Some rule about class level 20 I am missing? Something related to Epic Boons? Some rare magic item for level 20 bards only? Anything?
Can a bard that uses Song of Rest during a short rest use hit die to recover hit points and benefit from the song? I wonder if using the Song of Rest would qualify as an activity more strenuous than reading, eating, resting or bandaging, as how the short rest definition puts it.
As a player and a dungeon master, I feel like the Psychic Blade of the college of whispers bard is really unbalanced regarding the Sneak Attack feature of the rogue.
First of all, they mostly does the same amount of damage… But the Psychic Blade does psychic damages, where the sneak attack’s damage type is the one of the weapon (bludgeoning, piercing or slashing). The problem is that psychic damage is one of the less resisted type of damage, where bludgeoning, piercing and slashing damages are the most resisted type of damages.
Second, Psychic Blade is way easier to trigger than Sneak Attack, only needing to spend a Bardic Inspiration (which come back on short rest after level 5) and you have it, where Sneak Attack require advantage or an ally to use it.
So, looking those elements, I decided to replace the cost Bardic Inspiration of Psychic Blade with a condition. To use the Psychic Blade feature, you don’t need to spend a Bardic Inspiration, you need advantage on charisma check against your target, be under the Mantle of Whispers feature effect, or the target have to be frightened or charmed before the attack hit.
To me, it keep the flavor of a bard that is also a killer, still synergyse with the others college of whisper features, but make it a little bit harder to the bard to have the Psychic Blade. But is it balanced?
The Swords Bard’s 3rd level feature, Blade Flourish, states:
[…] Whenever you take the Attack action on your turn, your walking speed increases by 10 feet until the end of the turn […]
So if a Bard took the Attack action multiple times (through something like haste or Action Surge) would they gain the speed increase multiple times as well?