How does an in-combat change to a bard’s Charisma Score affect its available Bardic Inspirations?

I’m not exactly sure how changes to ability scores in combat affect abilities that have uses based on the modifier for that that skill.

For example take a bard with a Charisma score of 18 that has already used his 4 Bardic Inspirations. He then draws the Star card from the Deck of Many things. He uses it to increase his Charisma to 20, making his Charisma modifier +5.

As the number of Bardic Inspirations is determined by the Charisma modifier, would its increase to +5 give him an additional use of Bardic Inspiration?

On the other hand, suppose the bard has an Ioun stone taking his Charisma to 20. He uses 4 Inspirations, and then steps in a Antimagic Field, disabling the Ioun stone and reducing his Charisma to 18(+4). Would he have one available Bardic Inspiration or none?

Is it possible to add bardic inspiration to time stop?

Wondering this because it would be pretty cool if you could make time stop more than 1d4 + 1 and have a really long time stop.

Bardic Inspiration

Once within the next 10 minutes, the creature can roll the die and add the number rolled to one ability check, Attack roll, or saving throw it makes. The creature can wait until after it rolls The D20 before deciding to use the Bardic Inspiration die, but must decide before the DM says whether the roll succeeds or fails. Once the Bardic Inspiration die is rolled, it is lost. A creature can have only one Bardic Inspiration die at a time.

What happens to bardic inspiration if either the bard or the recipient of the inspiration dies/goes unconscious?

In D&D 5e, a bard can give Bardic Inspiration – a d6-d12, depending on the level of the bard – which can be used by the recipient to add to a single ability check, attack roll, or saving throw within 10 minutes of getting the Bardic Inspiration die.

What happens to this Bardic Inspiration die when the bard goes unconscious/dies, or the character who received the inspiration goes unconscious?

Can Bless or Bardic Inspiration help a creature from rolling a 1 on a death save?

For instance, say the creature rolled a 1 on the d20, and would have gotten failed 2 death saves, but uses their pre-given bardic inspiration and actually rolls a total of 10+.

Would the creature be saved from the consequences of rolling a 1 on the d20, since it says that when you roll a 10 or higher, it counts as a success?

I know about the “specific beats general” rule, so in this case, which is the more specific rule?

If the roll is 10 or higher, you succeed.

or

When you make a death saving throw and roll a 1 on the d20, it counts as two failures.

Bardic abilities requiring concentration with respect to the Melodic Casting feat

According to the feat Melodic Casting in Complete Mage on page 44 it states:

…In addition, you can cast spells and activate magic items by command word or spell completion while using a bardic music ability. Bardic music abilities that requite concentration still take a standard action to perform.

Normal: A bard can’t cast spells or activate magic items by command word or spell completion while using bardic music.

Now I don’t know if there has been any statement as to which bardic music abilities require concentration and which that don’t other than to infer from what is presented in the descriptive passages of bardic music abilities on page 29 of the Player’s Handbook. I have read through the text and have assumed from these descriptions only the following require concentration:

  • Song of Freedom

  • Inspire Competence

  • Fascinate (and by extension suggestion and mass suggestion)

Is this correct, is there any official ruling on the issue?

What is the maximum number of bardic music uses a single-classed lvl 15 bard can have?

I am working on a (somewhat) functional version of the classic Bard/Barbarian hybrid. The lynchpin is using Rage Casting(Dragon #310), which requires casting to be a free action, citing Quicken Spell(PHB) as a potential option. To do this I’m using Metamagic Song(RoS) to power a quickened spell and using Rapid Metamagic(CM) to make this acceptable for spontaneous spellcasting, and other means of reducing metamagic cost in order make it cost less. Consequently, I need to have as many uses of Bardic Music per day..

How many bardic music uses is it possible for a 15th level bard have? Ideally I would like it to be at least 60-70.

How do you use the bardic masterpiece Vindictive Soliloquy?

This is what the Vindictive Soliloquy masterpiece does:

Your bombastic speech creates booming reverberations of sound.

Prerequisite(s): Perform (act), Perform (oratory), or Perform (sing) 10 ranks.
Cost: Feat or 4th-level bard spell known.

Effect: You provide an impassioned monologue from the point of view of a noble queen, voicing her inner turmoil at being betrayed by her own sister and calling for justice to strike from the heavens. If you perform this masterpiece with the Perform (sing) skill, it is a tempestuous aria instead of a rousing soliloquy.

Upon completing the performance, you may conjure bolts of lightning as though you had cast call lightning storm, except the bolts are made of elemental thunder and deal sonic damage rather than electricity damage. The bolts do not increase in damage if outdoors in a stormy area. Instead, in any environment, you may attempt a DC 25 Perform check as part of the standard action to call a bolt.

If your Perform check is successful, that bolt deals 5d10 points of sonic damage instead of 5d6.

Use: 5 bardic performance rounds.
Action: 5 full rounds.

Now the way I read it, it’s saying that you can do the damage while you are performing, but someone else could easily see this as only coming into effect after the 5 full rounds are complete.

So this masterpiece is either a decent alternative for a 4th level spell for bard, or completely useless as it would simply take too long.

Which one is the correct interpretation?

Starting multiple bardic performances in a single round

Bardic Performance reads as follows:

Starting a bardic performance is a standard action, but it can be maintained each round as a free action. Changing a bardic performance from one effect to another requires the bard to stop the previous performance and start a new one as a standard action. A bardic performance cannot be disrupted, but it ends immediately if the bard is killed, paralyzed, stunned, knocked unconscious, or otherwise prevented from taking a free action to maintain it each round. A bard cannot have more than one bardic performance in effect at one time.

At 7th level, a bard can start a bardic performance as a move action instead of a standard action. At 13th level, a bard can start a bardic performance as a swift action.

I’m going to play a Sound Striker and my plan is to use Weird Words an offensive bardic performance as a standard action and then use Inspire Courage to buff my party as a movement action.

Is that possible? Is there any rule that prevents me from starting more than 1 bardic performance per round?