Ranger Beast Master’s attack bonus

The Ranger companion says to add your proficiency bonus to the animals attack roll. Does this replace the animals proficiency bonus or add to it?

Ie does a 5th level ranger flying snake get +9 bonus or +7? The snakes natural +6 is it’s +4 dex bonus and it’s +2 proficiency bonus so does the ranger replace the +2 with her +3 bonus or add her +3 to the +6?

The players hand book says not to add your proficiency more than once which might suggest the +7 but technically the snakes proficiency and your proficiency are not the same bonus which would suggest the +9.

Does the Beast Master’s Primal Companion feature allows the beast to take two Actions in a single turn?

I watched a video from Dungeon Dudes on YouTube where they rated the Ranger subclasses. Around the 23:18 mark, they mentioned that the new Beast Master’s Primal Companion feature from Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything can allow the Ranger to forgo one of their attacks to allow the Beast to take the Attack action, on top of the action that they can make using the Ranger’s bonus action. The Primal Companion feature description says the following:

Primal Companion

[…]
In combat the beast acts during your turn. It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action. You can also sacrifice one of your attacks when you take the Attack action to command the beast to take the Attack action. If you are incapacitated, the beast can take any action of its choice, not just Dodge.
[…]

As far as I know, a creature can only take one action on their turn. Is this a specific ruling for the Primal Companion since it doesn’t have its own turn because "it acts on your [the Ranger’s] turn?" Also does this mean that the Ranger can break up their movement, actions, and bonus actions with the Beast’s on their turn, essentially controlling two characters freely? In the video, Monty mentioned that a level 11 Beast Master Ranger can make one attack and have the beast attack four times which is crazy in my opinion.

How to order Ranger’s beast to attack with TCoE?

In the PHB there is the Ranger subclass "Beast Master" which gives the opportunity to have a beast companion, which obey all orders from the Ranger. The beast attacks only if the ranger gives that command in his/her action.

But in TCoE there is a phrase for the beast, which says:

"It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action. You can also sacrifice one of your attacks when you take the Attack action to command the beast to take the Attack action."

It means that the ranger may use his/her bonus action also to command the beast to attack. Which as I understand doesn’t exclude the option of the original PHB defined one. Am I right, or I missunderstood this? Please can someone clarify me how can a ranger command his/her beast to attack targets with the TCoE variant?

Can you Wild Shape into a beast with the half-dragon template?

In D&D 5e, Half-Dragon is a template that can be applied to any beast, humanoid, or giant. When I applied the Red Dragon Wyrmling’s dragon breath – which deals 7d6 fire damage in a cone – to a Raven (CR 0) it came out as CR 1/4.

Druids can Wild-shape into any creature CR 1/4 or lower, starting at 2nd level (or Circle of the Moon Druids can Wild-shape into CR 1 creatures).

This would mean a level 2 Druid can wild shape into a creature that can deal 7d6 fire damage in a cone, with a 1/3 chance of being able to reuse it every turn. This is more damage than any other class can deal at this level, even with max stats (eg. a fighter action surging [once per day] deals only a max of 4d6+10, approximately the same as this, which the druid can do infinite times in a day). So, can druids Wild Shape into beasts with the half-dragon template?

Can an 8th level Monk/Barbarian (Path of the beast) really make 5 attacks per turn?

In Tasha‘s Cauldron of Everything, WotC released a new Primal Path for the babarian, the "Path of the Beast" which has the following rage feature:

Until the rage ends, you manifest a natural weapon. It counts as a simple melee weapon for you, and you add your Strength modifier to the attack and damage rolls when you attack with it, as normal. You choose the weapon’s form each time you rage:[…]

Claws. Each of your hands transforms into a claw, which you can use as a weapon if it’s empty. It deals 1d6 slashing damage on a hit. Once on each of your turns when you attack with a claw using the Attack action, you can make one additional claw attack as part of the same action.

Combined with 5 monk levels to get Extra attack and flurry of blows, could such a monk barbarian make 5 attacks in one round like:

1st round:

  • rage (bonus action)
  • 2 attacks (action) with claws
  • 1 extra claw attack (from "claws" feature)

2nd round:

  • 2 attacks (action) with claws
  • 1 extra claw attack (from "claws" feature)
  • 2 more attacks (bonus action flurry of blows)

Or am I missing a restriction that prevents this?

Does the UA Barbarian Path of the Beast Claw Add the Strength Modifier to Damage?

I was looking through the options for the 3rd level Path of Beast feature, Form of the Beast, and I noticed no mention for any damage modifiers on hit.

Claws. Your hands transform into claws, which deal 1d6 slashing damage on a hit. (UA 2020, Pg. 1)

In comparison to this, the Aarakocra race gives you the Talons, specifically mentioning the damage value + the Strength modifier.

Talons.
Your talons are natural weapons, which you can use to make unarmed strikes. If you hit with them, you deal slashing damage equal to 1d4 + your Strength modifier, instead of the bludgeoning damage normal for an unarmed strike. (DND Beyond)

I am curious about this, because in another question, people have asked about the claws in an attack action, referencing damage values to include the Strength modifier.

—- Take Attack Action —-
attack with Greataxe (1d12+2+STR)
attack with Claw (1d6+2+STR)
attack with Claw (1d6+2+STR)
(From Can you wield a Greataxe and Claws…?)

Monstrous Mount – Animal or Magical Beast?

I am playing a Goblin Hunter. When I reach 5th level, I am considering taking the Monstrous Mount feat to gain a Worg as my animal companion. The feat says that I follow all rules for an animal companion, except where it states that it is different. I assume this means that unlike normal Worgs (which are magical beasts), a worg gained through this feat would be an Animal.

I am confused by this because the Animal type says that no creature with an Intelligence score over 2 can be an animal. Is this a case where the specific rule trumps the general rule? Or would the Worg companion be a Magical Beast? If it is a Magical Beast, is that the only feature it retains from its monstrous stat block? For instance, most Worgs have racial modifiers to Perception, Stealth, and Survival. Would my Animal Companion Worg be absent those (basically a special worg that answers the hunter’s call to become an animal companion, so it is not like others of its kind)?

There are other features of Magical Beast that could be problematic if it retained them, such as a Good BAB progression and a d10 HD instead of d8.

Is there a way to cause an arbitrary magical beast to gain character levels in a chosen class?

I was looking at this answer from our fine cheese collection, and it occurred to me that it would be quite a lot more practical if we could arrange for the assistance of a gorilla and war mammoth with barbarian levels (especially as that would allow the gorilla to take levels in Ride). Awakening them is easily enough done, at which point they’re in the same intelligence range as anyone else (and if they’re too dumb, you can awaken another one) but I’ve not found a way to actually apply class levels to them once that was done. The Leadership feat offers a mechanic for hanging on to them, but doesn’t seem to do anything for their further development. The Monstrous Companion feat actually does offer a way to inject class levels into an existing magical beast, but only of a specific list of magical beasts on offer.

So… is there something that I’m missing? Is there a way to turn a War Mammoth (awakened or otherwise) into a barbarian? I suppose I’d also accept a method for indefinitely turning a barbarian into a war mammoth, as long as the barbarian continued to enjoy the benefits of his class features. That one seems somewhat less likely, however.

The objective here is that the stack could be fielded by an appropriately designed party of characters, after enough levels had passed to gain appropriate resources, without having to pause to transform before battle every time. Whether the mammoth starts out as a PC or not is considered unimportant for the purposes of the question. likewise, if you can manage to cause a war mammoth (and gorilla) with appropriate class levels to come into being, it is assumed that you can come up with a way to convince them to hang around and rage-stack with you.

Can you wield a Greataxe and Claws with the UA Barbarian Path of the Beast?

The UA Barbarian Path of the Beast has the following option when you rage:

Claws. Your hands transform into claws, which deal 1d6 slashing damage on a hit. When you take the Attack action on your turn and make an attack with your claws, you can make one additional attack using your claws as part of the same action.

Can a level 5 Barbarian attack with a Greataxe or other two-handed weapon then attack twice with their claws?

This would look like this:

—- Take Attack Action —-
attack with Greataxe (1d12+2+STR)
attack with Claw (1d6+2+STR)
attack with Claw (1d6+2+STR)

On one hand it seems that it is allowed by the rules considering nothing is mentioned about only attacking with the claws or that the claws cannot hold a weapon.

On the other hand it seems odd to make two attacks with claws while holding something.

On the third hand (which may or may not be required) the feature makes no mention of the claw attacks needing to be from different hands.

Does the Totem Barbarian feature Aspect of the Beast; Eagle overcome Sunlight Sensitivity?

Some races, for instance a kobold, have a disadvantage of Sunlight Sensitivity:

Sunlight Sensitivity. While in sunlight, the kobold has disadvantage on attack rolls, as well as on Wisdom (Perception) checks that rely on sight.

The Totem Barbarian gains a feature called "Aspect of the Beast" at level 6. The player can choose as animal as a totem and gain some aspect of them.

The aspect of "Eagle" states:

You gain the eyesight of an eagle. You can see up to 1 mile away with no difficulty, able to discern even fine details as though looking at something no more than 100 feet away from you. Additionally, dim light doesn’t impose disadvantage on your Wisdom (Perception) checks.

So how would this play out?

By nature, the kobold has disadvantage in sunlight (both being and seeing things within). But the Barbarian feature clearly states they can see "…up to 1 mile away with no difficulty".

Would the "no difficulty" cancel out the issue with seeing something in the sunlight? Specifically, would they be able to perceive (up to a mile) without a disadvantage?

Note: I’m ignoring the factor of the kobold BEING in the sunlight as they can be in a building, under an umbrella, whatever. I’m specifically curious about how well they can see.