Discern Realities — are players supposed to ask their questions before or after dice roll?

The book is pretty clear on this subject:

When you closely study a situation or person, roll+Wis.

✴On a 10+, ask the GM 3 questions from the list below. ✴On a 7–9, ask 1.

So, first you roll dice, then you ask questions from the list. Why do I ask, is because there were talks in the community which imply the players ask questions from the list when the roll still misses.

See Suddenly Ogres for the example — it explains how to narrate misses for Spout Lore and Discern Realities, but implies that players ask “Who’s in control” (a question from the list):

Who’s in control on this masquerade ball? It’s your rival, Duke Dupont, just as you feared!

Who’s in control in that masked ball? Suddenly, ogres are everywhere! I suppose that means that ogres are in control now.

How could that be? Should player ask before rolling the dice, or should the GM ask for further clarifications on miss, or what?

Can Dispel magic be used on a readied spell before the trigger occurs?

NOTE: this does not refer to the case of readying a Dispel magic to stop a spell from being cast as in this question, but rather using Dispel magic to stop a readied spell from being cast.

While writing this answer, I ran into an interesting corner case regarding Dispel magic. Given that a readied spell is cast as normal on your turn, but its energy is held (requiring your concentration) until the trigger occurs, after which is released with your reaction, would this classify it as an ongoing magical effect (explicitly called out in the Dispel magic description)?

The rules on spell duration (PHB p. 203) explicitly split spells into instantaneous and concentration, mentioning that (empasis mine):

Concentration (PHB p. 203)

Some spells require you to maintain concentration in order to keep their magic active.

Official rules answers for March 2016

Whenever you wonder whether a spell’s effects can be dispelled or suspended, you need to answer one question: is the spell’s duration instantaneous? If the answer is yes, there is nothing to dispel or suspend. Here’s why: the effects of an instantaneous spell are brought into being by magic, but the effects aren’t sustained by magic (see PH, 203).

Gmail shows my photo after I enter my emaill address (but before my password)

If I have a profile photo associated with a Google account, then when I enter my email address into GMail, but before I enter my password, the photo is shown.

Is there a possible security breach there? For instance, if someone guesses at an email address, perhaps after obtaining part of it, the photo appearing confirms ownership, without that someone needing to know my password.

I know not to associate a picture with my account, others may not; but let’s discuss Google’s side of things, not the account holder’s.

Are there SEO repercussions of using ::before selector to add content to the page?

I’m working on a website where I don’t have full access to the code. I’m having to use a ::before content selector to add a sub-header.

Are there any known SEO repercussions from doing this? Specifically from Google thinking it is some black hat shenanigans.

I’m not too worried if the search engines aren’t actually able to crawl the text as it isn’t too important from an SEO perspective. But I don’t want Google thinking I’m being sneaky and trying to inject some keywords or something.

Can a Drunken Master Monk spend a ki point to use flurry of blows, but use the disengage part to move to a different target before attacking with it?

Can a Drunken Master Monk spend a ki point to use flurry of blows, but use the disengage part from the Drunken Technique feature to move to a different target before attacking with the flurry of blows?

Can a character with the Actor feat mimic speech they heard before they learned the feat?

The Actor Feat:

You can mimic the speech of another person or the sounds made by other creatures. You must have heard the person speaking. or heard the creature make the sound, for at least 1 minute.

If a player learns this feat at 8th level, can they mimic speech they heard back when they were first level and did not have the feat?

What about a speech heard 200 years ago when they were but a small elven child?

RAW, I think it’s allowed. And I don’t think it breaks the game to allow it. But I’m curious if there are any aspects of this that I’m missing. I would assume that for the 200-year old speech, that it would at least have to have been memorable in some way! 🙂

Does the Abjurer have to activate the Projected Ward before or after damage is rolled?

Does the Abjurer have to activate the Projected Ward before or after damage is rolled?

For example, if another player is at 10hp, can the wizard wait to see if 10hp damage is done before choosing to use the Projected Ward on that player?

Projected Ward: Starting at 6th level, when a creature that you can see within 30 feet of you takes damage, you can use your reaction to cause your Arcane Ward to absorb that damage. If this damage reduces the ward to O hit points, the warded creature takes any remaining damage.

Is there any information on what Bloodroot Grove was before the events of this AL module?

I was looking over the Adventurer’s League module, DDAL09-08 – In the Garden of Evil (Season 9, Descent into Avernus). This adventure concerns a location in Avernus (the first layer of the Nine Hells) called Bloodroot Grove, and the evil unicorn Zhalruban who has been corrupted by the grove.

What I can’t understand is what such a grove was doing in Avernus in the first place. My impression of Avernus is that it’s a blasted wasteland, not somewhere where you would expect to find a grove.

Apparently, it is in some way related to Silvanus, the god of nature:

Clearly Silvanus didn’t decide to put it in Avernus, so how did it get here? Was it “lifted” from somewhere else (such as the Material Plane or the Feywild*), similar to how the town Elturel was taken into Avernus from the Material Plane (from the main adventure)?

* The grove might have once been in the Feywild, since there’s this quote (even though it only explicitly refers to one tree):

I assume it has been corrupted simply because it has been on Avernus for so long, since Silvanus wouldn’t have created it as a corrupted grove initially, so something must have corrupted it, and being on Avernus fits as the cause of the corruption, but that further suggests my theory that it wasn’t located in Avernus to begin with.

Is there any more information whatsoever about Bloodroot Grove and how it came to be on Avernus?

Can an artificer use Magical Tinkering on a weapon before infusing it (and have it stay)?

This is mainly a question related to narrative/creative license so the reality is that it probably requires a discussion with a DM. But, so as to have a firmer idea of how to interpret the rules interactions, I’m asking the question in advance of that discussion here:

The Artificer’s Magical Tinkering feature grants the following:

At 1st level, you learn how to invest a spark of magic into mundane objects. […] You then touch a Tiny nonmagical object as an action and give it one of the following magical properties of your choice:

  • Whenever tapped by a creature, the object emits a recorded message that can be heard up to 10 feet away. You utter the message when you bestow this property on the object, and the recording can be no more than 6 seconds long.

Artificers also have the ability to infuse weapons but, in doing so, the weapon becomes magical:

Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item.

I think it would be fun to have an artificer that has recorded an insult on a non-magical weapon using Magical Tinkering (such as the sound of blowing a raspberry) so that when the thrown weapon smacks into the hostile (ie, is “tapped” by it) the weapon emits the insulting message.


Magical Tinkering states that it ” give[s the item] one of the following magical properties.” Does that invalidate the item as a candidate for a weapon infusion?

Does the weapon infusion, which causes the weapon to become magical, erase (or suppress) the Magical Tinkering effect?