What spells or other effects cause a creature to make a saving throw to avoid being knocked out?

I saw that a hydra has "advantage on saving throws against being… knocked unconscious" and was curious as to what spells or effects would cause such a thing to happen. The only effect that came to mind is the sleep spell, which operates on hit points rather than a saving throw. What else can knock a creature unconscious?

Can I use Two Weapon fighting with Heavy weapons by being enlarged?

I love the idea of two-weapon fighting, and tinkering around with it. My character is going to be a Paladin. But to effectively dual wield as a Paladin I need to delve into either Ranger or Fighter, unless the DM is gracious and gives me Two-Weapon Fighting Style instead of the Paladin’s normal choices. For the purposes of this question, we will assume that isn’t the case.

Paladin 12 / Fighter 8 is the final build. Only going up to 12 in Paladin for the automatic divine weapon smite 1d8 bonus on damage attacks and the ASI. I’ll be doing Vengeance for Hunter’s Mark, adding another 1d6 per attack. Assuming Dual Wielder Feat, an attack should be roughly 2d8 + 1d6 + mod, which is relatively decent in my eyes considering you do that 3 times per round + occasional smiting on critical hits.

For Fighter at level 3 I would be going Eldritch Knight for bonding weapons and more spell slots.

This is where things can get a bit fun, and a bit iffy. From what I have read, wielding a heavy weapon in one hand gives disadvantage on attack rolls. Using the 2nd level spell Enlarge, you then pull out two bad ass heavy weapons and proceed to two-weapon style with them.

Honestly this is completely up to DM ruling and whatnot. For example PHB p. 147:

Two-Handed. This weapon requires two hands when you attack with it.

Based on that alone you could overrule having a greatsword in each hand, even when under the effects of enlarge. Becoming a size category larger would make sense that you could wield heavier weapons though, for the same reasoning small creatures can’t use heavy weapons all that great but medium can. Enlarge only lasts for 1 minute, and requires concentration, so if you fail a concentration saving throw to maintain it you are now stuck with two huge weapons you can’t really use, forcing you to switch back to regular ones.

Another question would be does the added 1d4 damage apply to the greatswords.

The target’s weapons also grow to match its new size. While these weapons are enlarged, the target’s attack with them deal 1d4 extra damage.

Would switching to the greatswords beforehand add in the extra damage? Or would they now be even bigger and your new size unable to wield them anyway? I could always switch to the greatswords after the spell has been cast. In either case, could this work?

Does a “willing” creature know the outcome of the spell that is being cast on them?

Perhaps put another way, can you lie when casting a spell on a "willing creature"? For instance, I could cast Dimension Door on myself and one willing creature. I may tell him we’re going across that gorge, but in reality, we’re going 500 feet up for some tasty 20d6 fall damage for both of us, because why not?

Does a willing creature know what they are subjecting themselves to specifically? Or do they merely allow a spell to be cast on them, trusting that you’re going to do what you say you’re going to do?

Can a spell being cast via a magic item be considered to be more than one class’ spell at the same time?

Can a spell being cast via a magic item be considered to be more than one class’ spell at the same time? Specifically, items phrased along the lines of “While holding it, you can use an action […] to cast [a spell] from it”, with no ties to a particular class (such as Wand of Magic Missiles, Helm of Teleportation, Wand of Entangle, etc.).

The reason I’m asking this question is it seems like it is possible via an odd interaction quirk of the following rules that I’m aware of, and I wanted to make sure I’m not missing anything:

  • From the answers over on the question of “What makes a spell being cast considered to be a {class} spell?”, the implication is that something is a ‘class spell’ if it is on that class’ spell list.

  • The multiclass spellcasting rules state “Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes”. However, in an instance where you are a multiclassed character who neither knows nor has prepared the spell from either class, I don’t think this rule would apply, removing the limit of being associated with only one class.

  • My current understanding is that spells cast from magic items can still be considered class spells, as per the answer to “Can a sorcerer spell cast from a magic item trigger a Wild Magic Surge” (plus, they are still on the class’ spell list, as mentioned above).


(For a specific application of where this may matter, consider this example: Could a multiclassed 10th level School of Evocation wizard/1st level Wild Magic sorcerer PC benefit from both Empowered Evocation and Wild Magic Surge on a single cast of magic missile from a Wand of Magic Missiles, assuming that they did not pick up magic missile as a spell via either of their classes? Empowered Evocation and Wild Magic Surge care that the spell being cast is a wizard spell and a sorcerer spell, respectively.)

5E rules regarding armor and being prone [closed]

In 5E, the rules seem pretty straightforward, but clear, regarding armor and the associated AC. However, it seems a little out of balance for characters who fall prone.

Does, or should, the AC for a character change if they are prone? For example, the Paladin in my group I am DM’ing was wearing plate armor and was knocked unconscious, falling prone. As far as I can tell, this means he still retains his 18 AC, regardless of the fact he is no longer moving.

Should the AC stay at 18 or get reduced? Am I missing where this might be covered?

What can I do about the guys being distracted by a new girl in D&D group?

We recently got a new party member, and she is … well, extremely distracting if you catch my drift. As the DM it is frustrating, because all the guys are trying to flirt with her, and shower her with items in game. The whole thing is quickly becoming a mess. (One even attempted to grope her, In the game and real life, an issue being addressed in a separate question) Seriously, I have no freaking idea what to say to the guys, and how to do it, the whole thing just seems so … awkward. Not only that, but I too have found myself attracted to her. How do I get my own, and my group’s hormones to be put away so we can play the game and have fun; which is what I’m sure she is trying to do also. We are a bunch of 8th and 9th graders and we are all friends.

Can someone help me?

Potential vulnerability in JSON response returning base 64 encoded image data, with the response being vulnerable to MIME sniffing

A JSON response in the API of a webapp is returning the base64 of a user-uploaded image, and there’s no X-Content-Type-Options Header to prevent MIME sniffing.

Could this be a potential vulnerability such as an XSS for the webapp by using steganography to edit the image with a payload, uploading it, and then MIME sniffing the JSON response? (or by any other means?)

Prevent block from being used in main editor, use only as inner block

I am currently using the allowed_block_type filter to control the available blocks in my theme, similar to the following example:

function acf_allowed_blocks($  allowed_blocks, $  post) {     // Register core blocks     $  core_blocks = array(         'core/buttons',         'core/heading',         'core/image',         'core/list',         'core/paragraph',     );      // Register custom blocks     $  custom_blocks = array(         'acf/test-block',     );      // Register plugin specific blocks     $  plugin_blocks = array(         'gravityforms/form',     );      // Specify block groupings available on specific post types     switch ($  post->post_type) {     case 'post_type_example':         $  allowed_blocks = array_merge($  core_blocks);         break;     default:         $  allowed_blocks = array_merge($  core_blocks, $  custom_blocks, $  plugin_blocks);     }      return $  allowed_blocks; } add_filter('allowed_block_types', 'acf_allowed_blocks', 10, 2); 

While this works perfectly, I am trying to determine whether or not it’s possible to remove the gravityforms/form block, but allow it inside the acf/test-block. Currently, if I remove the block from this function, it’s also becomes unavailable as an inner block in my ACF block markup, which looks like this:

$  allowed_blocks = array( 'gravityforms/form' ); echo '<InnerBlocks allowedBlocks="' . esc_attr(wp_json_encode($  allowed_blocks)) . '" />'; 

Does anyone have any idea on whether or not this is even possible with the current state of Gutenberg? I can just as easily live with it being available as both a main and an inner block, but it would be my preference to only use it as an inner block.

Can a creature with a natural walking speed of 0 ft. get up from being prone?

In a one-shot I recently played the players were fighting a homebrewed Weeping Angel (stats). It has a walking speed of 0 ft. and can teleport 80 ft. on its turn under some conditions. One of the players knocked the Weeping Angel, which is essentially a statue, over by using the shove action. On its turn, the Weeping Angel was prone with a speed of 0 ft. It then used its Impossible movement to teleport away and appear upright again.

Now there are three options on how to rule this situation:

  1. The Weeping Angel uses half of 0 ft., so still 0 ft., to get up from being prone and proceeds as normal
  2. The Weeping Angel lifts the prone condition simply by teleporting
  3. The Weeping Angel is prone, and can’t get up anymore

According to the rules, which of this rulings (if any) would be correct?

As the DM, how do I handle enemy NPC Perception when the party approaches them without being stealthy?

I have a little question. My players are following a group of bandits, but the players are not hiding, they are even riding horses. They reach a beach where the 5 bandits are preparing a boat to retreat; 2 of the bandits are paying attention to see if someone comes, and the other 3 are just talking. My questions are:

  • The 3 Bandits talking use their passive perception to try to see the players, right?
  • The 2 Bandits that are paying attention roll for perception to see the players?
  • If my players doesn’t go in Hide, just riding the horses to the beach, whats the DC the bandits must roll?