Does the Flame Arrows spell spoil a Gloom Stalker Ranger’s Umbral Sight unseen benefit?

So this came up last night, and I ruled Yes, it does spoil it. I let the group know this was a one-time ruling as I wanted to post here to solicit an answer to set it in stone for the table.

It has been previously agreed a Gloom Stalker Ranger in darkness has advantage on every attack against creatures that require darkvision to see:

Does a Gloom Stalker making ranged attacks while in darkness have advantage on every attack?

I think the key point here surrounds this question:

Does pulling / drawing / shooting a Flame Arrows enchanted arrow emit light from the fire? At what point is the arrow or javelin "flaming", if at all? And if it’s prior to impact, does it spoil "darkness"? If it doesn’t flame, how does it cause 1d6 Fire damage?

There is nothing in the RAW for Flame Arrows which states that the arrows are flaming while drawn or in flight, but there is also nothing saying that aren’t. So I think this comes down to DM judgement call. I ruled that, like a Fire Arrow, it’s on fire before launched, and thus, makes the Ranger visible.

What do folks think, and why?

Can a character inlay a +1 wand into a weapon and still gain its casting benefit?

I’ve been playing 5e for about a year now and recently started my own campaign DMing for a group of people that have never played before. They took to it immediately! Things have been going pretty well so far and we’ve been having a great time.

Our group’s warlock recently found a Wand of the War Mage +1. He’d like to find a high level wizard who can help him inlay it into a dagger (or, for those more flavour text oriented, a black kris blade). The goal being to then have a functioning dagger that gives a +1 to spell attack rolls. It would still be primarily a spellcasting focus, but would additionally give him a little bit of melee should he be caught in close range and not able to escape (he is a pure caster and not a bladelock so will be doing his best to avoid direct combat most of the time).

I asked my former DM (a very much RAW kind of guy) and he said NO. He didn’t really have a good explanation as to why though. I am, however, leaning in the opposite direction, If he’s willing to part with his gold I see no reason not to let this happen. Still, is there support for or against this decision?

I don’t yet have all the materials myself and was wondering if there is anything outright stated about this type of crafting (inlaying) in RAW. That being said, I would love to hear more opinions, either for or against, from some more experienced DMs.

Can you benefit from the Dueling fighting style for one weapon, then draw a second weapon as part of Extra Attack to qualify for Two-Weapon Fighting?

Say a Champion fighter has the "Two-Weapon Fighting" fighting style and the "Dual Wielder" feat. At 10th level, they pick up "Dueling" (+2 to damage rolls when wielding a single one-handed melee weapon) for their 2nd fighting style. Since they’re 10th-level, their Extra Attack feature lets them make 2 attacks as part of the Attack action.

Can they have one weapon drawn for their first attack, to benefit from Dueling – and only then draw another weapon for their second attack in the Attack action, in order to meet the requirement for Two-Weapon Fighting (and thus deliver another attack with their bonus action)?

Can a Flesh Golem benefit from the 7th level ‘regenerate’ (spell)?

Traditionally, the flesh golem is Alive… its ALIVE!!. Not so with 5e D&D of course, it is just another automaton but made with soggy RAW parts. Too bad of course (some amazing clips and reels of lore just… left on the cutting room floor as it were) – but RAW is RAW.

For reasons i cannot find in the monster description golems cannot accept most healing spells. It must be under ‘general golem characteristics’ or something. I cannot find it. I also searched Stack Exchange a few times to see if this was already answered a few times. Forgive me if i missed it?

Sometimes there are exceptions to general rules. In this case, the 7th level spell Regenerate seems to be pretty darn powerful. New limbs in just two minutes! That’s the stuff.

Now i get that this should NOT work with golems of any other material (such as stone, iron or clay). If it did RAW, i still would not allow it as a DM. But this would be a great way of rebuilding a fleshy-robot-person-thing when lightning can ‘heal’ but not rebuild.

My thanks.

Is there a mechanical benefit to using a light crossbow over a long bow or short bow?

A long bow (1d8, 150/600 range), and a short bow (1d6, 80/320 range) benefit from "Extra Attack".

A light crossbow (1d8, 80/320 range), or a hand crossbow (1d6, 30/120 range), do not benefit from "Extra Attack".

A light crossbow is worse in terms of range, and damage (with Extra Attack) than the long bow. A light crossbow is on par for range with the shortbow, and worse for damage (with Extra Attack).

I understand that with Crossbow Expert Feat, you can make 3 attacks with hand crossbows at still a very short range of 30 feet.


Mechanically, I don’t see any benefit to a light crossbow if you have an Extra Attack. Is there some benefit to using a light crossbow I am missing?

Does an Eldritch Knight fighter’s War Magic feature benefit from the Extra Attack feature?

I am wondering about the wording here. On PHB p. 75, the description of the Eldritch Knight fighter’s War Magic feature says:

When you use your action to cast a cantrip, you can make one weapon attack as a bonus action.

Does the Eldritch Knight’s War Magic feature benefit from the Extra Attack feature, allowing them to make multiple attacks?

I feel like the wording would have to be "you can take an Attack action as a bonus action" to have access to multiple attacks. But the current wording doesn’t so I read this as not allowing multiple attacks.

Am I right, or does War Magic allow the Eldritch Knight to benefit from the "Extra Attack" feature too?

How does the Oathbow’s benefit to ranged attacks interact with the Arcane Archer fighter’s Arcane Shot options Piercing/Seeking Arrow?

Part of the description of the oathbow magic item says:

When you make a ranged attack roll with this weapon against your sworn enemy, you have advantage on the roll. In addition, your target gains no benefit from cover, other than total cover, and you suffer no disadvantage due to long range. If the attack hits, your sworn enemy takes an extra 3d6 piercing damage.

However, the Arcane Archer fighter archetype from Xanathar’s Guide to Everything (previously appearing in UA: Revised Subclasses) has the ability to imbue their arrows with magic. Two of the Arcane Shot options seem like they might conflict with the oathbow‘s trigger condition.

The description of Piercing Arrow says, in part (XGtE, p. 29; identical to the version from UA:RS):

[…] When you use this option, you don’t make an attack roll for the attack. Instead, the arrow shoots forward in a line, which is 1 foot wide and 30 feet long, before disappearing. […] Each creature in that line must make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, a creature takes damage as if it were hit by the arrow, plus an extra 1d6 piercing damage. On a successful save, a target takes half as much damage.

The description of Seeking Arrow similarly says (XGtE, p. 30; also identical to the UA:RS version):

[…] When you use this option, you don’t make an attack roll for the attack. Instead, choose one creature you have seen in the past minute. The arrow flies toward that creature, moving around corners if necessary and ignoring three-quarters cover and half cover. If the target is within the weapon’s range and there is a path large enough for the arrow to travel to the target, the target must make a Dexterity saving throw. […] On a failed save, the target takes damage as if it were hit by the arrow, plus an extra 1d6 force damage, and you learn the target’s current location. On a successful save, the target takes half as much damage, and you don’t learn its location.

So how does the oathbow interact with these 2 Arcane Shot options by RAW?

I know some situations override things going both ways in favor of exploitation and prevention.

Does the class skill let you bypass the attack roll while getting the oathbow‘s power buff? Or do you not get the buff?

Can the third benefit of the Mobile feat prevent multiple creatures you attack in a single turn from making opportunity attacks against you that turn?

I am playing a monk. I wanted to use the Mobile feat, specifically the third option that prevents opportunity attacks, to do the following:

  1. hit creature 1 with my attack, then move away from creature 1
  2. then use Flurry of Blows on creature 2, then move away
  3. then make an unarmed strike on creature 3

…all without provoking opportunity attacks from any of them, thanks to the Mobile feat.

However, I was told that I can not do that because it only works for one creature and only my action is a "melee attack" or some such reason.

Is my interpretation right according to "rules as written", or am I misunderstanding how it works? It seems quite vague.

Can a character with the Defensive Duelist feat who never makes an attack with the finesse weapon still gain the benefit of the feat?

The description of the Defensive Duelist feat says (PHB, p. 165):

When you are wielding a finesse weapon with which you are proficient and another creature hits you with a melee attack, you can use your reaction to add your proficiency bonus to your AC for that attack, potentially causing the attack to miss you.

Assume a spellcaster who has the Defensive Duelist feat is holding a dagger and an arcane focus. For the duration of combat, they cast spells and never make a melee weapon attack. Do they still gain the benefit of the feat?