When a ranged attack deals multiple damage types, can I choose what damage type my Sharpshooter bonus gives?

I am a Blood Hunter (Critical Role class here) with the Sharpshooter and Crossbow Expert feats wielding two hand crossbows. My Crimson Rite allows me to deal an additional 1dx magical damage of some element when I make an attack with a targeted weapon. Sharpshooter simply says that you can add 10 damage to the attack, but it doesn’t specify type. I see a direct comparison to Jeremy Crawford’s ruling on Hunter’s Mark, implying I could choose the damage type of the extra damage. Am I missing some rule that contradicts my assumption?

Can a Kensei monk spend a bonus action to use the Kensei’s Shot feature after they make an attack roll, and still do the extra damage on that attack?

The Way of the Kensei monk’s Path of the Kensei feature grants several benefits, including Kensei’s Shot. The wording of Kensei’s Shot is as follows (Xanathar’s Guide to Everything, p. 34):

You can use a bonus action on your turn to make your ranged attacks with a kensei weapon more deadly. When you do so, any target you hit with a ranged attack using a kensei weapon takes an extra 1d4 damage of the weapon’s type. You retain this benefit until the end of the current turn.

Can you choose to spend the bonus action to use Kensei’s Shot after rolling to hit, and still gain the extra damage on the attack you just made? Or do you have to declare that you’re using Kensei’s Shot before you make the attack roll?

Utility of Proficiency Bonus in Statblock for Summoned Creatures without Proficiencies?

Looking into Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything, I was reviewing the stat block of the Fey summoned by the Summon Fey spell. Amongst the statistics provided is the Proficiency Bonus of the spirit, defined as "equals [the caster’s] bonus."

The Summoned Fey has no Skill, Tool, or Saving Throw Proficiencies. Presumably the Proficiency Bonus value is already effectively baked into the Shortsword Attack, and the Spell Save DC for its bonus actions, as those are based on the Caster’s Spell Attack and Spell Save DC.

Is there another reason why the Player or DM would need to know this Proficiency Bonus, or is it merely a leftover from using a similar Stat Block for companions that do have proficiencies, such as the Battle Smith’s Steel Defender, or the Homunculus Servant Infusion?

Does the Artificer’s Spell-Storing Item effectively bypass the bonus action spellcasting rule?

The rule on Bonus Action Casting Time states:

A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.

This would ordinarily prevent you from casting a levelled spell and a bonus action spell on the same turn; however, the Artificer’s Spell-Storing Item states:

[…] While holding the object, a creature can take an action to produce the spell’s effect from it, using your spellcasting ability modifier. […]

Furthermore, the following question’s highest-scoring answer states:

  • Do class or subclass features that relate to spellcasting apply when producing a spell's effect from an Artificer's Spell-Storing Item?

[…] The user never casts the spell either. They merely use a (special, unnamed) action to produce the spell’s effects. They don’t cast it and don’t get to modify it with their features which care about them casting a spell. […]

And the Sage Advice Compendium even states (page 3):

Q. Which action is used to activate a Spell-Storing Item?

A. Activating a Spell-Storing Item uses the Use an Object action.

Does this mean that a caster could use a Spell-Storing Item, creating the effects of any 1st or 2nd level Artificer spell with a casting time of 1 action, and then use their bonus action to cast any (bonus action) spell?

Does the bonus damage from Spirit Shroud apply to an Echo’s opportunity attacks?

The UA spell Spirit Shroud has the following effect:

Until the spell ends, any attack you make deals 1d8 extra damage when you hit a creature within 10 feet of you.

The Echo Knight has the following ability (emphasis mine):

When a creature that you can see within 5 feet of your echo moves at least 5 feet away from it, you can use your reaction to make an opportunity attack against that creature as if you were in the echo’s space.

Assuming that a creature triggers an opportunity attack from an Echo created by an Echo Knight Fighter under the effects of Spirit Shroud that is more than 10 feet away from the creature, would Spirit Shroud’s bonus damage apply to the attack?


My uncertainty stems mainly from the fact that it’s clear that normal attacks made by the Echo would not gain this bonus (if made from more than 10 feet away), as they simply originate from the Echo:

When you take the Attack action on your turn, any attack you make with that action can originate from your space or the echo’s space

The addition of "as if you were in the echo’s space" seems to imply that opportunity attacks for Echos work differently, however.

Does the Doppelganger apply bonus damage from it’s Surpise Attack feature twice?

The Doppelganger gets extra damage if it surprises an enemy and hits it.

Surprise Attack. If the doppelganger surprises a creature and hits it with an attack during the first round of combat, the target takes an extra 10 (3d6) damage from the attack.

Since the Doppelganger gets 2 attack per round, if it hits with both attacks during the first round, will it add the bonus damage on each attack?

If an Artillerist casts a spell through their arcane firearm, how is the d8 bonus damage applied?

The Artillerist Artificer’s Arcane Firearm feature says:

When you cast an Artificer spell through the firearm, roll a d8, and you gain a bonus to one of the spell’s damage rolls equal to the number rolled. [ERLW, pg. 60]

How does this affect spells with multiple rays? Just add d8 to a single ray? E.g. Scorching Ray: "Make a ranged spell attack for each ray. On a hit, the target takes 2d6 fire damage." So one ray of the player’s choice does 2d6+1d8 and the rest do 2d6?

And what about Area of Effect spells? Does it add d8 to every creature’s damage (before any halving from successful saves)? E.g. Fireball: "Each creature in a 20-foot-radius sphere centered on that point must make a Dexterity saving throw. A target takes 8d6 fire damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one." So all creatures take 8d6+1d8 (or half of that)?

The 5e Inquisitive Subclass allows perception checks as a bonus action. Would that matter in a heavily obscured area during combat?

Let’s say an Inquisitive is in a fog cloud. By my understanding, advantage and disadvantage cancels out if you are fighting someone else in that cloud. But if you were able to make a bonus perception check (and succeed) before attacking, could that negate your disadvantage?

As far as I can tell, there are no direct rule applications but I just wondered if someone had any thoughts on it. I guess in my head, using your action to search for someone when you can’t see due to environmental conditions them isn’t that useful for attacking purposes. But if you were to use a bonus action (in effect searching and attacking near simultaneously) would that change anything?

Same question for attacking from outside said hazard. I search, find, and shoot arrow – negate disadvantage?

Does the Spiritual Weapon spell take a bonus action or an action to use?

I am a 5th level cleric in D&D and I am a little unsure about how to use spiritual weapon, which is cast with a bonus action.

The spell says that you create a weapon and then you can attack. It then says that “on your turn” as a bonus action you can move the weapon and hit another person, but spiritual weapon itself is already a bonus action.

Does this mean that you get a bonus action on a bonus action, or does the first bonus action become an action?

Does the bonus action shove from Unearthed Arcana’s Telekinetic feat move the target through the air, or only on the ground?

Imagine a party of PCs exploring a dungeon inside a volcano. After a climactic confrontation with the Big Bad, the volcano begins to erupt, and the PCs must flee for their lives. Unfortunately, one of the PCs — Tarly Target — is badly injured and can barely walk. Working together to carry Target, the PCs race toward the volcano’s mouth. Just as freedom nears, a sudden quake tears open the path before them, creating a 15-foot chasm that begins filling with molten lava. There’s no way Target can make the jump.

Psimon Psion, a PC with the Telekinetic feat from Unearthed Arcana’s "Psionic Options Revisited", proposes to use the feat to try to hurl Target across the chasm. The feat’s third bullet says:

As a bonus action, you can try to telekinetically shove one creature you can see within 30 feet of you. When you do so, roll your Psionic Talent die, and the target must succeed on a Strength saving throw (DC 8 + your proficiency bonus + the ability modifier of the score increased by this feat) or be moved toward you or away from you a number of feet equal to 5 times the number you rolled. A creature can willingly fail this save.

Assuming Psion could roll a 3 or greater on his Psionic Talent Die, sufficient to move Target the full 15 feet required to clear the chasm, is this a viable use of the feat? Must Target remain in contact with the ground the entire time he’s being moved by the shove, such that he’d immediately plunge to his doom once moved over the chasm? Or can the shove actually propel him through the air to the other side?

For completeness’s sake, I note the following:

  • The normal shove action (PHB p. 195-196) only moves a creature a maximum of 5 feet, so it does not offer much guidance here.
  • The telekinesis spell (PHB p. 280-281) can move a creature, but the move is not characterized as a shove and explicitly can hold the target in mid-air, so it is not helpful here either.