Heat Metal on Animated Armour – Can something be both an object and a creature? [duplicate]

Heat metal says (Emphasis mine) :

Choose a manufactured metal object, such as a metal weapon or a suit of heavy or medium metal armor, that you can see within range. You cause the object to glow red-hot. Any creature in physical contact with the object takes 2d8 fire damage when you cast the spell. Until the spell ends, you can use a bonus action on each of your subsequent turns to cause this damage again.

The target in this case was Animated armour (which is a construct).

In our session we did rule that it could work just because it fit well with the story. We played it out that the metal was melting and deforming so the joints wouldn’t work. However the issue we had comes down to:

Can something be both an object and a creature?

The armour needs to be a manufactured object for the spell to work (and it specifically mentions a suit of metal armour) but also needs to be a creature to take the damage.

Why both DSolve and NDSolve are unable to solve a second-order differential equation?

I am trying to solve a recurrence relation using generating functions method. After some long calculations, I have arrived to this second-order differential equation: $ 0.5 x^5 y”(x)+(2x^4+x^3)y'(x)+\left(x^3+x^2+x-1\right)y(x)+1=0$

and these conditions: $ y(0)=1, y'(0)=1$ . $ y(x)$ is the function that needs to be expanded as Taylor Series at $ x=0$ to obtain the sequence from the coefficients. However, when I try to solve it both using DSolve and NDSolve, I have no luck. With DSolve it just returns the request itself:

$ $ \text{DSolve}\left[\left\{0.5 x^5 y”(x)+(2. x+1) x^3 y'(x)+\left(1. x^3+x^2+x-1\right)y(x)+1=0,y(0)=1,y'(0)=1\right\},y,x\right]$ $

And with NDSolve I just receive errors and no equation:

Power::infy: Infinite expression 1/0.^5 encountered. Infinity::indet: Indeterminate expression 0. ComplexInfinity encountered. NDSolve::ndnum: Encountered non-numerical value for a derivative at x == 0.`. 

$ \text{NDSolve}\left[\left\{0.5 x^5 y”(x)+(2. x+1) x^3 y'(x)+\left(1. x^3+x^2+x-1\right)y(x)+1=0,y(0)=1,y'(0)=1\right\},y,\{x,0,1\}\right]$

How could I resolve this problem?

List of equally distanced numbers in an interval [a,b] that contains both a and b

I’m writing a program that should split a given interval $ [a,b]$ into a list of $ \sqrt{N}$ equidistant numbers:

N = 27; a = -1; b = 1; p = 3; Range[a, b, RealAbs[b - a]/(N^(1/p) - 1)]  {-1, 0, 1} 

The result should be a list that has $ N^\frac{1}{p}$ numbers, and that contains both $ a$ and $ b$ . The program works when $ N=x^p$ , where $ x$ is an integer, but fails to include $ b$ in the list when this condition is not met.

For example, when $ p=2$ and $ N$ is not a perfect square:

Np = 10; a = -1; b = 1; p = 2;  Range[a, b, RealAbs[b - a]/(Np^(1/p) - 1)] // N  {-1., -0.0750494, 0.849901} 

Is there a way to specify that both ends, $ a$ and $ b$ , should be part of the list, and then equally split the interval into a total of $ \sqrt{N}$ equidistant numbers?

Can a character wear both Chain mail and Leather to get a higher AC and to fool an enemy?

Background:
I am reading the anime book "Goblin Slayer", the light novel not the comic.

In it the main character wears leather armor over plate or chain to both stack his AC and to confuse his (not very intelligent) enemies into hitting where leather is vulnerable but plate or chain is not.

Question:
In dnd 5th edition, can one wear multiple types of armor and get an AC stack? Can it confuse weak foes like goblins?

Notes:
Here are answers that don’t speak to this question:

  • Can a chain shirt be concealed under normal clothing? (this is about concealed, I’m asking about stacked)
  • Stacking multiple types of armor (this is not dnd 5e centric)
  • Can you wear a Mithral Chain over Snakeskin Tunic and have their effect stack? (this is pathfinder)

Please, if you are going to down-vote, say why in the comments. If I don’t know what I did wrong, it is literally impossible for me to willfully act better and change that thing. It might happen by accident, but the universe doesn’t like happy accidents.

Long after the demise of Google Authorship, is it now both valid and viable for a document to include multiple links?

When Google Authorship was very much still a thing several years ago, the conclusion was that it was better not to include more than one <link rel="author"> on any given page.

See:

  • 2012 – How to implement rel="author" on a page with multiple authors?
  • 2013 – Is Google OK with multiple rel="author" links?

Google Authorship is now a distant memory (Mountain View stopped using it several centuries ago in 2016) but I’m concerned that there may still be something invalid or nonsensical about including more than one <link rel="author"> in the <head> of a given document.

My use case involves referencing both an About Page and humans.txt:

<link rel="author" href="https://example.com/about-us/" /> <link rel="author" href="https://example.com/humans.txt" type="text/plain" /> 

Is there anything – I can’t find explicit confirmation – from the WHAT-WG to confirm that this is valid usage?

Or is there a viable alternative to using more than one <link rel="author"> element?

Can magic missile be considered both 1 damage roll and several? [duplicate]

While 99% of the time this doesn’t matter if you roll several dice or just the 1 dice for all the darts, a player did something which seems contradictory and knowing the true answer to this would clear up a lot of uncertainty.

They cast magic missile after using Hexblade’s curse, to add their prof to each damage roll. Then after used the Empowered Metamagic to reroll the 1 for all the darts, into a 4, and topped it all of with the wizards Empowered Evocation to add their INT to the dart.

The way I see this the Hexblades curse would only work several times if you were treating each of the darts individually, by rolling them out separately. This would have the benefit that the Lore Bards cutting words can’t cut the damage down to zero as effortlessly, by cutting the 1 dart that is multiplied down to 0.

But if treated as an AOE the Empower Metamagic and wizards Empowered Evocation would work. This also matters immensely when considering how magic missile works on damage thresholds (others have answered, and it seems to contradict again).

So my question which way does it work?

Does Telekinetic Projectile allow choosing both projectile and target within range even if they are further apart than 30 feet?

Telekinetic Projectile allows you to "hurl [an] object that is within range […] at the target". The spell’s range is 30 feet.

My reading of this is that both the target and the object must be picked from within 30 feet from the caster. But nothing states that the path that the projectile flies (from object to target) must be less than 30 feet.

Are my assumptions correct or have I missed any relevant rules?

Also, if so, does the path between them have to be clear as to not provide Cover for the target?

Object <- 30ft -> caster <- 30ft -> target        <-         ~60ft          -> 

Hi I need a query to get both Max Date and next date after the current date

Select ci.CustomerID, max(dd.DueDate) from tblcustomerinfo ci  join tblduedates dd on dd.id=ci.id group by ci.CustomerID   tblCustomerinfo      **customerid**          **type** 384953              visa 938494              visa 337723               mc  tblDueDate CustomerId            duedate 384953              12/30/2020 384953              09/30/2020 384953              07/30/2020 938494              08/30/2020 938494              07/30/2020 337723              05/30/2020 337723              03/30/2020 

Results should be

384953                9/30/2020 938494                8/30/2020 337723                5/30/2020 

Can a player use both a readied action and an immediate action?

Character A readies an action to counter a spell if Enemy Wizard casts a spell

Character A is then attacked by Enemy Rogue, and uses an immediate action (like Windy Escape, or in this example, Emergency Force Sphere) to avoid being hit.

Enemy Wizard was also secretly holding a readied action for if Character A was to cast a spell, as Enemy Wizard knows Character A is also a caster.

So: Character A readies an action to dispel Enemy Wizard if he casts spell > Enemy Rogue attacks Character A> Character A immediate action Emergency Force Sphere> Enemy Wizard’s readied action dispel Character A if he casts a spell goes off on Emergency Force Sphere > Character A’s readied action dispel Enemy Wizard if he casts a spellgoes off on Enemy Wizard’s dispel

DM Ruling: Character A can’t use his readied action to dispel Enemy Wizard’s dispel of Character A’s immediate action because a readied action is an immediate action, per:

Immediate Reaction: A readied action is an immediate reaction. It takes place after your enemy completes the action that triggers it. Interrupting an Enemy: If you want to use a readied action to attack before an enemy attacks, you should ready your action in response to the enemy’s movement.

Is this correct? Or what should actually happen here?