Does Brace trigger when an enemy enters my echo’s reach?

The subclass feature Manifest Echo explicitly covers attacking from the Echo’s location when taking the Attack action or when taking a specific reaction:

  • When you take the Attack action on your turn, any attack you make with that action can originate from your space or the echo’s space. You make this choice for each attack.

  • When a creature that you can see within 5 feet of your echo moves at least 5 feet away from it, you can use your reaction to make an opportunity attack against that creature as if you were in the echo’s space.

My Echo Knight picked the fighting style Superior Technique with the Combat Maneuver Brace. This gives my fighter a new trigger for using a reaction:

When a creature you can see moves into the reach you have with the melee weapon you’re wielding, you can use your reaction to expend one superiority die and make one attack against the creature, using that weapon. […]

If I understand correctly, this would mean when an enemy enters my Echo’s reach, it does not trigger Brace, because it isn’t mentioned as possible scenario’s for attack from the Echo’s location. Is this interpretation correct?


  • Does an Echo Knight fighter's echo provoke an opportunity attack when it moves?
  • Does turning around count as moving for triggering Brace?

Does turning around count as moving for triggering Brace?

My fighter took Superior Technique as Fighting Style. This gives me the the Combat Maneuver Brace, from Unearthed Arcana, which says (emphasis mine):

When a creature you can see moves into the reach you have with the melee weapon you’re wielding, you can use your reaction to expend one superiority die and make one attack against the creature, using that weapon. If the attack hits, add the superiority die to the weapon’s damage roll.

The wording of a similar mechanic in the Polearm Master feat differs slightly:

While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter the reach you have with that weapon.

The word "enter" makes it very clear to me that the opponent needs to enter the reach for the trigger to happen, but "moving into" is less clear to me. It could be that they are semantically the same, but both my DM and I are unsure.

So, for example, if the opponent is already within my reach and it turns around to attack someone else: does turning around count as moving for triggering Brace?

Is the Psi Warrior Fighter’s Psionic Strike compatible with the Brace Combat Maneuver?

Psionic Strike. You can propel your weapons with psionic force. Once on each of your turns, immediately after you hit a target within 30 feet of you with an attack and deal damage to it with a weapon, you can expend one Psionic Energy die, rolling it and dealing force damage to the target equal to the number rolled plus your Intelligence modifier.

Brace. When a creature you can see moves into the reach you have with the melee weapon you’re wielding, you can use your reaction to expend one superiority die and make one attack against the creature, using that weapon. If the attack hits, add the superiority die to the weapon’s damage roll.

I would imagine not considering the "once on each of your turns wording" but I just want to make sure. It would be super cool if I could use Brace’s attack, stack Psionic Strike on top it and then use Telekinetic Thrust.

Should readying an action to set a brace weapon dissuade an intelligent enemy from charging?

The rules about readying a weapon against a charge states :

You can ready weapons with the brace feature, setting them to receive charges. A readied weapon of this type deals double damage if you score a hit with it against a charging character.

I’m wondering if this kind of readied actions should be visible or not during the combat and then possibly modifying the actions some characters or enemies would make ?

Here for the example, the PC group progress in a dungeon corridor, the fighter with a brace weapon opening the way. At that moment they face a hostile group of bandits. The fight begins and the fighter being first at the initiative roll decides to set its brace weapon as a readied action. If they had been first at the initiative roll, the bandits would have charge the fighter. Now that the fighter prepares to receive a charge, if the readied action is visible to them, it would obviously be a less appealing idea and they would engage him with a move action instead of charging.

The other examples I found on this subject are based with generic creatures which don’t really bother of the ennemy tactics, but in this situation, should the bandits deny the fact that the fighter has readied its action and charge him anyway or should they notice this action and react accordingly to avoid impale themselves on the weapon ?

Put curly brace on the same line or next in Kotlin?

Myself and a coworker are having a debate on wether to put curly braces on the same line or on a new one. We are starting a new Android project in Kotlin.

I believe they should go on the same line since that is the Kotlin coding convention and it even has a warning that using them on a new line may cause issues. It also would match what we are doing in our iOS – swift app making it easier to switch back and forth if needed.

He prefers putting the curly braces on a new line because he has always coded that way, and says that it has better legibility.

He will spend more time in the Android code base, and is technically in charge of it, but I will be supporting it some as well.

While I know it isn’t a huge deal, it seems bad to start off a new project against the languages coding standards. I’ve already brought up my concerns, but he still wants to put braces on a new line.

Which way makes the most sense? Is there anything else I can say to help convince him? Should I just let this go?

Special weapon feature “Brace” – when to use it?

I have a question regarding the weapon feature “Brace”. Some weapons have the special weapon feature “Brace”, for example a simple spear

How to use it (how I understand it)

On your turn, you take the standard action “Ready”.

To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it.

You specify the action (I will ready my spear) and the condition (I am attacked by a Charge). Then, you wait until the condition happens and take your action (before the triggering action is resolved).

You can now attack a charging enemy with a standard action (so no multiple attacks, if you are able to do so), but deal double damage. If you manage to kill the charging enemy, it does not get to do damage against you (because you interrupted its action). If not, you still deal double damage but receive the charge /the melee attack normally.


  1. Do I understand readying and charging correctly?
  2. Main Question: Isn’t it a bit awkward playing out in a real-life (haha) fight situation? The player has to assume that he is being charged in this round, otherwise she would have wasted their turn. The GM, playing the monsters, has to decide wether she let’s her monster run into the brace or not. Does it boil down to the monster strategy “During combat” as written in the monster description? Is there a check a monster can do or fail to notice, wether a PC has braced a weapon against a charge? (And vice versa?)

Thank you all!

“Left Brace Module”

Let $ A$ be an algebra over the brace tree operad and $ M$ a module over some base ring. Is there a good notion of a “left brace module” over a brace algebra? I do not think the definition of a module over an algebra over an operad is the definition I’m looking for.

It should take any brace tree with white vertices labelled 1,…,k and send it to a linear map (thinking of the first k-1 labels as corresponding to $ A$ and the last label corresponding to $ M$ .) $ \psi_k^T:A^{\otimes k-1} \otimes M \to M$

and agree with the composition of the algebra over an operad structure of $ A$ .

For example, the linear tree corresponding to the sequence 121 should be a map $ \psi_2^T:A\otimes M\to M$ which is a homotopy between the left action 12 and the right action 21. (ie. $ M$ is a bi-module where the left and right action are homotopic)

…in the sense that

$ $ [d,\psi_2^T(a\otimes m)]= a\cdot m-m\cdot a $ $

Note: brace trees and sequences are in bijective correspondence; for any brace tree we can produce a sequence by “following the tree clockwise” and recording the vertices we pass. The tree can be recovered from this sequence.