Does using the Tavern Brawler feat with a rope give you a 20’+ grapple attack?

If I gain the Tavern Brawler feat, and use it with a rope as an improvised weapon, can I initiate a Grapple at 20+ feet away (depending on the length of rope)

When you hit a creature with an unarmed strike or improvised weapon on your turn, you can use a bonus action to attempt to grapple the target.

So as an action I attack by whipping the rope out, presumably doing 1d4 damage + strength (up to the DM). Then as a bonus action I initiate the grapple by tugging the rope and having it wind around the opponent.

I envision this as a lasso, but I suppose a grappling hook would work too.

Grappling strike fighter power with brawler style – attack roll bonus

I (the DM) have a player with a level 11 fighter (brawler style). She uses the power "Grappling strike" (Martial Power 2 p7) with a bastard sword (+2), and we disagree on bonuses to attack roll.

The power states:

Hit: 1 [W] + Strength modifier damage, and you grab the target. The grab ends automatically at the end of your next turn.

And the brawler style (Martial Power 2 p6 with errata) states:

In addition, you gain a +2 enhancement bonus to the attack rolls of unarmed attacks and a +2 bonus to the attack rolls of grab attacks and attacks to move a creature you’re grabbing. These bonuses increase to +4 at 11th level and +6 at 21st level

She thinks the attack roll should have the brawler style bonus (+4 at level 11). But I think that bonus should not be counted, as it is for grab attack only, and grappling strike is an attack with just a grab effect/consequence.

I think the brawler style applies only to the grab action, describe in PHB 1, p290.

As English is not our native language, we may misunderstood this bonus.

A +4 bonus at level 11 seems a little overpowered for an at-will power, it can change:

1d20 + 17 (5 half level, 5 str, 3 proficiency, 2 alteration, 2 feat)

to:

1d20 + 21

A standard monster has 25 AC (DMG 1, p184): she will hit on 4+!

Can you please tell us which understanding is right ?

Advance Weapon Training (Weapon Master + Brawler + Item Mastery combo) question

For the people that doesnt know the combo heres the link to Cartmanbeck’s Guide, all credits to him. (https://docs.google.com/document/d/1G1oa8hQif08qqRdEyMnDVVFAoBN_53uhNcJc4wArQxs/edit). The scenario is this: the weapon master archetype gains weapon training at lvl 3, and he has this benefit:

Special: Fighters that have the weapon master archetype can select this feat beginning at 4th level. The benefits of a weapon master’s advanced weapon training options apply only to his selected weapon rather than all weapons in the same fighter weapon group, and he can’t select the weapon specialist advanced weapon training option. A weapon master can select this feat as a bonus feat; if he does so, it doesn’t count for the purpose of the requirement that it can be taken at most once per 5 fighter levels.

in lvl 4 he picks the Advanced Weapon Training as a bonus feat, and at lvl 5 take a dip into brawler and gain Martial Flexibility.

The question is if with Martial Flex. one can take again an advanced weapon training feat ignoring the clause of the 5 lvls, despite the fact that it doesnt gains it from the fighter bonus feat as this implies

[…] A weapon master can select this feat as a bonus feat; if he does so, it doesn’t count for the purpose of the requirement that it can be taken at most once per 5 fighter levels.

A player of mine is using this and im inclined to, if proves illegal, let him play it anyways. But I need to know if it is indeed legal. Thanks in advance!

Does the Tavern Brawler feat grant proficiency when the character is not proficient otherwise?

This is a bit challenging to phrase, so I’ll use an example.

A human wizard with the Tavern Brawler feat gets fed up with a unruly Gnome and snaps off a heavy gate post to stab him with. The DM rules that the post is similar enough to a pike to use its damage dice. Is the Wizard proficient in this improvised Pike?

A related question queries whether or not an improvised weapon deemed similar enough to an actual weapon is still improvised – the consensus was that it was.

If that’s the case, the Tavern Brawler feat states:

You are proficient with improvised weapons.

If this too is the case, does this create a loophole of sorts where a character can wield an improvised variant of a weapon they otherwise couldn’t use proficiently?

Does the Tavern Brawler feat grant proficiency when the character is not proficient otherwise?

This is a bit challenging to phrase, so I’ll use an example.

A human wizard with the Tavern Brawler feat gets fed up with a unruly Gnome and snaps off a heavy gate post to stab him with. The DM rules that the post is similar enough to a pike to use its damage dice. Is the Wizard proficient in this improvised Pike?

A related question queries whether or not an improvised weapon deemed similar enough to an actual weapon is still improvised – the consensus was that it was.

If that’s the case, the Tavern Brawler feat states:

You are proficient with improvised weapons.

If this too is the case, does this create a loophole of sorts where a character can wield an improvised variant of a weapon they otherwise couldn’t use proficiently?

Is Variant Human Monk with Tavern Brawler treating improvised weapons as monk weapons OP? DnD 5e

a friend of mine wants to play a Variant Human with the Tavern Brawler feat and asked me, if he could use improvised Weapons as monk weapons.

I personally haven’t played a monk, or the feat tavern brawler. Does anyone see this bringing an unfixable balancing problem to the table?

Would love more experienced people to hear why you would, or wouldn’t allow this and maybe solutions for balancing issues.

Thank you guys in advance!

Does the bonus damage from the Dueling fighting style apply when attacking with a shield as an improvised weapon, using the Tavern Brawler feat?

Does the bonus damage from the Dueling fighting style apply when attacking with a shield as an improvised weapon, using the Tavern Brawler feat?

The scenario I am trying to work out is as follows… A character grapples the bad guy with his free hand and then knocks him prone. The following round, could he then use his shield as an improvised weapon (assuming he has the Tavern Brawler feat if that changes things) and still claim the bonus damage from Dueling (i.e. 1d4+2, rather than just straight 1d4)? While it’s hardly broken for a DM to allow it, I’d rather know if it works with RAW.

The Dueling fighting style description is as follows:

When you are wielding a melee weapon in one hand and no other weapons, you gain a +2 bonus to damage rolls with that weapon.

While a shield isn’t a melee weapon in general; “An improvised weapon is, indeed, a weapon, but only the moment it’s used as such.” as per Jeremy Crawford’s Twitter. Meaning at the moment of the attack, you are wielding a weapon in one hand in order to perform a melee weapon attack, but as per this post, it wouldn’t be considered a melee weapon.